We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went here for a weekend away. We stayed for two nights in a standard room and had booked on to have breakfast both mornings. We were greeted on reception by a friendly lady who told us where everything was and how to access our rooms. We stayed in room 20 which overlooks a small outdoor seating area with a fountain. The room was quite small with a double bed, desk, wardrobe, tea facilities, trouser press. The bathroom was clean and well lit with good surface area for you to put your things.
On the first night we ordered room service as we were tired from our long day, the food was really nice and you got loads for your money. There was an additional £5 charge for room service ( which was to be expected anyway). The following morning we headed down for breakfast and were greeted by friendly staff, who showed us to a table. The waitress asked if we would like some toast (which we said yes to) and then told us to help our selves to the cooked breakfast and fruit etc.. There was also a menu which you could order more things from; such as omelettes and poached eggs. There wasn't much variety on the cooked breakfast table nor was there many cereals/ fruits to choose from. We sat and ate our cooked breakfast and we had still not received our toast. By this point we had finished anyway, so I didn't feel the need to ask for it again.
Later in the day we looked at the hotel grounds, where there are beautiful gardens, with ponds bridges and water features. Whilst at the hotel there was two weddings that took place, unfortunately the weather was awful so one the wedding parties had to rush inside before they got wet through and wind swept.
We did not use the leisure facilities, however we did go and have a look at them and they looked very clean and relaxing. There is a small seating area before you enter the leisure facility, which over looks the gardens and some water features. Also there is complimentary orange juice which you could help your self to.
In the evening we ate in nelson's bar which was busy due to the races being held that day. The food was excellent and once again we got loads for our money. We ended up being in there for a good few hours.
On the second morning we decided to skip breakfast as we had to set off back home earlier than expected. Also we didn't really fancy a cooked breakfast.
We were checked out by a friendly girl on reception and then headed on our way.
I have given the hotel a 4 star due to the fact that i thought it was a little over priced for the size of the room we had. Also because there wasn't much variety on the breakfast table.
Overall our stay was great and I would definitely recommend this hotel for a wedding venue, or spa weekend away. The hotel is between 10-20 mins away from all local tourist attractions, for example: Chester zoo, the town centre and the designer outlet.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe or luxury room to get more for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L1M5W10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,370 - 1,376 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We got married here on 20th May 2012 and I cannot recommend this venue enough, or praise the staff who work here.

From the moment we looked around for the first time the wedding co-ordinator Natalie was outstanding - always quick to reply, super friendly & obviously loves her job! The day before the wedding, despite there being another wedding on, the staff made me feel very special and nothing was too much trouble. On the day, everything went perfectly and was so professional. There is no wonder this venue is booked for weddings constatly throughout the summer months (and busy in the winter too I believe).

The hotel grounds are lovely, there is a new oriental garden and the spa area is very relaxing. Choice of places to eat & very nice rooms, I stayed in an executive room the night before the wedding which was spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable.

We will stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my partner, son, daughter-in-law and baby grandson. Greeted by friendly, helpful receptionist. Good service when we had lunch in Nelson's bar. Took advantage of the spa facilities which were very good. Comfortable clean rooms with everything to hand. Ate in Ciros restaurant where service was excellent, as was the food. Would recommend highly and will certain stay again when in the area

Room Tip: We had ground floor room with seating just outside which was a bit disconcerting to begin with. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOYR20G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night after a cycling holiday, wanting to relax and unwind before heading home. We weren't disappointed! Lovely rooms with very comfortable beds, good in-room tea-making facilities, and satellite TV. There was a beautiful pool in a large heated room, with jacuzzi and steam room, all of which standard hotel guests can use (even if not having a spa treatment).

We had a delicious meal at a very reasonable price, at Ciro's Brasserie (2 main meals + shared dessert + large glass of wine + glass of juice = £43). We wished we had ordered 2 separate desserts! The Bramley apple & cinnamon souffle with apple shot and mini toffee apple was one of the best desserts I have ever tasted. It was amazing.

Breakfast was good - there was a buffet with fruit, yoghurt, cereal and cooked breakfast. You can make a separate order for continental meats and cheese, organic muesli topped with fresh fruit and yoghurt, and poached/scrambled eggs. I think there is usually a separate charge for these, but we got a good deal from Booking.com which included the breakfast (including ordered items).

We asked for a later checkout as our train was mid-afternoon, and we were given an extra hour (free of charge) to relax after breakfast.

All in all, a perfect relaxing end to our holiday!

On a side note for anyone planning a wedding, this looks like a very good venue and has won several awards for this. It has beautiful grounds, a spa (for pre-wedding day relaxation if you fancy), and excellent quality rooms for the guests. However, the actual suite for the ceremony and the wedding breakfast looks a little conference-room style, with plain walls, spotlights and low ceilings. Also, as the hotel is large, there can be other hotel guests wandering around, and we saw several bridesmaids and wedding guests walking through the restaurant whilst we were having dinner.

We decided to have an opportunistic look-around whilst we were staying here as we are planning a wedding next year. This wasn't exactly what we were looking for, but everyone has different ideas and needs for their wedding, and it looks like a fantastic choice!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squidsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Me and my partner stated here for one night. Lovely hotel rooms could be updated. The restaurant is lovely and good priced. The spa is average have been to a lot better. Wouldn’t stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jssmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I have just returned from a 1 night stay and have to say this is a fantastic hotel.It is very relaxed and the staff are brilliant.The food is excellent and the portions are huge!.The sensory garden at the rear of the hotel is a credit to who ever designed it, it is such a relaxing place to sit in on a sunny day.Our rooms were very very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: rooms 2 and 3 are on the ground floor away from the wedding venue if you dont want to be disturbed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stopped here a few weeks ago on business and decided to return with my girlfriend on the bank holiday Monday of jubilee weekend.

We stayed in room 72, one of the superior rooms, which has a four poster bed and tv in the bathroom!

The bed is massive and very comfy, while the bathroom is huge with very good sized bath and separate shower.

There were nice touches such as bath bombs to use and free bottles of water in the room.

The staff are very helpful and attentive, and we also made use of the spa facilities and pool, booking a Turkish Hamman on the Tuesday.

The spa facilities and pool are brilliant, and there is a gym and tennis court (which we didn't use).

The only down side was that we felt a little rushed at breakfast, which was served until 10am. We got there at about 9.55am and didn't really have chance to savour it.

We didn't eat our evening meal here this time as we decided to try the Swan at Kinnerton which is close by (I've also reviewed it as it was fantastic) however I ate in Nelson's Bar at the hotel a couple of weeks ago and it was very good food and good value.

Very happy with out stay and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monkeyman_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#3 of 45 in Chester
2,636 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#13 of 45 in Chester
1,795 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,431 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#15 of 45 in Chester
2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#4 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $103 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing