We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We enjoyed the fantastic food service and surroundings of the Grosvenor Pulford at our daughters wedding. Lots of us stayed the night and everything was faultess. From the canapes on arrival to breakfast the next morning we all enjoyed the quality of food and service. The staffwere excellent striking the right balance of great service without being too.in your face.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank ppcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Recently had lunch in the bar of this hotel and have to say it was nothing special for the far higher than average price paid. Service was prompt and efficient but food was on par with what you would be able to have in most gastro pubs at half the price.

Outside seating in the gardens was very appealing if you just want somewhere to go for a drink on a sunny day but be warned it does get very busy at weekends with those who are there for outdoor drinks on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank third-dimension50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had absolutely no expectations of this hotel, having chosen it purely out of convenience (being located near to Chester) and having hotel vouchers which were redeemable at a limited number of places.
What can I say, we were absolutely bowled over. Staff on reception were friendly, cheerful and enthusiastic. Our room was upgraded when we mentioned we were on honeymoon, and the guy who checked us was exceptional. He talked us through different dinner options, explained the facilities and we felt went the extra mile. On top of this, our room was spotlessly clean, a great size, and with lovely facilities. We enjoyed the swimming pool and I had a spa treatment - again, all of which were exceptional. I felt the place got the balance perfectly between the feel of a large corporate chain hotel and a smaller boutique style affair, with the best features of both. We will definitely be back, maybe even for our wedding anniversary every year. I'm sure the place would be wonderful as a wedding venue too, certainly from our impression of the food, breakfast and facilities, the team here know exactly what their customers want and are determined that every person that visits has a wonderful time.
Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank span474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After an awful stay at another hotel in Chester we decided to stay here and I am so glad we did.
The hotel is lovely throughout, clean & tidy, all the staff were lovely. we did not get to dine in the restaurant but would off if had the chance they are reasonably priced and looked nice.
The room we had was an exec room, large and clean.
The breakfast area was a nice change to many hotels, it felt clean and fresh not a smelly crowed room with dirty plates everywhere, very nice.
we used the pool area which again was fine, clean and tidy. The day spa area looked fantastic will consider returning for this.
The hotel is about 10/15 mins from cheshire oaks and only about 5/10 mins drive from the centre of town.
Overall a great stay and would recommend it to anyone, as a travel agent myself I do find it hard sometimes to recommend as everyone tastes are different but I would happily say stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were guests for a good friends civil ceremony and the hotel was amazing. Such a beautiful building the gardens were gorgeous. We stayed for two nights and overall our stay was perfect. The room was lovely, the bed was so comfortable and I had a wonderful time. The staff were very polite and helpful and the Grosvenor Suite was spectacular. It was a wonderful wedding the weekend couldn't have been more perfect. I would definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to absolutely everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstyJ81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Grosvenor Pulford and wasn't disappointed, everything was perfect. I have so say that I have never stayed at a hotel where the staff are so helpful, reception, bar and restaurant staff and in the spa. Breakfast is great with a good choice of food, both restaurants offer good quality and choices of food. We had spa treatments which were a little expensive, but worth a try. The whole hotel as a nice relaxing feel to it. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrh146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I attended our son's civil partnership wedding at the Grosvenor on 4/5/13. We arrived at the hotel the day before staying over the weekend and were really impressed with the level of service that the hotel staff give to its guests. They are very welcoming and warm and nothing was too much trouble for them to ensure that our stay was memorable. We had a meal, with other friends and members of our family (over 20) in the bar after our arrival. We chose from the menu and were all impressed by the food served, that was excellent. We had a great start to the weekend. Our room was really nice and clean and not a bad size, the bed extremely comfortable with pets able to stay in the room if required. Breakfasts are also excellent. On the day of the wedding I was so impressed by the smooth running of the whole event. It went without a hitch from the commencement of the ceremony right the way through to the evening reception. The gardens, where photo's were taken, was an absolutely wonderful backdrop for any wedding or other special event to take place and may I commend the photographers for their patience in waiting for guests to get themselves ready. The food, at the wedding reception, was fantastic and my husband and I ate everything that was served! The smiling staff treated us all royally throughout the whole stay and may I take this opportunity to thank everyone for making this day so special for us all. Please pat yourselves on the back you were all wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,412 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,700 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,016 reviews
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $99 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing