We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

This Holiday Inn Express is ideally placed for visiting Chester. Check-in staff were welcoming and friendly. The bedroom was ideal for us - clean and functional. Breakfast was buffet style - usual cereals/toast/fruit/juices with hot sausages and scambled eggs. The free parking made it very convenient. I would recommend this Holiday Inn as a good base and would definately use it in the future for visiting Chester.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familylWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    529
    225
    70
    37
See reviews for
190
602
24
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
halifax uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

we have stayed at this hotel many times albeit not for a number of years. The location is great as a short walk (up a hill) has you in the center of chester. On checking into our room it was evident that the bin in the bath room still had the last ocupents rubbish in it, went to the bin in the bed room and although it had a clean bag in it you could see rubbish in the bottom through the bag. Dirty make up wipes and used ear buds were evident. I called reception and very quickly the girl on duty arrived and emptied the bins. She was very appologetic and asked if we wanted to move to another room. We declined as we had nearly unpacked by this time but was impressed by the offer. We went out and the same girl was still on duty at the bar and we were offered a free drink due to the inconvenience we had suffered which we was impressed with as she had remembered us and didnt need to be prompted. The rooms were very warm, we was unable to have the window open on a night as trains thunder past every 20 mins starting @ 5:30am. We would return but would ask for a room as far from the train track as possible. The rooms are looking very tired and could do with updating.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

The hotel is in a great location for exploring Chester city centre. The first room that we were given was terrible and looked like it had been given a severe beating by a couple of legless stags. One of the shelves was hanging off the wall, some of the decorative wall fittings were badly damaged and the television had the ability to change channel and switch off all by itself. Luckily we were able to move to another room.

Breakfast was adequate, but not particularly memorable. I would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

We were looking to spend our wedding anniversary in a hotel, so we could get some proper sleep since thie birth of our 1st child, 10 months ago. Obviously, one doesn't expect top quality from a holiday inn although as it's got a prime position next to teh racecourse, we did think it would be fairly swish.

Decor was tired and looked much older than the 4 years it's been open for. Ironically, we had a worse night's sleep at the hotel than at home with the child because: bed was soft and spongey with a disconcerting roll together (we are not fat people) and did not feel large enough for two people near six foot. The room got very hot in the night, so we had to open the window and suffer traffic belting past all night and drunk parties of people passing by.

Breakfast was a standard affair: mini (hard) pastries; ceral and sloppy scrambled egg that seemed to be passed over by most customers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronaut79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

We stayed here as the hotel had a roll-in-shower as my partner is in a wheelchair. The bathroom was fine and met our needs well, however the room was tiny, the bed was only a double and really only suitable for one person. Staff were unwilling to provide a roll out or extra linen, our room was loud as it was on the ground floor and near the public bathrooms. TV was blaring in the dining area during breakfast. We ended up canceling our stay and moving to another hotel (The Gate way to Wales - also good disabled facilities) of comparable price where we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

Just stayed for one night. Room was much as expected, 'tho not quite as modern as some others in HIE chain. No blue light in bathroom, oh dear, how can i live without a blue light i the bathroom? Good view over car park and the racecourse just behind. Couldn't quite see the winning post. Breakfast menu more limited than other HIE's but enjoyable all the same. Extremely convenient location, Chester Walls just 5 minutes walk away. Efficient car park person.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avid_Snapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Encouraged by Tripadvisor reviews, we booked in here for a night en route from South Wales to North Yorkshire. Chester was a new experience for us and the hotel's location -just a few minutes from the attractive and interesting city centre - was perfect. Our room was quite close to the railway line but the double (or triple?) glazing kept the room quiet. The room was cleverly designed to make the most of available space; the bathroom with power shower was fine, although it could have done with a fan to clear the steam. Our rate of £70 included a large buffet breakfast, with hot eggs and sausages, and a free newspaper.If we're ever in Chester again we would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chorizogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#28 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing