We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spa :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely spa :)”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Enjoyed a spa day with two friends last week which included afternoon tea. The spa is the nicest one I've been to and the afternoon tea was beautiful, needed a few more sandwiches though instead of so much cake. We all had a facial and back massage which were lovely, the therapist was fab! My only criticism is that in the relaxation room there are only 4 beds so when there was about 12 people wanting a rest after lunch, we couldn't find anywhere to go. The fresh fruit and water was a lovely tough though. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    416
    137
    47
    28
See reviews for
270
834
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Visited here with my family a few weeks ago for dinner. We went to Nelsons bar as we had only ever tried the Brasserie, and wanted to try the bar. The food was excellent, there wasn't that much choice but there is something for everyone.

It's just the rude and unwelcoming staff that ruined it. It created an uncomfortable atmosphere and we felt like we weren't welcome as we weren't hotel guests.

We will certainly stick to the Brasserie in future.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank slj147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed at The Grosvenor Pulford on 26th April and can only praise this hotel for the high quality of service given to us. My wife has to follow a gluten free diet and the staff were brilliant in the restaurant and explained everything to her in detail. On top of this the food is brilliant. Room was very clean and comfortable. The highlight for us was the Spa which is excellent. The staff deserve high praise and made our weekend well worth the visit. So good we have booked again for 2 nights in November. Thank you a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed with my elderly mother and friend for 2 nights.We asked for ground-floor rooms, which were quiet, clean and comfortable - twin room 7 looks out into the courtyard with fountain.
both the courtyard garden and the japanese-style sensory garden were lovely, and well-kept.
We were very well looked after, and the staff were very approachable.We ate in Ciros bistro both nights, and had excellent meals, very well presented. The spa staff were absolute angels with my elderly companions - Kirsty deserves a gold star!
Would certainly recommend .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Visited the hotel for morning coffee on my birthday with some friends , have used hotel for various different occasions before and service and staff attitude has been declining on each visit but this visit was by far the worst and none of us will be visiting again . We waited for half an hour on the sofas in the conservatory before anyone even acknowledged us , in the end my friend had to go in search of somebody to come and take our order. Eventually a very unfriendly waitress came who when we asked for a coffee menu clearly looked put out having to find one for us. We then waited a further 20 mins for our drinks ...we did appreciate that they were dealing with the breakfast service of guests but they do open for coffee and cakes in the morning but clearly don't want the locals there ....when we came to pay our bill again we had to hunt for somebody to take our money even going to reception asking for someone to come and see to us. The lady that came was unbelievably rude and clearly shouldn't been in the hospitality trade. We felt so annoyed that we did mention it to the receptionist who then got the duty manager to speak to us who did apologise but our morning had been ruined. This hotel has become complacent and lost a lot of local support shame really .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 33Rach12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Although the decor in the older part of the hotel was a little worn at the time of our visit, this lovely hotel had bags of charm and was the ideal location, in the rural village of Pulford, for a holiday spent touring the Welsh borders and Chester. More relaxing than staying in the busy city of Chester itself and very close by, we were glad we made this choice. During a week spent here we visited some lovely places steeped in the history of the area, Dunham Massey, Erddig, Chirk Castle, Powys Castle, Whittington Castle, Peckforton Castle also pretty villages and market towns such as Farndon, Malpas, Nantwich, which abound in the area. An ideal touring itinery for members, like us, of the National Trust. We found the hotel breakfasts in the Italianate dining room very good, likewise our meals in the relaxed bar where we ate each evening. We also found time to swim in the lovely pool. All in all a good stay.

Room Tip: Our room in the older part of the hotel overlooked the conservatory roof of the dining room and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Sunlight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

This was the venue of my sons wedding. Location great, back drop great, food great, rooms great, but what topped it all was the professionalism and friendliness and nothing is too much attitude of the staff. A gang of us stayed an extra night ate in the bistro chilled in the spa and drank in the bar and were given the same level of service. Thank you to all the staff for making it more than a special day for the bride and groom, have no hesitations of recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,013 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
1,055 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,573 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing