We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you get room 1or 2 or 3 run for the hills”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
merseyside
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“If you get room 1or 2 or 3 run for the hills”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed for one night and did the valentines rat pack evening.

We arrived on Friday and headed to nelsons bar for a snack. We had a baked potatoe which was poor to say the least. No way was it fresh and yes we ate it but regretted it.

We went to our room which was No2 12x10 isn't my idea of a decent room. The bathroom was off it and to be honest not bad. The bed is about 6' away from the door, which leads out to the public passage way. This meant we had to high tail it to the bathroom every time we opened the door. On top of the fact everyone can see you in bed if the door is open the window opens out onto a courtyard, which means you have to have the blinds shut all day because people are either looking it from there table as they either have a drink or have popped out for a smoke. I think goldfish bowl covers it.

The grovenor suit were we ate was lovely and the staff very good. The food was really nice but Unfortunatley the singer was poor. Now you may think I've got a bee in my bonnet because of the room, but the other 5-6 couple who left before us cant be wrong as well.

To finish the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a long time, and again he staff were great.

All in all not the romantic night I planned,and I'm sure the girl on the reception avoided ask how the room was because she knew the answer.

So sorry grovenor we won't be back, and I couldn't recommend this place to friends. I've had far better rooms at a premier inn and paid a fraction of the cost...

if your going to Chester there's better..

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTwonky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    425
    140
    49
    30
See reviews for
281
846
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Called in for lunch a few days ago at Nelsons bar. Although busy we soon found a seat and placed our order. We were pleasantly surprised how quickly the food arrived, it was beautifully presented, well cooked, and we were both very pleased with the first course. Just after we finished eating a waiter appeared and collected our plates asking if we wanted anything else. We ordered deserts and waited for them to arrive, and waited, and waited. After what seemed like an age went to the bar to ask if they were coming, no sign of the order on the computer so had to start again with the order, this time including a coffee. Desert arrived in a reasonable time but no coffee. After another long wait asked another waitress about the coffee. Waited another twenty minutes or so and were about to give up and leave when the coffee arrived. It was such a good job were had all afternoon!
I can't fault the decor, food, drink, or the very pleasant staff, but they seemed to keep forgetting that we wanted something!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay at the last minute, because we needed to take our dog to the Liverpool University vet school - and to avoid the snow!

The hotel were great with our dog, even though she is quite big. They gave us a room on the ground floor, with a patio door onto a small garden area. It meant we didn't have to keep taking her through the hotel. And it was only £15 for the night!

The spa was excellent - very nice pool.

As mentioned in the title there was some detail we didn't like. The breakfast staff said that they didn't know whether the eggs were free range, because they just came from their supplier. There was also only a very small amount of information about the provenance of their meat. This is shame for a hotel which got everything else right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Such an unassuming building turned out to be a fabulous historic experience with a brilliant modern twist!... Booked a Living Social deal for 1 nights stay for 2 people for under £80 this included a bottle of wine and Spa entry. Stayed in room 71 which was contemporary, new and fresh, absolutely spotless, in fact! there didn't seem to be one speck of dust throughout the entire hotel. The restaurant had a beautiful ambiance with low lighting, great crockery and cutlery with the added touch of fresh flowers on the tables, the staff were extremely attentive both at evening meal and breakfast helping provide an even better experience, (dinner for 2 cost under £30 for a starter and a main), breakfast was well organised with food replenished, hot plated kept clean at all times and covers reset immediately. Spa area was immaculate and beautifully furnished, everything seemed to be incredibly maintained including outdoor areas. The hotel contains many water features which provide a lovely atmosphere especially outside in the Asian Garden (Lit up when dark) it must be fantastic in the summer. I would be so happy if the hotels I frequent around this country provided such a standard. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Don't let the busy road and hotel car park put you off the location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne8693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This trip was a surprise birthday treat for me, and I was very pleasantly surprised.
Our room was very nice and clean and reasonably modern. We caught the bus into Chester in the evening which was no great hassle so the location just outside Chester was not problematic.
The staff were friendly and welcoming.
Our only criticism was in relation to the breakfast as much of the food was cold and the fried bread was very hard( the knife wouldn`t cut through it) and the toast was hardly toasted so was more like bread. However the restaurant itself was very grand and spacious.
I would visit again and would reccomend to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louamiedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am writing this review for Spa by Kasia. I booked the day escape treatment package for two which includes full use of the facilities, any two 55 minute treatments, with lunch included. From the moment we arrived (& even before the lady was so helpful directing us to the spa) we were greeted pleasantly and professionally. We were given a tour of the spa followed by some delicious Asian tea while we waited for our treatments. The treatments themselves were fantastic, I had the aromamassage while my girlfriend had the coconut exfoliation and massage. Everything from the heated beds which you lay upon to the professional and experienced therapists made the day amazing. We then made use of the facilities which include a luxurious pool, jacuzzi, gym, sauna and steam room. They also have an amazing thermal room which is a must visit!
After this we made our way to the eatery for lunch, which we were pleasantly surprised to discover an impressive menu followed by exquisite food. We had the duck spring rolls and tempura tiger prawns to start followed by the bouillabaisse of seafood and the Thai green chicken curry.

Overall the day was faultless and would recommend the spa to anyone looking for a beautiful experience.

Felix and Laura

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Watsonfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Attended a wedding and due to the bad weather decided to stay over. We had an executive room which was beautiful, quite pricey but haggled the cost down. I had not been to this venue since 1996, the whole place has been completely renovated to a high standard.
We are even talking about having our CP at this venue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,611 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing