We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Nearby Hotels
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$165
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$136
$115
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oddfellows(Chester)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$60
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,421)
Filter reviews
1,422 results
Traveler rating
443
597
256
81
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
597
256
81
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrace courserailway linecity centrescrambled egg and beanswhite horserefurbished roomfree car parkbudget hotelfree breakfasthot drinksexcellent locationthird floorthe sofa bedshort walkyogurtwould stay againshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
821 - 826 of 1,422 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have just returned from a short break visiting Chester, and we stayed at this hotel for one night.
The hotel is situated a few minutes away from the city centre, with free parking which is always a bonus.
Hotel rooms are small but comfortable we stayed in 229 overlooking the train lines, but didn't have a problem with noise from the trains.
The only problems we had were very noisy door closures which i have also found in another review, the door closes slowly then a massive bang. This happened throughout the night disturbing ones sleep.
The only other issue we had was the very uncomfortable mattress which was very springy and rolled into the middle, although our home mattress is very firm so in all fairness the mattress would always be an issue, but not to roll together in the night that's just not right.
Free tea and coffee in lounge added bonus, along with on site bar.
You can also use a leisure centre very nearby for £5 pp to include pool, spa and sauna.
Breakfast was very good and tasty with hot and cold items available including pastries, breads, cereals, yoghurt's, fresh fruit salad, sausages, beans and scrambled egg.
Stay on a Monday and the Slug and Lettuce pub/restaurant in the centre of the city has half price food across the whole already competitively priced menu which was fantastic, two of us were stuffed for £16 including drinks.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garyandmandy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was a very pleasant one night stay. I had managed to book the wrong type of room having stated on my Priority Club reservation that there was only one guest when there was of course two. The gentleman reception kindly changed the room from a twin to a double, without a fuss. The room was clean and comfy, and it was on the road side of the hotel. This was a little noisy from about 5am with the early trains, and then the noise built up all the way until rush hour, however it wasn't intrusive. The breakfast was plentiful, and if you wanted the hot option it was hot not tepid as in some hotels. Service was excellent and all the staff were very polite and helpful.
This hotel is about a 5min walk from the city centre with all its shops and restaurants. The hotel is great if you are on a budget or a flying visit as we were. There are better hotels in Chester if you want a romantic stay, or a more comfort, however this hotel is comfy at a price and a very reasonable price too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the racecourse.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HorshamLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

It is a basic hotel however all the staff I met were really helpfull rooms are small but adequate and clean, the view over the racecourse is awesome would definitely stay again on race day you cannot get a better location in chester..

Room Tip: Ask for the view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear George041

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course

I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding staff.

Thank you for your over all score of 5 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Stayed here recently for 2 nights. Nice hotel with a good buffet breakfast, hot and cold items, free tea and coffee available all day. Nice room overlooking the car park and racecourse. Everything was clean, bed very hard though. After 1st night we asked if they had a mattress topper but they said no. But they did put us duvet under the sheet and it was a lot better, slept a lot better the 2nd night. We found the hotel to be quiet, some people did bang their room doors though.

We had a meal at the White Horse restaurant on the racecourse and got 10% discount as we were staying at the hotel. The food was very nice and good service.

Hotel is in a great location, 5 minute walk into town. Would definately stay here again on our next visit to Chester.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma R, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Lonny

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course.

I'm please to read you had an enjoyable time with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

I'm sorry to read you didnt have a very comfortable nighst sleep on your first night put I am delighted to read that our staff went the extra mile to ensure your second nights stay was more comfortable for you.

Thank you for your overall score of 4 stars and we hope to see you again in the future

Kind regards

Emma
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel has a noise problem. You get the choice of noise from the train line, generator or road. You choose. I tried asking for a different room but the male receptionist was pretty off hand (needs customer service training and fast) and told me that it was a city centre hotel and to expect noise. (I've stayed in plenty of city centre hotels and not had a problem).
The design is noisy too with doors that slam loudly, a lack of soundproofing so that you can hear guests next door having normal conversations (thanks to the adjoining door)
Great location but better places to stay just as close,
Breakfast is pretty basic with only sausages, scrambled eggs and beans (as well as the usual cold stuff). Premier Inn was miles better

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the generator, train line and road
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear emmaLeeds,

Thank you for your candid review of our property. I am pleased that our location was suitable for your needs. However, I would like to apologize if the noise levels experienced were a disappointment. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews