We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2012

this hotel is clean,friendly and a mixture of business people on courses and tourists enjoying the close location to the centre and roman walls of chester.my husband and i stayed for 2 nights 6-8 feb and the hotel was lovely and warm against the frosty weather outside.breakfast was all you needed to set you up for the day,with sausage,beans and scrambled egg for the hot breakfast person with toast and variety of bread and rolls and jams to go with it.fruit salad,cereals and choice of hot drinks and juices to go with all the breakfast.this hotel also looks over the chester racecourse so ideal if you stay during racing season.we had brilliant time exploring the walls and city of chester.thankyou to the staff here who were all very approaching and happy to help you with anything you needed.will definately stay again in the future.only one thing i would say on downside,the bed in our room was too soft that more than 2nights would have been a problem with the old back.ha.but i am sure if i had mentioned this to the staff if i was staying longer i probably would have been found another room with a firmer bed as they was that helpful.

Room Tip: ask for room facing racecourse if you dont want to look out onto main road,
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarky2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

I tend to use the holiday inn express chain quite a lot for work as I always find they are pretty good value and certainly of a higher standard than the usual premier inns and travel lodges...
This hotel was no exception. Good price, great location, clean and well sized rooms. Free parking too which is always a bonus. Also it is literally on the race course and about a 2 minute stroll into the city centre so location wise it could not be better. I will use again when next in Chester

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkycurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

The staff from check in to check out where lovely and really friendly. There was lots of parking available and we didnt need to leave the car keys which was brilliant as we took out 2 year old with us and kept lots of things in the car e.g. toys, push chair etc. The room was nice and big and very clean my partner loved the 32 in tv, we was near the railway line but the trains where really quiet and our son loved watching them go by. The breakfast was nice although not a big selection but we where full. I would definatly stay here again and the location is fantastic

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I booked this Hotel for a group who were singing at Chester Cathedral. We were given a fair price which included free parking and the Holiday Inn Express breakfast which now includes a hot albeit limited buffet. Nevertheless it was perfectly adequate. The staff were all polite and helpful.

The winning factor was the location an easy 10 minute uphill stroll to the City Centre.

One couple had a problem with noise from machinery on the roof and were immediately given a reduction in their price. Not ideal but at least the gesture was made. If visiting Chester on a budget again I would not hesitate to book this Hotel.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms on the second floor which are all connecting rooms and noise travels easily throu...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bouff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Mu mum and i stayed here last year as it had ample parking and offered a breakfast and a great location for shopping. Its an OK hotel - nothing fancy, just your basic room, clean and tidy. A bit noisey so didn't sleep well. The breakfast was little ropey but you can just walk into chester and get something there. Its good value for money for what you get in a tourist city.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica250275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your time at the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am disappointed to read your description as an ok hotel. We are a Holiday Inn Express which is known as a budget hotel however at the Holiday Inn Express Chester we feel it is important to offer the best service possible along with the best quality products.

Our breakfast is all branded products, along with fresh free range eggs, fresh pastries, and sausages sourced from our local butcher. We also offer more than our brand standards stipulate.

I am sorry to hear you had noise issues during your stay, did you at any point contact our 24 hour reception team as i am sure this problem could have been rectified straight away.

I hope the noise issues have not affected your opinion of the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

Should you require any further accommodation in the future please contact me directly, I would be more than happy to allocate you a quiet room on a private corridor over looking the racecourse.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

stayed here 28 dec great rooms bargain double and sofa bed £49 inc buffet breakfast loads to eat rooms are clean and modern shower great staff helpful and friendly would stay again and recommend great choice

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 123jag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and you kind comments will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled.

I am glad you will recommend the hotel and I hope I am able to welcome you to Chester again soon.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Good Holiday Inn Express which, according to the notice in reception, is operated by the racecourse as a franchise. Located on the edge of the centre of Chester and it is certainly possible to walk into town.
Rooms are clean and functional. Bathrooms contain only a shower with no baths as per other HI Expresses.
The HI Express continental breakfast has expanded is recent years and now includes several hot items.
Parking is free in the Racecourse car park. When arriving, they should have your details and will wave you in.
There was a party going on in the room next door to us during one evening and my wife had to contact reception serveral times. The receptionist did attend and ask for the volume to be turned down and at 11pm they left for a night on the town. We had our revenge in the morning!
You can get a 10-20% discount at the 1539 restaurant over in the racecourse. we took the offer up and were not disappointed with the food. It is only a five minute walk to the restaurant, but on a dark and stormy night it can be a bit of a slog! There is a lift up to the restaurant when you arrive, but it was dark and empty when navigating the racecourse grounds with several gates shut. We will know for next time!
Other dining options include the Watergate Inn, which we did not try and the Fat Cat chain pub/restaurant which has good offers on. Both of these were on the street when heading into town.
Overall great choice for Chester with maybe the only central hotel with free parking?

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scoullar, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse.

I am thrilled to read any review especially when it is positive. Your comments will be passed onto the team who I am sure will be thrilled.

I am keen to use all reviews as a tool to enhance what the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse has to offer, making the relevant changes whilst keeping the things our guests love.

Unfortunately the Express brand mainly only supply showers as this differentiates us with the Holiday Inn brand.

I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and as hoteliers we are keen to enhance this further and are continuously pushing this forward with our head office, hopefully one day we will be able to offer more hot options.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced problems with noise next door and can assure you that we do not accept this sort of behaviour and this should have been dealt with straight away and not on the seventh visit to the room. I have provided the relevant training to the night’s team to ensure that this problem is rectified sooner in the future.

I have also passed on your comments regarding 1539 and the problems you had navigating your way to the restaurant as I am sure they will find this useful.

Once again thank you for your kind comments they really are appreciated.

Should you need accommodation in the future please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Steven Scoullar
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,446 reviews
0.3 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 44 in Chester
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

Address: The Racecourse New Crane Street, Chester CH1 2LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Chester
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $76 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds.Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel and just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre, putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wake up to our complimentary breakfast and enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas.We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park, and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms. Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre.We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse, making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside.Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions. You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.Please contact the hotel directly for group bookings and race day packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Chester-Racecourse Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing