We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed for two nights in order to visit Chester and attend a retirement party. Great location, as a few minutes walk from Chester and plenty of parking at hotel.
The room was fine, but late at night the door did not seem very soundproof as late night returning guests could be heard quite loudly outside the room.
There was not much choice in the coffee / tea selection in the room. Breakfast was good, a fair bit of choice, but got very busy at certain times.
All in all, a convenient location, but could do with a few extras for the room.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Racecourse seem to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylvia057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjouyed your stay and hope the retirement party was a success.

We are very lucky with our location being within walking distance of the city centre but the right distance away from the noise of the city nightlife. We do try ensure all guests have a comfortable nights stay and are aware sometimes noise from returning guests can be an issue.We try and reduce any noise as quickly as possible and employ security on busy nights, however it is hard to manage noise caused by other guests.

We are limited to what we can place in the bedrooms due to brand standards however we have unlimited supplies of tea and coffee available from reception. All guests are also entitled to complimentary hot drinks throughout their stay served from our breakfast area 24/7.

I appreciate your comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for second time ( buisness) have no complaints plenty of choices off eating places you can even get the buggy to the white horse resturant in middle of race course try n get a room overlooking race course as is great view the hotel is welocated and in easy reach of shops local buisnesses etc and with free wifi and complimentary bkfst its top of the pops

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and managed to try our new on site restaurant "The White Horse" as you may be aware all guests are entitled to 10% off food and drink when visiting our restaurants also including "Restaurant 1539" and "The Weighing Room" each offering a different dining experience.

I appreciate your comments and I am sure many guests will find this information useful.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location, literally a few minutes stroll to start of main shopping area and restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff. Arrived early at 10am and no problem to leave the car and check in later (free parking). We asked for wine glasses to use in the room and were offer a wine cooler too. Room was quite small but clean and functional. Showergel and wash in bathroom, free WIFI in room with good connection. Room was on 2nd floor at the back, we had asked for a quiet room. We were woken several times in the early hours as neighbours came back ( talking loudly and doors slaming) however, we did expect a little of this in a town centre hotel so were armed with earplugs to soften the blow and they were at least quiet again when they got into their rooms! Breakfast was good, self service sausages, scambled egg and beens, toast, pastries, fresh fruit cereal and yoghurts. We ate around 9am which was quiet, very busy as we were finished at 10am. Would recommend you book early as there were definitely better rates than we paid, otherwise would thoroughly recommend for location, friendly staff, free parking and good breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inkybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review you time with us at The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I trust the shopping trip was a success and you took full advantage of what Chester has to offer?

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff, these will be passed on to the team who I am sure will be thrilled.

I am sorry you were disturbed by guests returning during the evening, our night team do their very best to control any noise issues however this is sometimes hard to manage. We also ensure we have security onsite for busy nights to help manage any disturbances.

Once again thank you for your comments they really are appreciated and I am sure future guests will find your review very useful.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed a Saturday night for an evening next door at the racecourse. Loads of free parking space. Modern hotel with clean, well decorated rooms. Pleasant, helpful staff & a quiet nights sleep. Breakfast, buffet style was adequate. Perfect location for visiting beautiful Chester.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimincheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, your kind comments will be passed onto the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed one night, excellent customer service from receptionist and manager. Great location on racecourse, less than 5 minute walk into town, free parking and lovely breakfast. Booking for next year's visit to Chester.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed you time with us and looking to book for next year's visit; we would love to be able to accommodate you again and look forward to seeing you.

Your kind comments will be passed on to the team who I am sure will be thrilled.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nice hotel, free parking and lovely staff. This hotel is right in the centre of town and literally on the edge of the racecourse. Very modern with good clean rooms, quiet and has the basics you need for a stay. WiFI is free and a reasonable speed - about 4 meg in the room ..Only suggestion to Holiday Inn - given that the breakfasts are included with a very limited choice ( which I understand ) at least spend a little more on the bread for the toast - stayed in two expresses recently and they seem to buy 'value' bread. I know this sounds a small thing ... but essentially it's fruit, yoghurt, toast or the cooked breakfast option. At least let's have decent bread to toast - how about some granary ?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennarddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your time with us, you comments will be passed on to the team which I am sure will boost morale even higher. I am always keen to hear guest’s comments and ensure each one is used as a tool to enhance the hotel's offering whilst keeping the things our guests love.

Unfortunately we are limited to what we can offer at breakfast due to brand standards however we do ensure that we use high quality items such as locally sourced sausages, free range eggs and all items are from a high branded company such as Kellogs and Hovis.

Once again thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you return in the near future.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel is ideal for a short city break.
Nice and close the city and has very easy access to the cty wall (which is a great way to while away an hour).
Free parking in the large onsite carpark.
The only time we used our car during the break was to go to the McArthurglen Outlet Village, which is 15 mins away (Open wallet surgery time).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopGunPeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and manage to take full advantage of what Chester has to offer.

I am sure many people will find this review useful and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,729 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,508 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,148 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $71 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing