We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday inn !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great holiday inn !!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have stayed in this holiday inn express several times. It is located adjacent to the racecourse in the centre of Chester, only about 5 min walk to the town centre. This hotel is very well run, always clean and the staff are friendly. For the best prices avoid race days and book a few months in advance. I usually pay around £40 per room per night, which for its location and new build quality cannot be beaten in Chester. As with all Holiday inn express hotels the breakfast Is free, compared to others ive stayed in the breakfast was of decent quality, it's always basic with limited choice but great freebie. The car park is also free which is a bonus as Chester parking is expensive. The rooms are spacious with innovative use of space in the bathroom, there is a 32" LCD tv, a king size bed and a sofa bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian3694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you have enjoyed your stay and glad to see you have stayed so many times.

Your kind words have been passed onto the team who are thrilled and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Once again thank you for your review and for awarding the hotel and its staff five stars.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    548
    239
    71
    42
See reviews for
196
636
24
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evergem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Although not a lot to make this budget option really stand out, this hotel is super-convenient for the race course and for the city centre.

The hotel is fairly modern, and the rooms are clean and of a decent size. Aside from that there not much to this place -not even a restaurant, though there are a few options at the race course just outside.

Breakfast choice was a bit limited compared to those offered by other budget chains.

However, as a one nice stop over it met my needs perfectly.

Hotel also has a nice large car park.

Room Tip: Ignore my rating for the swimming pool and restaurant as these do not exist! I cannot seem to clear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Neil646,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our convenient location. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge their good stay.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our first time in a Holiday Inn Express for a short break in Chester. The location is super, just a 10 minute walk into the town centre and free parking is a real bonus. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. The inclusive breakfast was pretty good as well. This is a hotel we will certainly use again.

Room Tip: Rooms 002 and 003 are ground floor road side and can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Halladay

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course.

I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the kind comments and 4 star rating.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed our breakfast and will be returning

We hope to see you in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

just had a lovely xmas weekend at the above what a great location for xmas shopping so near to the city and xmas market and xmas wonderland on the race course this hotel is such good value breakfast excl in room rate a free car park and free wifi some what rare theses days other hotels have so many add on's a big thank you to this hotel chain keep up the good work

Room Tip: room over looking race course
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Tarty

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us.

I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and had a wonderful time in our beautiful city Chester.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding staff and the 5 star rating. I shall pass this on to our team who i'm sure will be thrill to see their hard work being recognised

Thank you once again and we hope to see you again in the near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I went to University in Chester and my family and I have often stayed in this hotel due to its close proximity to Chester racecourse and the city center. Although I'd suggest you stay somewhere else if you want a little more luxury (The Grosvenor or Double Tree by Hilton) rates are reasonable, rooms are clean and tidy and most rates include breakfast. The hotel also has free WiFi available to all guests. This hotel offers the perfect stay if your wanting to explore Chester or go to the races.

Room Tip: Book a room on the south to get a direct view of the racecourse. Also bear in mind that getting to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the 4 star rating you have issued.

I am glad you enjoyed you complimentary breakfast which is free of charge for all guests, other benefits include complimentary hot drinks throughout your stay, free wi-fi, free parking free newspapers plus many discounts at a number of local restaurants.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I'd like to write an objective review of this hotel, but the only thing that should tell you everything you need to know about this hotel is they way the staff treated us.

I'd like to point out this is a good hotel for staying over after a night at the race course, and of course followed by a short walk into Chester town.

What you cannot do, is wait for a few friends who are a few minutes behind in reception. Our colleague was not allowed to wait in reception to get a taxi called by the hotel. The reception staff simply said "its not a 24 hour reception is it?"

What you will find is that when you get back in the small hours of the morning, there is a bouncer in reception demanding you either "get out" or "go up to your rooms if you are staying here." We dutifully left the reception area to wait outside (in the cold). The two ladies who were sat in reception waiting for their friends were allowed to stay, after the bouncer and reception staff had chatted them up for 5 minutes. The bouncer even came outside to see us and continue his harassment for loitering outside.

Were we drunk...of course. Were we loud, roudy, abusive? nope we were all far too tired.


When a hotel has service like that, it doesnt matter what the rest is like. Yes its a holiday inn express so I guess its true that you should not expect any more, but its disappointing that something as simple as having a welcoming reception are is missed.

Avoid unless you want to have a good night ruined.

Some side notes, rooms are ok (what you'd expect) breakfast is pretty good for a cheapy hotel. Bar is awful (shocker).

Room Tip: Dont because the hotel is terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beef365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am very disappointed in regards to your recent review.

Firstly may I apologise if you felt as though my staff were rude or mistreated you in anyway.

The night team are responsible for the safety and comfort of all hotel guests, and we have a policy that after 11pm the hotel is accessible by residents only.

A full investigation will be carried out in regards to your experience and I will be speaking to the security staff on duty.

I hope you understand that they have a strict policy to follow as safety and comfort of all guests is our priority at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed at The holiday inn chester on the 23rd nov 2013 , , , spotless, comfortable room, really friendly, helpful staff , few mins walk into town so nice and quiet at night , breakfast was lovely so all this equals value for money !!! Would definitely recommend this hotel for breaks in Chester !!!

Room Tip: We was in room 313 which had a great view of the race course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarencarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the 5 star rating you have issued.

Your kind comments have been passed on to the team who I am sure will be thrilled.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Property: Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing