We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Stayed in this hotel with business colleagues for a week. What a lovely hotel in a lovely setting,with lovely staff. The Maitre D' is exceptional and made our meals in the Grosvenor Suite a delight.
The breakfast offered a good choice. Restaurant meals we had were on set menus and after a week a bit repetitive but nothing wrong with quality. Bedrooms were of varied sizes, shapes and layouts, and were well stocked with toiletries and coffee/tea . Spa/Pool area was fabulous. Bar areas were friendly and lots of comfy seats. No complaints, and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abuela32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    425
    140
    49
    30
See reviews for
281
846
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Booked for a romantic valentine weekend with Sunday carvery and valentine's dinner on Monday evening.
Arrived an hour early but told room wasn't available due to late checkouts, which was fair enough.
So had a bite to eat in Nelson's bar which was good.
Went back to reception at 2pm and we were given room 46.......on first impressions the room was clean and comfortable. No view as such , only a grass bank at rear and neighbouring houses, still it was acceptable.
Having spent an hour in room 46 we soon became aware of noise levels from the occupants in the rooms above and even more so from the large conservatory which fronts rooms 42 - 46.
At 6 a.m each morning the laundry trolley was pushed over the tiled conservatory floor...what a wake up call !!
Food - evening meals were good. Breakfast was a let down due staff not keeping up with demand.
Checkout - told staff about noise levels only to be told they had heard it all before! To top that they tried to charge us over £100 extra on our bill, most of which appears to have come from another customer using our room number, so always check your bill closely.

After staying in some great hotels recently we got the feeling from this hotel it is unsure about its true identity....is it a sports bar?.... a country pub serving meals? ..a fitness club?.... or a hotel?......all too mixed up and abit of a let down.

The Kasia spa treatments and staff were excellent though, well done to them!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Just returned from a romantic weekend at the Grosvenor Pulford near Chester. Without exception the staff were friendly and helpful, from the reception and housekeeping staff through to those in the restaurant. This had been 'romanced up' for Valentines day - but it had been done tastefully - we eat there both nights and the food was very good. Drinks were reasonably priced for a restaurant. The rooms were clean, nicely furnished, and quiet. Ours was pretty big and had both aircon and heating - so was pleasantly warm, despite the poor weather outside.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerumdeVerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights. The hotel facilities were very good but the room we had was on the ground floor and appeared to be one of the main walkways to other rooms. So we had some very noisy guests going past the room at all hours of the night. Plus you could hear the occupants in the room above pacing up and down throughout the night and the creaking was pretty noisy. If we were to stay here again I would definately request a room on the first floor but away from any function rooms (as well).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hello482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford on the 12th Feb 2011. We were met by a very freindly person on reception and were given all of the information we needed about the hotel restaurants and where our room was.

The hotel itself is lovely, very quaint, country style with a lovely gastro pub and restaurant. We chose to eat in Nelsons bar and the food was lovely, from start to finish couldn't fault the meal.

The problem we had was with our room. We had gone away for the night to get away and to relax. The room was very basic with no ironing facilities, the TV was just freeview (we were hoping to rent a movie with a glass of wine and chill). Not only could we not rent a movie but we couldn't chill either due to the function which was on downstairs. The music was going until midnight and you could hear every word, even what the DJ was saying, it was a joke to be fair. In my opinion rooms situated near the function room should be discounted as paying £150 for one night to listen to music for most of it was disappointing to say the least (for reference we were staying in room 60). It seems the kind of place that would regularly hold wedding functions so I advise anyone to check when booking if a function is on and if so, ask to be booked into a room as far away from the function room as possible.

Breakfast the next day was nice, plenty of choice and situated in the Ciro's brasserie so a nice environment.

Overall, if you stay when a function isn't on its a great place, if you get unlucky like us and stay in a room right above the noise then it's a massive waste of money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daleyland19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Although quite close to the road, this hotel is in a very attractive building and the swans lying by the pond as I drove into the car park was a nice touch. The staff were friendly and informative- check in and check out was quick and easy. The lobby and communal areas are beautiful and the view of a courtyard from out window was lovely. The rooms, although quiet, were in need of up-dating compared to the rest of the hotel, but that didn't hinder the stay at all. The spa was excellent and the food great.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

A friend and I spent last night in a twin room at the Grosvenor Pulford, incorporating a midweek spa escape for two. The room was nicely furnished with very comfortable beds and pillows. We ate our evening meal in the pub area Nelson's (not included). We had very large and tasty burgers with chips and relish. Food and wine was reasonably priced. The room was quiet. Our full English breakfast was buffet-style with lots of choice plus toast and juices.Our 2 course lunch was taken in the Spa Eatery, starter and main or main and dessert plus a compimentary smoothie. Both courses were delicious. We spent time in the jacuzzi, steam room and pool after our treatments. Both breakfast and lunch were included in the price. Our break cost each of us £167.50, opting for an extra treatment and we couldn't find anything to complain/grumble about. The staff were lovely and there were so many little touches around the hotel and spa to really make it different. We really recharged our batteries and felt that the whole time spent there was very enjoyable. Would definetly recommend it and we are already talking about organising another visit soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberts_sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,074 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,331 reviews
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing