We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koconut Grove

Koconut Grove
Ranked #33 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We've been there a few times during our stay in Chester and we have never been disappointed. Great food, great service and great people. Would definitely return!
Best Dosa we had in UK up to date!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoratiuB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    153
    53
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A Touch of India - a Touch o Class!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Real Indian cuisene in beautiful clean surroundings . Stopped here on our way back from Manchester and it was well worth the detour.
First course were king prawns in a salt and chilly mixed sauce which was nice enough, if not spectacular.
Main course was fennel leaf lamb curry which was exquisite. The lamb was tender and fresh, the sauce fantastic, accompanied by coconut rice my favourite.
Desert was Payasam which was perfect and I would highly recommend . All in all ten out of ten with friendly knowledgeable staff! Will make the same detour again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merlin509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food, service exemplary, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We went for a meal here at lunchtime, very friendly service, beautiful food and good value - they do a special lunchtime rate. Will visit again when next in Chester.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We've been put off going here for some time by the bland looking frontage , more reminiscent of a shop than a restaurant , but decided to try it having read the tripadvisor reviews. Goes to show you can't judge a book by its cover!

Inside is not your typical Indian , it's quite contemporary , light and airy and immaculately clean and tidy ( not that Indian's aren't generally clean, just that this place sparkles).

The staff is excellent, very professional and attentive , the right balance between attentive and your never feeling as though they need the table for someone else in the next five minutes.

Service was good, the Masala Dopa just superb in terms of a different, delicate taste and the Mangalore and Travancore curries we had were excellent demonstrations of the South Indian cooking they specialise in.

My wife is generally sparing in terms her admiration for Indian restaurants ( it being yours truly who'd happily eat in them for ever more) , but she was seriously impressed by everything about the Koconut Grove -as was I . Very good value too .We'll definitely go again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyrileyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee on the Solent
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great authentic meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Ate here whilst on a city break to Chester. Food was great, we have travelled to India several times including going to Kerala so finding an Indian meal in the UK that matches up to out there is always a hard task but these managed it along with great service at a good price. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie-Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koconut Grove also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Koconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing