We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY,WE WILL CERTAINLY RETURN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Only stopped one night,we had two rooms,a double for my wife and I and a single room for my 86 year old mother in law.
Both rooms were excellent and on the ground floor.My Mother in Laws room was the perfect size and well equipped.Our room was also spot on(if a little small but perfectly formed).
The gardens are a nice walk as well.Also they are creating a Japanese style garden,which will only add to the ambiance of the hotel.
We had a superb meal in the hotel restaurant,Ciro's, my wife and I had one of the best veggie meals we have had for a long time.
After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a great buffet breakfast.
The staff were helpful and friendly and there was always someone around that would answer any queries.
All in all a great hotel and spa,where you don't feel rushed but relaxed.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevemacAshbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,481 - 1,487 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

What a lovely place! My booking was rather last minute, being a couple of weeks before a wedding, and the lady in reservations could not do enough for me to accommodate my needs in a relatively short space of time. Nothing was too much trouble, and they were more than happy to help. They know what they do and they do it very very well indeed.

We were here for my brothers wedding and we were staying on the Friday night and the Saturday night, the wedding being on the Saturday. The hotel itself was beautiful, and completely unpretentious. At all times we felt at ease and everyone was so friendly. The swimming pool and spa areas were fantastic and a great place to meet up with the family, with one of the staff members even bringing around prepared fruit for us to eat while we were in the pool, which I think my brother had arranged specifically.

The food in the restaurant was really good, and a lot of care and effort had gone into the preparation, presentation and the cooking. I was a little disappointed they hadn't given a steak knife for the gammon though, which is always a sign of a really good restaurant in my eyes!

The wedding team were out of this world and made the whole day so magical. Our room was lovely, overlooking the fields at the back. And they had made sure there were two extra single beds for our children too.

My only little gripes would be that we had paid for a deluxe room which was supposed to come with robes and the odd little extra, which it didn't. And there was no water or glasses. And the fact that there was no minibar was a shame as it would have been used! But as a consequence, there was nowhere to put a drink to keep it cold. Hence me giving only four stars instead of five. But there was lots of tea, coffee and hot chocolate as well as biscuits.

It is a top wedding venue so I'm not too sure what it'll be like going back for a quiet stay on a weekend when there is a wedding going on with lots of people milling around and having a jolly good ol' time. We'll definitely try it though.

All in all a really good weekend, and we will be visiting again to take advantage of the Spa.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed for a weekend family event: all enjoyed the accomodation.

Highlights were the private dining room with fantastic service: particularly from the lead / head waiter whose attention to detail and thoughtful service really made the event something special.

The quality of the food is great; way above average... both the evening meals and the breakfasts were excellent.

Excellent location for Chester; outside the main city centre but close enough for easy travel.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank GuyEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Myself and 5 friends stayed here for 1 night and really liked it. Rooms were spacious and clean, bar area had a nice warm feel and was a lovely place to have a drink. The pool/jacuzzi/steam room and sauna were all pleasant to use and all staff were friendly and approachable. Ten minutes from the centre of Chester as well so location wise, it's very good. Only minor thing I would mention was that there was no vegetarian alternative for the bacon/sausages/blackpudding at breakfast in the morning. There were plenty of cereals, fruit and eggs etc but it would have been nice to have some sort of veggie sausages or something (I did ask the waitor who asked the chef). Saying that I still ate well so it didn't cause any problems.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah-Steve82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Having spent the weekend with family celebrating the renewal of vows we decided to continue on to Chester for the remainder of the weekend. I did some research and found the Grosvenor Pulford online. We booked for a one night stay on the Sunday evening. Once we arrived having found the hotel very easily we were very efficiently checked in and shown to our room. I had a complimentary upgrade to an executive room (No.58) and both me and my partner were very impressed. The room was very big with an extremely comfy bed. We even had views across the countryside to the Welsh Mountains. The bathroom was equally as big and had a fab shower. We eventually headed down to the Spa area which is complimentary to staying guests, lockers and towels are all provided. The spa is very well done and a great area to relax, sadly the sauna was out of order whilst there but we still got to use the pool, jacuzzi, and steam room. After changing we headed down to Ciros for the sunday carvery, £9.95 I think it was and it was indeed very good with plenty to eat and the biggest Yorkshire puddings I have seen in a long while. Ciros was a very nice restaurant and had a lovely atmosphere, which was equally as nice for breakfast in the morning as well. There is also Nelsons bar which is very nice for a quiet drink and a bar meal if you wanted something less formal than Ciros.

All in all we had an extremely nice stay at this very nice hotel and would highly recommend it as I would Chester and the surrounding area for a break. We would stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa and had to leave a review about it!!
First impressions were very good, old building with character. We arrived early so had alook around the grounds as it was a nice summer,s day. Beautiful gardens and ponds
with swans and ducks, and very tranquil. Check in was friendly and quick, just what you want after a long drive. We made the most of the leisure facilities, which are as good as
we have seen anywhere. The room was a double standard which was a good size, clean,
and had everything you need, Went to Chester for our evening meal but had breakfast
and it was excellent!! Checkout was also fast and friendly same as the rest of our stay.
IN A NUTSHELL, STAY HERE AND YOU WONT BE DISAPOINTED, HONEST!!!

Room Tip: Room Tip; Room 56, quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevdunn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Allow more time to visit the spa and pool which are fabulous. Great base for visiting Chester without being in the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank YOUHAVETOBEJOKING042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,541 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#12 of 45 in Chester
1,751 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,226 reviews
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $102 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing