We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely setting just outside the chester walls overlooking the racecourse......next to the railway line !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

looked good on the comparison price list with free parking and walking distance to the town centre. check-in good and friendly, reception and bar fine. offered a larger-than-normal room overlooking the racecourse as if we had won the lucky draw. until the first train came past. we were in room 303, one level above the raised railway line which was approx 30 metres away from our open window ,overlooking the bins of the racecourse bar. as a train went past it sounded like a tornado hitting the room. the window had to stay open because there isnt any air-con and it was 24C during the day and 18C at night. the trains go all night at about 1 hr intervals, some local and some long distance . then the bin lorry arrives beneath the open window at 6.05AM to lift each of three giant waste bins to tip them into the back of the lorry.
the breakfast was fine, a hot option of sausage and scambled eggs and beans, diy toast, cereals and watery juice. free car parking. wi-fi erratic and s l o w. and the duty manager is now much more preganant. eeek !

Room Tip: get a room at the front and only go in the winter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oopsispiltmygravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guest Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, please accept my apologies for the disturbance from the near by train line. The Train line is very rarely used especially of the evening; however I am aware that this can be a problem especially during the summer when the windows are kept open.

Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in the bedrooms however we do our best to ensure our guests are comfortable with fans being available and windows kept open prior to your arrival.

I am very disappointed to hear that the bins were emptied so early, as I have instructed the external company to empty the bins after 9:30am only- thank you for bringing this to our attention and I will be investigating this further.

Once again thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a good top end budget hotel only 5 minutes from the city centre. The hotel is quite new and therefore the rooms are in a good condition and very clean. The beds are quite firm as most hotels seem to be these days and there is a choice of pillows. A good design feature with the bathroom is that when you open the door it closes on to the toilet to form a cubicle allowing your other half to use the bathroom while your on the loo, a great thing if your in a rush in the morning. My only complaint about the room was traffic noise in the morning. We had a room facing the city wall and perhaps a room on a different side of the hotel might be quieter. The cooked breakfast was restricted to just sausages scrambled eggs and beans but all were nice. The mini croissants were a bit crusty though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inkypenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the hotel and its decor. The hotel is actually celebrating its 10 year anniversary this year and has recently undergone a £100,000 make over of its reception, bar and breakfast area. We have an on going refurbishment plan as we continue to improve our product.

Apologies for the noise issues from the road which is busy during the day, should you return I would definitely request a Racecourse View as these are often quieter however this request cannot be guaranteed until arrival.

Unfortunately we are limited to what we can offer for breakfast due to the brand standards of the Holiday Inn Express brand however I am glad you enjoyed our offering.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Decent hotel. Quiet rooms (some train noise from the nearby tracks, but they are few and far between overnight). Rooms were a bit warm until the sun went down, and the windows only partially open. Reasonably good breakfast - won't win any awards, but a decent selection of fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, pastries, etc. Front desk staff was very friendly as well

But the internet... oh, the internet... So slow. Not usable. I ran a speedtest and got a .1mb download rate - that's almost as slow as dialup. Not usable for work, surfing the web, etc. Basically reduced to just checking email. Strong wifi connection in the public area and the room - just no bandwidth. We had to keep going to local pubs to skype and facetime with our families back home.

Beds were not great either. My colleague (who granted, has a bad back) had to sleep on the floor. I found them quite uncomfortable as well - too soft.

I'd like to recommend this hotel - it had a good location, but the Internet is a show stopper. Next time we are back in town, we'll try a different hotel.

Room Tip: Probably try a lower floor that does not get so hot during the day.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear SwedenGuy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm delighted to hear that you liked our room accommodations and breakfast selection. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all our guests. Please accept my sincere apology for the poor internet connection during your stay. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your review will be used to consider the needed improvements.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Lovely welcome at reception from the Duty Manager (lovely lady, didn't get her name but said she was 6 months pregnant), a real asset to the organisation. Let us check in early which was really helpful. Room was small but spotlessly clean. Great towels & plenty of hot water. Fab breakfast, self service with good selection of hot and cold. Excellent location for Chester - 5 minutes walk. Free parking. Had great curry from Step into India in Chester centre. Highly recommend hotel, especially for £49 for two including breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlotsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course.

I am delighted to read you had an enjoyable time with us. The duty manager on shift that day was Emma Hall and I have passed on your lovely and kind comments which she was very pleased to see and sends her Thanks.

I will also pass on your comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms to our housekeeping team.

Once again thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us and we do hope to see you again in the very near future

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here last weekend good, clean accomodation. Although it can be quite noisy at times due to proximity of main road and trainline. Sometimes guests are also noisy when they come in from a night out in Chester

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us although please accept my apologies for being disturbed by people returning from their nights out. Our night team do regular walk rounds to try and control the groups of people but sometimes this can be missed.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the cleanliness of the rooms I will pass this on to our housekeeping team.

Once again thank you for taking the time out to write your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Hotel could not be more central. When it said five minutes walk from city centre it actually meant five minute walk from city centre. Location of hotel at racecourse is so peaceful.
Rooms well laid out and comfy.
Breakfast self service but great choice.
Staff very friendly.
Bathroom lay out with toilet door having dual role ( you have to see it to understand) so impressed my husband !!!

Only negative is that our bed is so un comfy and we may just have been unlucky as note lots of others say very comfy in reviews. Would have got 5 star otherwise!!
We intended to stay for a third night but after two nights couldn't cope with another night on the bed and so didn't book third night.

Room Tip: don't choose room 222.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course.

I'm happy to see you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding staff, breakfast and the overall room.

Please accept my apologies for the problems you received with the bed, I will have housekeeping check the mattress immediately and take any action needed, this is not the standard the hotel likes to have.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are spacious, and the bathrooms large. Beds are comfy, plenty of pillows. Breakfast menu quite good. Though i was chastised by a staff member, restocking the clean dishes, for putting my bread through the toaster a second time, as it hadnt toasted properly the first time. Apparently I could have set off the smoke alarm. (problem could have been solved by putting the control knob back on the toaster, as everybody was re-toasting their bread). Staff were very accommodating and moved me to a room on a different floor, due to some young people from overseas who liked to stay up late and visit each others rooms till the early hours. WiFi was non existent in the rooms, as advised on the website. But it was extremely slow in the common area downstairs. Not good for people visiting from parts of the world on different time zones to UK to have to keep going to common areas to acces WiFi. Televisions in rooms were unusable most of the time. Very poor reception. Fantastic pub, The Linen Hall, five minutes up the road, on the right. Much cheaper than the two you would walk past to get to it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course.

I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept my apologies for the tv, we have recently had a reception problem with most of our in room televisions and have been waiting for a part to fix them. Thankfully today they were all fixed and are now up and running.

Thank you for you kind comments regarding staff, I am pleased to see they were accommodating when dealing with your request to move rooms. I will pass this on to our team

Once again thank you for taking the time out and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,442 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $76 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing