We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly but tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly but tired”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The staff here were amazing, really anxious to help us and incredibly friendly. The hotel itself feels rather tired. A lovely spa and garden, but it needs decorating in the hallways. The restaurant is quite strange, mock-classical style and quite dated. We were in a comfortable room but our bedroom was up a spiral staircase. Downstairs was a sofa, upstairs the beds, difficult to get our cases up and slightly unnecessary! The spa treatments were wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokribite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    972
    425
    140
    49
    30
See reviews for
281
846
22
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights for my birthday.

During our stay I had a 55 minute reflexology treatment at the spa which was very relaxing. The atmosphere in the spa was lovely, very peaceful and tranquil. We spent the rest of the day in the roman style swimming pool and used the steam and sauna rooms. The pool is large, clean and well decorated. It was never very busy when we were there. Children are only permitted into the pool at certain times which made it good because there weren't any noisy children splashing about while you tried to relax! There were relaxation chairs at the side of the pool and magazines for guests to look through. It was very relaxing lying on the chairs by the pool and there was a cute little mouse painted on the wall behind the chairs! (See if you can spot it!)

The hotel has two restaurants which were both very good. One is the bar and served typical bar-style food but was very high quality and excellent portion sizes. The second restaurant was a brasserie and had roman themed decorations with statues, pillars and frescos. The food was excellent and inparticular the canelloni was an enormous dish and tasted delicious! Breakfast was also served in this restaurant which was excellent! One of the best breakfasts we have had! The sausages were really big and juicy too!

The room was comfortable and clean. There were good tea and coffee facilities and a TV. It was a little warm during the first night due to the lack of air conditioning but apart from that it was great.

This is an excellent place to stay if you want a relaxing break. We would definitely like to visit again soon for more relaxation!

Room Tip: Perhaps upgrade to a deluxe or ask for an airy room or one with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saliboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for one night with work and found this hotel as Carden Park was full. Room was slightly better and more modern, although not up to Manchester Hilton standards. The hotel felt like it was built from a series of extensions as the pool was accessed by walking through the restaurant. The restaurant decor was a very odd Greek/Roman type affair, but the food was good. All in our group have now made the switch here from Carden Park for future stays.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamcorrect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We got married at the Grosvenor in Pulford on 5th September 2012. From start to finish, nothing was too much trouble for Natalie (wedding co-ordinator). The day itself exceeded our expectations and went without a hitch. Natalie, Maurice and Alistair could not do enough for us and the other staff in the hotel as well were so accommodating throughout. I cannot praise this venue highly enough. From start to finish, the whole day was amazing and my family and friends are still raving about it. We will go back for meals and probably our anniversary next year! i cannot praise the the wedding team highly enough. All wedding guests commented that it was the best wedding they had attended. What a great day.Thank you Natalie, Maurice and Alistair and all staff at the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I chose this hotel for my hen weekend. There were many aspects of my stay that were very good... and some that were not so good. On the plus side, this is a beautiful hotel. I especially liked the cosy bar and the spa is the first one I've been to but I think it's the best I'll ever go to. It is absolutely stunning and we felt truly pampered. The food and drink was very nice. The hotel is also set in a lovely location which is perfect if you are looking for a place close to Chester that has more of a country feel so you can relax.
On the down side, it was expensive and the hotel weren't prepared to offer a discount for a hen party. The attitude was very much, we're sorry but we can get the business anyway! Fair enough I suppose but not the best customer experience. I was willing to overlook it just because I really want to stay in the hotel and a hen do is worth the extra cash. To be fair, the hotel did offer a free upgrade to a better room for me but to be honest, the room didn't look like the website picture and was more what I'd expect from a standard room somewhere else. It was pretty small and very average so that aspect was a tad disappointing. I also assumed that as the hen I would automatically be put in the right room but that didn't happen either and I had to go back to reception when I realised. Also, we moved tables in the spa and we ended up getting charged for another party's drinks bill. They phoned me in my room about it but I didn't realise at the time and thought some of my party hadn't paid. It was only later when we were trying to check out that my friends insisted they had paid. Unfortunately, the hotel didn't immediately accept this and caused a bit of a fuss. The guy on reception even suggested that perhaps we were mistaken because "sometimes people think they have paid, when they haven't". Oh dear. Anyway, we had to get the manager from the spa and she brought receipts over. Eventually, they accepted they had made a mistake but didn't offer anything for the inconvenience. They did say sorry but I left feeling a bit stressed. Did not appreciate that. I would have liked to give this hotel a very good rating but for these reasons, I can't give it higher than average. I would go back for a special occasion though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dizzy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

20 family members got together to celebrate our Aunty and Uncle's Golden Wedding Anniversary on 11th August. We all had a really lovely time. I have stayed twice before, but not since the refurbishment. The food, staff, rooms, bar and spa were absolutely superb and it was only a shame we were there for just one quick night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catchloved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford a couple of times on one night deals. The spa and pool are very nice and all the hotel staff are very friendly and attentive. There is a substantial breakfast provided and the one night deals including dinner and great value for money- food in the italian style restaurant is very nice.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,073 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,610 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,332 reviews
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing