We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wedding Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I attended a family wedding at this hotel. We spent two nights in a standard room and were pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation and breakfast. We never used the Spa but we did have a quick look and it had impressive decor, however I can imagine it can get pretty crowded at times as it was quite small. Also you should bear in mind that it is a popular wedding venue and as such will have other guests that will be in the party mood, especially at weekends. Prices were a little high as to be expected from this type of hotel, but they were not unreasonable. The ceremony and function rooms were excellent.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the conservatory corridor as it can get noisy when guests are returning to their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan14186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    410
    133
    45
    28
See reviews for
264
818
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Following my more than disappointing attempt to spend spa break in Pickforton Castle the Grosvener Pulfort Hotel & Spa saved the situation. I spent spa break with my two daughters in most beautiful environment and tranquility not to mention great treatments. Swimming pool and steam room topped all experience. Fruit and water were of no shortage and were available all over the spa. Lunch was served beautifully and it was to very high standard. I had beautiful pedicure and got to keep bottle of varnish to use for my nails. The views to Japanese gardens are beautiful and helped to relax. Thank you very much to all staff for looking after us and helping us to de-stress. I will definitely be back for more indulgence in the very near future. :o)

Room Tip: I've stayed in the hotel a couple of times so did members of my family and we all had lovely roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibea_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, Conwy North Wales
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

A spur of the moment one night stay with the idea of chilling out in a spa during the freezing weather. Sadly this was the one and only disappointment as we arrived as did many others by the pool area complete with mags, books and specs to find just four already occupied loungers with nowhere to stow your bits and bobs. So the planned afternoon of relaxation turned into a quick swim and out. Pool area however very clean and water warm.
The rest of the stay was fabulous. The standard double room was more than adequate in size and quality and was very warm and cosy. We had a dinner, bed and breakfast package which we thought was great value. This entitled you to £25 each to spend for which we thoroughly enjoyed 3 courses in the Nelsons Gastro Pub area which has a really welcoming atmosphere.
Breakfast was a buffet style with a very nice choice but never quite as nice as a cooked to order one, but maybe this is a bit nitpicking as you could order omelettes, crumpets etc.
The staff were all friendly and you really want to go back, so lets just hope that they can improve the chill out areas around the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marko05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked me a surprise spa day that unfortunately didn't live up to expectations.
The spa itself was beautifully decorated by you could tell the pool, sauna, steam room etc had been there a lot longer especially as they were quite a way from the spa itself making it feel disjointed.
I had a manicure which was only average, I don't think the girl doing it was very experienced as she had to re-do some nails.
There was limited places to just sit and relax and no special spa rooms so overall I wouldn't recommend it for a spa day.
Good point - Lunch was nice and probably the best bit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank saraht2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here just before Christmas after a particularly stressful period in my life. On arrival our room was not ready but by the time we had had a bite to eat in the bar area we were checked in.

We had been given a free upgrade to a lovely suite which was furnished beautifully. The staff were very helpful and we also ventured into the spa area for a short while, it was not very big however and quite quickly filled up.

However we enjoyed our one night stay and would definately recommend to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton in Arden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel is situated not too far from Chester city centre. There is park and ride on the way, which is advisable as parking is very expensive in the centre. The hotel is traditional and has a pleasing atmosphere. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is free wi-fi which can be accessed in your bedroom. However,you will need the log in details and password from reception.

The reception staff are very informative and helpful.

We had and evening meal in the bar. The menu was varied and imaginative. I had the warm tiger prawn salad which was excellent. My friend had a variety of local fish, served on a platter. Both to be recommended. The prices were reasonable.

Room Tip: You may need to ask reception to take your cases to your room, as the lift is not immediately by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for one night in the executive room(39) it was amazing the bedroom was up a spiral staircase.The view was over looking the Japenese gardens.The robes and slippers were lay on the bed with a heart shaped bath bomb each such a great touch. The toiletries supplied in the bathroom were great quality. We used the lesiure facilities sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and pool which was great to just relax. You could book treatments/massages with the Spa which next time I would love to do 2 nights and include a pampering session.We booked a table for the Sunday Carvery in Ciro's the hotel restaurant everything was fresh and cooked to perfection. We had a drink in the Nelson bar, again this was a great place to sit and have a drink by the fire.The breakfast was good plenty to choose from e.g cereal, fruit, cooked breakfast and you could order kippers and another fish, omlettes to order. Highly recommend staying here rather than Chester city centre. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Room 39 had a grea view of the Japenese Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandraw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
4.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing