We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£18 for 3 baps and a can of pop each!!!!”
Review of The York Roast Co

The York Roast Co
Ranked #362 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $0 - $5
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“£18 for 3 baps and a can of pop each!!!!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Bloody terrible!! We were looking for somewhere quick and tasty to eat whilst shopping and were tempted in by the lovely looking meats. I ordered 3 baps and brought 2 cans & 1 water....I nearly passed out when the rude waitress asked for over £18. We were charged 25p for apple sauce and 25p for the smallest piece of crackling. The order came wrong, staff were walking through the restaurant with bin bags and the music was blaring loud. It was complete day light robbery....will never eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura-Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    52
    22
    34
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Promises so much delivers so little”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I had eaten at the York Hog Roast some 3 months ago and been thoroughly disappointed but I thought I would give them a second chance, I wish I hadn't bothered. The joints of meat in the window look so tempting but once inside the very cramped cafe the temptation soon goes.
I ordered a pork bap with extra crackling and as I don't like dry food asked for some butter.
Not only did they not have any butter when it came it was without the crackling and as dry as a bone. The nice young waitress took it back and suggested some gravy, the bap returned with 4 small pieces of what can only be described as "pork scratchings" and a bap so soggy with gravy as to be inedible. Needless to say the York Hog roast will not be getting a third chance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RFaserH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Tasty Treat”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

During a recent visit to Chester I ate at this place. Was not disappointed. The roast beef with stuffing and horseradish sauce was excellent, along with the vegetables I selected. Found the staff courteous but the dining space was a little cramped. I considered that I got value for the 11 pounds that it cost. Excellent coffee as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trentham_Ozlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great sandwich”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The pork with dressing bap was delicious, and a bargain at 4 pounds. For 25p more, you can get cracklings, which are good but could break your teeth. All of us were pleased with our choices. A bit tight in the dining area, but we were just there for a quick bite.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rip off ”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We had roast pork baps and a bottle of water each (not even a expensive make!) and we sat in. Now it was early in the day so the lunch time rush hadn't started either. I'm afraid our baps were cold and very unappetising and for the honour of eating here it cost nearly £15 so beware they charge hilarious prices for every tiny thing.

Helpful?
Thank johno20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The York Roast Co also viewed

Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The York Roast Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing