We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Lovely hotel,rooms basic but very comfortable over looking the race course. Large free car park with security. Only a short walk in to Chester city or a short drive to the retail park. Very little noise slept well and a help your self breakfast in the morning, would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a comfortable place to stay at a good price, will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1953Parry61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear 1953Parry61

I am delighted to read you enjoyed yur time here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

Thank you for all your lovely comments and your overall ratings of 5 stars

We hope to see you again in thje near future

Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 1,354 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Was a little warm but at the low price wasnt expecting air con. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Food for breakfast was standard no probs there, Rooms were very clean and well maintained. Right on racecourse.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank PazBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear PazBan

Thank you for review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your time here and thank you for your lovely comments. I'm sorry to read you was a little warm in the room, unfortunately we do not have air conditioning however have supplied fans for the rooms to try cool them down.

Thank you for your overall score of 4 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The room was lovely and clean it was small but had all you need ,we went a few weeks ago and it was warm weather but not as hot as recently so the fan was enough to keep us cool ,we ended up in the annexe as our first room directly overlooked the noisy machine in the racecourse and after one night I requested to move .I found the staff friendly enough the girl who changed our room for us in particular.The complimentary breakfast was ok we are vegetarian so toast and marmalade is fine for me but my son had cereal and scrambled eggs on toast . The hot drinks machine in the breakfast room is available for guests to use at all times so we didn't need to use the in room kettle we just popped downstairs to fetch our hot drinks (this would be good in winter for hot chocolate before bed) & there was also an ice machine available too so we had lovely iced drinks in our room

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the racecourse can be noisy so ask for an annexe room or one facing the road as at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnet57uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Jnet57uk

Thank you for thanking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your time at the hotel and thank you for all your kind comments. I'm pleased to see that our receptionist was helpful in help you move room to make sure you had a comfortable stay with us. I shall pass your comments on to our team.

I'm glad to see that our breakfast was plentiful for you and your family however if you return to us we will be more than happy to supply you with a vegetarian breakfast if requested beforehand.

Thank you for your 4 star rating

Kind regards

Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The rooms are small but not unreasonable for the price. The location is great and an easy walk into Chester. The breakfast was disappointing and i only ate the toast in the end and the trays make it feel like an old peoples home. The hotel was ridiculously hot as were the rooms! The staff were unfriendly and dismissive

Room Tip: ask for a cool room if staying in summer and away from the generators
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Sue M

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm disappointed to read that your stay with us wasn't very comfortable, unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in the room however have supplied each room with a large fan to try help cooling them down.

Please accept my apologies regarding staff, this is not our usual standard of service and I shall be going through the necessary training to prevent this from a rising again.


Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Good room but no aircon and the little desk fan didnt really do it for us. Very hot summer but the design of the hotel means it is hotter when you walk inside than when you were out. Good breakfast and staff are ok. Comfortable bed, and a 5 minute walk to the lovely old walled city of Chester.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Docbebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Docbebar,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is a delight to hear you liked our location and found the beds comfortable. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are truly sorry for the conditions you experienced in your room during your stay. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is excellent if attending the races, it is literally next to the racecourse. The hotel is clean, well presented and well represented by its staff. The shower was great, breakfast ok. Overall stay here is good and would recommend, espevialy if attending a race meet

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Simmokj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

First time using this brand and would rate it above Travelodge and below Premier Inn.
However we found the location for our 5 night stay ideal. The room(s) was clean and well decorated with all the facilities you require, including a fan which was very welcome during the hot weather during our stay. The beds were very comfortable. We started in room 210 right adjacent to the main railway line.
After discussing the noise issue with a member of staff we were moved to 132. This was better but still noisy from road and car park. It has to be said I don't think you could get a quite room anywhere at this location!! Although double glazed there was still considerable ambient noise.
I feel the noise issue should be made clear on web-site as is the case with Premier Inns located close to busy roads etc.
Apart from that, the staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast choices were excellent.
The parking was free, which for its location was a bonus since it was only a 5 min walk to city center.
.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms adjacent to railway line and on busy main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamF190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $73 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing