We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonable and handy for everywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very reasonable and handy for everywhere”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

I know it's a rubbish title for a review, but it is and it is

A Sunday night cost us £52 with continental breakfast (which we didn't make it down for). We had a view of the racecourse and the room was a touch better than Travelodge standard. They also have a bar for late night revelling, but everything is so close in Chester, you are only a five minute stagger from a late-ish drink anyway

I'll happily stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    552
    239
    74
    43
See reviews for
199
645
25
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed for one night and was surprised how good hotel was. We had a good size room overlooking the racecourse. There was a fan in the room which helped keep it cool as it was a lovely hot weekend. The bed was a little soft but there was a choice of pillows. The bathroom had a good shower and large soft white bath sheets. The breakfast was plentiful with a good choice. Fresh fruit salad, cereals, yogurts, pastries and freshly made scrambled eggs, beans, sausages and toast. It was even warm enough to eat outside. Also found reception staff and breakfast staff all very helpful and friendly manner. Nice walk into centre about 10-15 minutes. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Show48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night whilst on business in Chester. The hotel is located right next to the racecourse which you can see from rooms facing that way. Overall I was very pleased with the hotel, the staff were friendly & helpful and the room was a little small but clean and tidy, with all the items you would expect (TV, tea & coffee making facilities, shower (no bath)) etc. The rate was very good and included fee WiFi throughout the hotel and also breakfast. Parking was also free. The room was a little noisy as could hear the road, and it had no air con so was quite stuffy, but overall I was happy. There is no restaurant here however so I walked the 5-10 mins in to town for dinner. There is a restaurant in the adjacent racecourse that you get a 10% discount on if you're staying at the hotel, but I did not use this. Breakfast was a quite limited choice of hot or cold but was nice nonetheless. Overall, no complaints and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goonerjon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Goonerjon2

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm please to read you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for the kind comments regarding staff - I shall pass this on to our team.

Unfortunately we do not have aircon but we have supplied all rooms with a fan to help cool the rooms down in the nice weather we are having.

As we are an Express chain hotel we are limited to what breakfast items we can serve due to brands standards but glad to see you still enjoyed it.

Thank you for your overall rating of 4 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Newly referbished hotel in a good location for shopping and right next to the racecourse. A large number of racegoers, hen and wedding parties so look elsewhere if you want a peaceful hotel but otherwise a perfect city centre location at a reasonable price.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Carl

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express,Chester Race.

I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us.

We have recently refurbished our breakfast/Bar area and will be starting on our rooms late 2014.

I'm glad to see you wasn't disturbed by our hen/stag/race goes. Luckily we have an excellent security team for such event who keep the hotel running smoothly ensuring all our guests have a relaxing and fun time here.

Thank you for your overall score of 4 stars and we hope to see you again in thenear future

Kind regards
Emma
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Nice hotel. A bit tricky to find how to enter the car park until we discovered you enter through the racecourse entrance. Rooms were standard and clean. Bed not bad. Breakfast small but adequate. Very close to city wall and centre.walking distance. Great spot if you want to attend the races. A bit noisy with the train going right next door but slept fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the holiday Inn Express Chester on Sunday 6th July at the very reasonable cost of £57 for a room and breakfast (plus free parking!)
The staff were very friendlly and even though booking in was only from 2.00pm they let us park our car free of charge from 10.00am so we could attend a riverside event.
After a long day we eventually booked in at 11.30pm with no fuss and the room we were allocated was clean and spacious and as a bonus overlooked the racecourse. The beds were comfortable and as the room was at the back of the hotel traffic noise was at a minimum.
The breakfast staff were very helpful and the sausage, beans and scrambled eggs well cooked and piping hot (although I did overhear a few grumbles about there being no bacon). There was also a plentiful supply of juices, tea and coffee, cereals and croissants.
All in all we enjoyed our one night at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Chester close to the city centre (5 mins walk)

Room Tip: We had room 205 at the back of the hotel that overlooked the lovely racecourse
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Good evening,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, first of all im so glad that the car park attendant was able to assist you and get your car parked earlier. I will pass your comments onto the breakfast staff who im sure will be thrilled, unfortunately as a holiday inn express our brand standards state that we can only have 3 hot options on our breakfast buffet, bacon is however available upon request for dietry requirements. we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your overall 4 star rating

Emma Owens
Night duty manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Although this was only a one night stay, I found the staff really friendly and helpful. Clean room with all basic amenities, good choice for breakfast. Free tea and coffee available during the day.
Easy walk to centre of Chester, free parking which is a real bonus these days. Very reasonable rates!
Free wifi also an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, night duty manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Good evening,

Firstly thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I will pass your comments onto the staff who im sure will be thrilled, we are so lucky to have such an amazing location in the lovely city of chester and im glad you got to see the sights. once again thanks you for your review and for our overall 4 star review we hope to see you soon

Emma Owens
night duty manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,660 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing