We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favourite UK hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“My Favourite UK hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to spend time at some of the UK’s leading spas and spa resorts over the previous 12 months but I have found that the services and levels of customer service at the delightful Grosvenor Pulford to be truly second to none! Based in the ideal location from which to explore the area with its many attractions and activities, just a few miles out of Chester city centre. The rooms are beautiful and the little touches like the mood lighting and luxurious toiletries serve to further enhance your stay. The food in both the restaurant and bar are excellent and have something for everyone. We enjoyed a wonderful afternoon tea in the spa eatery after receiving our treatments of pedicure and full body massage. We found every member of staff we encountered throughout our 2 day stay from reception staff to waiters in the restaurant and spa staff giving treatments to be friendly, helpful and highly professional in their levels of service and attitude towards customers, I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment to anyone! Great for families and a perfect romantic location too, lovely gardens to enjoy and a fabulous atmosphere throughout the hotel! Have stayed here 3 times now and had consistantly exceptional service from booking to checkout! a must if you're planning a stay in Cheshire!

Room Tip: Try rooms 70 - 74 if you want a luxurious romantic night with lots a cool extras from great walk-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    419
    138
    48
    28
See reviews for
271
837
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Second time here in as many weeks and a great experience again. Rooms on both occasions were on the cosy side but had everything we needed. Bathrooms very well fitted with lovely toiletries and a great powerful shower. Food in Nelson's bar is excellent (chips could do with NOT being refried so they are not as hard) but all food is flavoursome and plentiful. Spa and gym are very good too - husband's work permitting, we will return again soon I hope.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently stayed here for two weeks and i have to say the overall experience was really nice. the rooms were clean and cosy, the spa was so pretty and relaxing with a very nice atmosphere. I used the facilities of the pool, jacuzzi and steam room all of a top standard. the staff in the main hotel reception, bar staff & ciros restaurant staff were very friendly and great service.was given every day. The food in Nelson,s bar had outstanding presentation as well as portion size. the flavour,s were incredible as was the Ciros restaurant, so much so we asked to meet the chef,s in person to thank them. I would definitely recommend a stay in this hotel, if not then at least sample the food. If you don't you have really missed out. Gordon Ramsay will even give a thumbs up guaranteed ! Suzie London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipslondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Arrived on 19th April, very sunny warm weather, Hotel is well situated for Chester and its has all the facilities we wanted including pool and spa. We had a deluxe room on 2 floors which meant the bedroom was smaller but it was very nice. Breakfast was excellent. We had our evening meal in the Nelson "pub" onsite rather than the restaurant, Food was devine, wife had the sizzling chicken , it really did sizzle and I have the "house" burger, both were delicious. We would visit again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe on one floor, not split on 2 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We recently experienced an excellent afternoon tea at the Grovesnor Hotel in Chester. The event was a gift so we hadn't experienced the hotel previously and didn't know what to expect. In the event we were very pleasantly surprised both by the quality of our surroundings and the excellence of the afternoon tea.

The hotel has been renovated to a very high modern standard without losing a delightful old world charm. We were met and greeted very professionally and seated in a lovely lounge bar where we were served with an excellent spread of sandwiches, pastries and scones with jam and cream. We were invited on a number of occasions to top up any or all aspects of our afternoon tea and came away with a distinct impression that nothing would have been too much trouble for the attentive staff.

Well done to the Grovesnor for making our treat something special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights towards the end of March, a Sat and Sunday night. Nice location outside Chester though further than you might think. Due to bad weather we arrived from Edinburgh at 5.10pm, to be told that kids couldn't use the pool after 5.30pm and there was no flexibility at all - even when we called down to the spa area. It was for adults only. Although the website print off in very small typing said that there were some restrictions, I didn't imagine for a moment that Sat afternoon at 5ish would be a problem. Immediate black mark as a pool for our son had been a deal breaker for us. Our rooms were ok, pretty standard in décor with rather dated style of soft furnishings. One of the rooms had a quirky wrought iron stair case from the entrance up to the room and once you were up there you had lots of beams etc - but there had been no warnings about this and someone with younger kids or with mobility problems would have struggled. Very tired bathroom - paint chips, old tiles and poor quality shower.
We ate in the pub on the Sat night as we couldn't face the restaurant which was hilariously decorated in an Italian/Roman style complete with statues, fake vines, wall murals but also very hard surfaces everywhere making the acoustics pretty poor and lots of wrought iron furniture. It didn't feel welcoming, certainly not child friendly. The pub is full of leather sofas and armchairs as well as proper tables, open fire and very cosy. It's bizarrely called Nelson's.....we can find no link to Lord Nelson at all in the house or in the Cheshire area but maybe we missed something!Excellent fish pie, fish and chips and high quality, good, pub grub. Helpful and pleasant staff who made us and our young boy feel very welcome.
The Spa is ok - the changing rooms are small (only one loo!) and very tired, they really need an over haul. The pool is nice, though lots of men ploughing through the water with no regard for families. The spa area itself seemed lovely - I didn't have time for any treatments but nicely done and smelled gorgeous. the gardens looked super too but we had 3 inches of snow!
The noise along the corridors on the Sat night was really bad - there was a wedding on so lots of pretty drunk people up and downstairs and along past our rooms, some teenagers were running up and down constantly. Not a great night.
The public areas of the hotel range from cosy English pub style to rather cold overdone Italian style - the latter should be dumped! I think it lets the hotel down and given the age and character of the building, it seems a shame to cover this up with fake murals, awful gauze fabric swathed everywhere, statues and far too much fake (and dusty) greenery and flowers.
If I knew the hotel was going to be sensitively redecorated we might return, but overall it felt very expensive for a very middle of the road hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Have stayed here twice for work and been well looked after on both occasions

Generally the hotel is good with an excellent pool and leisure facilities. The gym is a little poor though for a hotel of this size. The grounds are well presented and there is a very nice conservatory area.

Rooms are a good size and comfortable with free wifi. You need the free wifi because the phone reception is awful!

Food is good, have only eaten in the bar rather than the restaurant but there is more than enough choice here.

Good hotel and facilities within 15 minutes of Chester

Room Tip: Check prices. Room prices vary massively. Have stayed for £80 with breakfast one week and been quote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davedog001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#9 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing