We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven”
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I was lucky enough to be taken here as a birthday treat from my partner. We had a lovely romantic few days away. The hotel itself is lovely with both the bar and restaurant areas clean and nicely decorated. In the evening they are dimly lit with candles and quiet enough for a romantic drink and meal. Our room was nice, big enough for a few days and the bathroom with its complimentary toiletries was more than adequate. The pool and jacuzzi and sauna areas were luxurious and everyone at the spa was more than helpful. I had not booked any spa treatments in advance (even tho this is advised) and the staff did their best to fit me and my partner in. All the therapists were professional and thoughful throughout and really made you feel like your were the only person there and did their best to ensure you got the most out of the treatments. (Be aware, the treatments are costly). The location was perfect for going out in the day for a drive to Chester or further afield. Some nice restaurants in Chester city but not many bars.
Overall it was a perfect romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz_luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    425
    140
    49
    30
See reviews for
281
846
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed for two nights at the Grosvenor Pulford hotel, as part of a wedding group in March 2010. Overall our impressions were very positive, the room was clean and modern, and well appointed (although it could have been a little bit bigger, and with more space to unpack - for a weekend or short trip it was fine, but it would have become a little claustrophobic for a week or longer). The staff were very polite and helpful, both in reception and in the ajoining bar/pub and restaurant. The location was convenient for Chester (ca. 5 miles or about £9 in a taxi). All in all we were very happy and comfortable in our stay.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smjonlinereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Organised a family gathering for my wife's 'major' birthday. She and I stayed overnight and found the hotel very pleasant. There was a large wedding going on and a couple of 'hen' groups there but it was all quiet overnight. Food served was excellent although the starters would probably serve as a main course for some people. Staff were also excellent and service was very efficient. Booking in was a pleasant experience unlike some hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blj1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater lonfon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Overall stay was very good. We stayed before and had a lovely time so returned but was slightly disappointed this time around. We were aware it is a hotel that holds lots of wedding parties, but that wasnt a problem before. This time around we had to complain one evening (we didnt want to be a party pooper), but the noise of children running up and down the corridors and screaming was too much to bare. Couldn't understand why the management didn't stop to think they should intervene rather than wait for someone to complain. Having said that, as soon as we did, the noise abruptly stopped. The next morning, we had breakfast (which is plentiful and very varied), but the manager seemed to be only interested in talking to the groom and not the rest of the residents.
The best part was the spa - it is to die for. Its sumptious, with all manor of treatments that you can imagine. It is truly bliss.

Don't go for peace and relaxation. Go for a treat in the spa, with plentiful food.

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank petsypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2010

We hosted our wedding at the Grosvenor Pulford and had the best service ever. The wedding planner was great, she was helpful with every question we had along the way, The room was dressed beautifully and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.
The bedroom was great, we hadone of the themed rooms with a huge bed and lovely bathroom, invluding robes and slippers. We couldn't manage much of our food onthe day some one of the staff plated some up and left it in our room for us.
We would recommend the hotel to anyone who wanted to have a romantci break as the grounds are beautiful, the spa looks great and the food was most enjoyable. We loved loved loved it!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theedeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Just had a fab 2 nights at this hotel, staff very helpful and friendly, the hotel is warm and cosy, our room was spotless and decorated beautifully, we had an executive room ! Could not ffault the breakfast nor the food in Ciro's Restaurant which was excellent as weelas the service, best seabass I have ever had, will definately be returning ! It was like a 5* restaurant, unlike my experience two nights previous in the new Hilton Hotel, Liverpool which was awful! The pool and spa were most enjoyable, very relaxing, which is why we went, would recommend you give it a try !

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeetabixWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

We came here for a leisurely weekend break, just to chill and have a mooch around Chester. The hotel is very easy to get to, about 5 miles from Chester, with a large car park adjacent.

The room was quite small but well equipped, and nicely furnished. Good powerful shower and nice range of toiletries. Downsides of the room were the cobwebs in one corner, dusty fan cover and stains on the duvet and walls. But minor niggles all the same.

The spa area is excellent. We only did the swim and jacuzzi but it was very nicely designed and laid out, the pool and jacuzzi were beautifully warm. There is also a steam room and spa and gym. Didn't bother with any spa treatments, but the whole area was very stylish.

There are two eating places. The brasserie only does a carvery on a sunday so we visited Nelson's bar which has a gastropub feel. The food was excellent, about £12-£15 for a main but good portions and delicious.

Helpful staff all round, friendly and efficient. We left feeling very relaxed and pleased with our choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MancMan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing