We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better places to try”
Review of The Barista's

The Barista's
Ranked #4 of 46 Coffee & Tea in Chester
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better places to try”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited this cafe for lunch and coffee on a Sunday afternoon. It promises the most unique experience in Chester but there was nothing special about this place. It's staffed by three teenagers who, while polite, didn't advise on their promotions or help when I wanted to change my order, having realised there was in fact an offer on. The food was overpriced, for a basic sandwich and a terrible coffee. I wouldn't bother again, Chester is lovely and there are much better places to go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    64
    18
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty cups brown lettuce”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Passing through to the airport in Manchester and we detoured via Chester for sightseeing and lunch. Picked this cafe for its location and advertising. Sunday lunch and as mentioned before teenaged on duty. Nothing wrong with that apart from handling customer service. Friends coffee was very ordinary food was OK. Side salad lettuce was brown and so was my tea cup. Overpriced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Easily the best coffee shop in Chester”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I live and work in Chester, and I can honestly say that they serve the best coffee in town. The owners really know about coffee and care about what their customers like. Avoid the obvious coffee stores and head here.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go somewhere else!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited on a Sunday lunchtime, staff were mainly made up of teenagers who couldn't have cared less, they were grumpy and quite unhelpful. We waited ages for a pot of tea and panini, the tea arrived first, by the the time the panini arrived we had drunk the tea. Part of the deal we had included a cake, we had to get up to ask for the cake, despite the fact that there were a lot of staff they appeared to be doing very little, we still had to wait ages for them to bring it over. I asked for a glass of water, it was slammed down on the counter rather than brought over,it was served in a dirty glass that was only half full of water, I wasn't aksed if I wanted ice. The person in charge didn't have a clue and the staff standing around looking miserable and bored just continued to do so the whole time we were there. They were all in desparate need of some customer service training.

The food was ok but not great, the service was terrible and the single toilet was not cleaned very well. We won't be returning, it's a shame because this coffee shop is in a lovely location and has the potential to be excellent, sadly it's not.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura17047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Walk on by”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Where to start with this place? Offhand and clueless staff. A toilet that opens out directly into the eating area. No soap to wash your hands in the toilet and no response from a staff member when it was brought to her attention. The food was average at best and the coffee poor. I would seriously go elsewhere in Chester City Centre if you can.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ALADDINSANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barista's also viewed

 

Been to The Barista's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing