We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous two day break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous two day break”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went away for our ruby wedding anniversary, the hotel was 1st class from the minute we arrived the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was the best room we have ever stayed in. The pool was very relaxing, we also made use of the gym. We took some lovely photos in the Asian garden, to make up an album to remember this special time. The food in the restaurant and bar was excellent .

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    420
    140
    48
    30
See reviews for
275
840
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just arrived back from a Friday night stay for my partners birthday. This is a lovely hotel, very friendly, very clean and we had a beautiful room. The spa facilities were excellent although we didn't book any treatments, the pool, sauna and steam room were spotless and we were left very chilled out.
The whole ambience was perfect in lovely settings. We decided on a bar meal in the pub rather than the restaurant and ended leaving half of it reluctantly, as the food was delicious but too larger portions to finish. Not your normal pub grub, restaurant quality. The breakfast and service of all the staff could not be faulted.
We both agree that although we are well travelled and have stayed at many top hotel chains, the Grosvenor is the nicest hotel we have stayed at.
I would strongly recommend the hotel to anybody.
Looking forward to future stays. Thank you to all the staff that made us very welcome.

Room Tip: stayed in the executive double, room 41
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Are you joking?!? Waiting 15 minutes to be served in the Nelson's Bar on a Saturday afternoon because you put a single bar person on duty. Repeatedly I tell myself not too come back to this place because of its embarrassingly slow service. Well, decision made. I will not be returning to this otherwise nice place. Go to the Red Lion in Doddleston instead.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BaileyBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Had a lovely stay with my other half, staff where very friendly and polite, the room was comfy although the odd thing could do with up grading/fixing, we ate every night of our 4 night stay in Nelsons bar the reason why is the food is so nice although typical bar menu but that's what we both like so it suited us. The spa is brilliant we had treatments as well as using the general pool and sauna area but again could do with the odd bits replaising/redoing a few tiles missing and could me much nicer if the steam room didnt have plastic fittings.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and the relaxing atmosphere in the hotel and spa we have also put it on to our possible wedding venue list because of the grounds and beauty of the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nienna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a one night stay to celebrate our first wedding anniversary (having had our wedding there we were offered a 'romantic package'). We stayed in one of the feature rooms (room 78) which was fantastic, obviously these rooms come with a more expensive price tag but for a special occasion they are definitely worth it . We also had a spa day package and the facilities were very good. We had the couples room for our treatment which was nice apart from i could hear the 2 therapists communicating with each other which was a little off-putting. The lunch in the spa was excellent. We dined in Ciros restaurant in the evening which again was excellent, we did wait longer than expected for our main courses but it was worth the wait. Service was also very good. We would highly recommend staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: For that special occasion room 78 is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in a standard double room, here's the good and bad...

Good - Staff very friendly, food in the pub & breakfast was good. My husband recommends the steak in nelson's bar. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening so can't comment on that. The room and hotel in general were clean and tidy and the grounds were well maintained. Parking was plentiful. Spa looked beautiful but I didn't have any treatments. The hotel has a pool, sauna, gym, etc. which was great. Even though there were weddings on every day during our stay it didn't feel like they took over the hotel. Only 5 miles from Chester so great for sightseeing and for relaxing. Bed was very comfortable. Toiletries were supplied and shower was good.

Bad - We were in room 17 (ground floor) and it was small, just enough room really for a double bed, small set of drawers with TV on top and small built in desk. We just about had enough room for clothes but if you were coming for longer you'd struggle. The room we were in had a very odd window in it that looked out onto a corridor (very odd) this was also where laundry was brought in so could get noisy. The major noise came from upstairs though, there must be no insulation because we could hear every footfall (evenings, 1:30am and early mornings!). There was no air conditioning and the room could get very stuffy. You could open the window but not leave it open over night as it wouldn't be secure. The lights over the bed didn't work, didn't bother us too much but feel it's something that could be checked. Hotel has free Wi-Fi and was one of the reasons we picked this hotel over others. However the signal (when you could get it) was so slow that it was unusable. The pool was a little on the cool side and also a bit strange as the final step into the pool is huge so you practically fall in and there is a shallow shelf on one side without a warning so you suddenly scrape a leg when you're not expecting it.

Overall - I would stay again but only in an upstairs room and would try and opt for a bigger room if available.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room on the ground floor as lots of noise from upper floor, Would avoid room 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AltiNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I have just spent the weekend here; we chose this hotel wholly down to the good reviews on trip advisor.

When we arrived at the hotel we checked in with no problems what so ever even though it was before 2pm, after check in we went into Nelsons bar for lunch the food was enjoyable and if in the area we would defiantly go back.

The room was a reasonable size for a standard. I really do not know why the reviews are so good I must be missing something. There was mould in the bathroom over the bath, a little bit of mildew spray here would have removed this, the edges of the carpets where not hovered using a nozzle of the hover would get rid of this dust, brown particles came out of the tap, shower and toilet very off putting, I am assuming this was due to old pipes? The water in the sink did not go down the plug hole so we had to brush our teeth over the bath.

We rang reception a couple of times, for an iron and ironing board and ice bucket and champagne glasses each time these items were delivered in a timely manner, no complaints
.
We went to the gym for a work out on both mornings; the gym was clean and bright.

All in all a nice stay, but I did feel the general cleanliness of the room put me off and for this reason I would not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing