We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keep going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just keep going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves for the Husbands birthday and have been to the Grosvenor Pulford many times before so knew what to expect. We were not disappointed. As usual the room was super clean, plenty of towels, the shower is great and lots of room for getting ready for a lovely meal in Ciros in the evening. The food is always excellent and the menu changes quite frequently so there is always something new to try. Breakfast was great, just wish they served till a bit later as I am a bit lazy!

Room Tip: The rooms themselves are always a good size no matter what level you go for and if you have any spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelleydav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    375
    123
    37
    25
See reviews for
230
730
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Having been taken here by my partner who wanted me to see how wonderful it was,I was pleasantly surprised to find she was right. From the room overlooking the Zen gardens to the relaxing spa it was a perfect combination.
The hotel restaurant was intimate and the service was excellent. The food,I ate a seafood mix which was beautifully presented again was delightful.
This experience was quite simply perfect and I will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardABradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We booked in for two night stay whilst visiting Chester. Room 30 was very spacious with a lovely seating area overlooking the sensory garden. Bed large and very comfortable, bathroom very clean, well equipped and came with some products from the spa...nice touch.
We ate in the Ciro restaurant one evening and enjoyed an excellent dinner, the scallops and fillet steak deserve special mention. Service was first class and very professional, as it was throughout the hotel.
Did not have time to try the spa facilities but they did look most tempting. Lovely grounds, well maintained, ample free parking and location ideal just 4 miles from centre of Chester. There were several large functions taking place during our stay but the staff coped extremely well.
All in all would highly recommend this hotel for a stay when in the Chester area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurdworthColt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for a Sunday night and wished we were there longer. We upgraded to an executive room for additional £15 and it was worth it. Ground floor room with own patio door leading out to some grass area at the side of the hotel.
As it was Sunday and carvery the restaurant was very busy and fixed menu and drinks, so we had our sweet in the bar restaurant which was much quieter and better choice. If there on a Sunday in future would eat there rather then the restaurant, but any other day the restaurant would be great as maitre d' was excellent. All staff in the hotel were so helpful.
Would suggest you book if looking to have a spa treatment as it is very popular and good. I only managed to book a nail polish and that has lasted without chipping a fortnight now.

Room Tip: Ground floor executive rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagstang123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Booked in via expedia and got a reasonable deal for two nights to celebrate a 25th wedding anniversary fantastic surroundings, lovely decor and good service. Ate in Ciros med restaurant food wasgood and catered for wifes special diet . Cant be faulted sensory garden and spa has to be seen will definitely come again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andysmith1769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having just spent 5 days in nice , Monaco , and Cannes , this was a extra surprise for my husbands 50 th as we were due to spend a evening on the Canal boat at the Chester mill hotel on Saturday evening , this was our way of getting him there without him being to suspicious , and the hotel and spa did not disappoint !!!! We had two fab meals , one in the bar , then in the evening in ciros restaurant which was lovely would deffinately go back again , and as it was a travel zoo offer it was very good value

Room Tip: We were upgraded with the travel zoo offer to a suite which was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 1,679 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
4.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#15 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,731 reviews
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Budget Places and Travelocity so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing