We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2011

What a hotel - beautiful surroundings, polite friendly staff, lovely clean rooms. What more can I say. The food is second to none, buffet breakfast so help yourself until you cant eat any more. We went into Chester for the evening £1.80 on the bus there and £9.70 in a taxi back (and that was after midnight). Went swimming, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna all lovely and clean. Also has a spa treatment (a massage), feels like you're in another world. You got to keep the slippers they gave you to walk to the room you have the teatment in, everythimg about it was superb and thoroughly relaxing. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank tania8658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,512 - 1,518 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2011

Loved the Hotel!
Went with a girly friend for a night away and a boozy night in Chester.
The courtyard/conservatory area was great and it felt like we were on holiday abroad sat with our wine in the sunshine.
The room was lovely with all of the amenities you could need. We booked a twin room and the beds were plenty big enough and very comfortable.
Chester itself is fab, we dined at a restaurant called 'Upstairs at the Grill' which is a great independent restaurant right near to all of the great bars.
On the Sunday we visited cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet which is only 10 mins away and well worth a visit (take plenty of money) ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank lauraloo1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

My mum and I have just returned from a stay in this hotel and could not fault a thing. The hotel is made up of 'Nelson's' pub, the hotel retaurant, the lovely spa and conference facilities. We spent a lot of time in the beautiful gardens and enjoying the Roman style swimming pool and leisure facilities.

The staff were friendly and very helpful, the food was excellent and the rooms were well equipted, clean and comfortable. We didn't get the chance to enjoy any spa treatments but were very kindly shown around the relaxation rooms by the spa staff and will certainly be returning for treatments in the future.

Lovely hotel and spa, would recommend for short leisure stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

we came to one of the cooking events at this hotel,And had a very nice experience. As other people have stated,rooms are very nice but other areas in the hotel are looking a little on the tired side, looking out onto big holes full of steel work wasn't overly nice,but there were nice views if you looked past them.......we will come again as all the staff we encountered were helpfull and very friendly....would like more info about up and comming events as we have many friend who would like to join us....chef myers was exceptional in all aspects food superb and also his one on one contact after the event...all in all a very nice evening.x

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianmould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Stayed at this hotel early march the hotel is clean comfortable and has a good spa/gym attached. Food was average breakfast was buffet style no frills but adequate we ate in Nelson's bar in the evenings good but not outstanding and not cheap..
Room was cleaned daily but let down by the fact bath robes were removed and complimentary water not replaced daily in an executive room?
Now the disappointing bit we paid extra for an executive room and were placed in the nosiest place we have ever stayed do not accepted a room in the conservatory area No's 42-46 there is a tiled floor and every high heel echoes along with the early morning laundry carts. Smokers gather here also and chat again echoing around the room and you will hear it all. We had to wear earplugs to sleep at night. Reception said they couldn't move us as they were fully booked.
In our opinion not a bad hotel not 4 star more a 3 star but the noise disappointed us and its not cheap to stay cheap. Would stay here again but would insist on a quiet room.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonNW, Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2011

We are very sorry to hear that you experienced a few issues during your recent stay with us. We would like to apologise for the noise disturbance which you could hear from your bedroom. I can inform you that the laundry carts are no longer wheeled through the conservatory, this was only a temporary measure and an alternative route has been in place since mid March in order to eliminate disruption to our guests. We are very shocked to learn that you could hear smokers chatting in the conservatory as it is illegal to smoke indoors. We have never before had this issue brought to our attention and are sure that most people would not break the law by smoking indoors. Of course if we were made aware of this situation at the time we would have put an immediate stop to it.
We are sorry if you were not impressed with the food served in Nelson's Bar, it is our aim to serve good wholesome bar food in a cosy and informal atmosphere and we normally receive very positive feedback. With lite bites from £5.95 and main courses from £7.50 we believe our menu in Nelson's Bar to be good value for money. We do also offer an alternative, Ciro's Brasserie, where we serve a full a la carte menu featuring a selection of modern European cuisine. All of our food, in both the restaurant and the bar, is homemade using fresh, seasonal and local produce.
We would like to apologise that your bathrobes were removed and water not replaced in your bedroom, I can only assume that this was a mistake on our behalf as this is not standard procedure.
We are disappointed that you do not believe our hotel to be of a four star standard, I am proud to inform you however that we have been officially rated by both the AA and Visit Britain, who visited recently, as a four star hotel.
We are pleased to hear that the issues you experienced would not deter you from staying with us again and we hope that we are able to impress you with our usual high standards on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and found it to be excellent for a relaxing break. From check-in the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We had upgraded to an executive room which was in the attic which was comfortable and quiet, away from the function room which was good as there was a wedding on. The bathroom was lovely although some of the decor in the room was a little tired.
The hotel is in a good location for public transport into Chester, the bus runs from just outside the hotel and takes 15 minutes in to the city centre and they run about every 12 minutes.
We ate both nights in Nelsons bar, on the Saturday it was necessary to book a table but it was much quieter on the Sunday. Both nights we found the food and serve to be good, with the bar having a nice relaxed feel to it. The brassiere restaurant looked lovely at the night all lit up but we will happy with something a bit more informal. Drinks prices in the bar were a little pricey but what you would expect with a hotel bar.
The pool area of the hotel is lovely and didn’t get too busy. We had a spa day on the Sunday which we found to be excellent, the spa is gorgeous with lovely facilities and the lunch provided was excellent.
Breakfast both mornings was good, buffet style but the food especially the hot food was topped up continuously.
We wanted a quiet relaxing break and that is just what we got. An excellent hotel to get away from it all and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SamM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford as a 2 day mid week break, we had an excellent time, staff really nice and helpful, fantastic pool and leisure facilities. We used the bus service to get to Chester, very good service under £7.00 return, excellent if like us you wanted a meal/ drink outside the hotel. We had dinner in cairo's on Friday evening , food excellent and good value for money. Breakfast was equally as good but the staff are quite slow or unable to cope? we waited more than 10 minutes before we had to ask for coffee. We asked for poached eggs, i managed to get one but my husbands never arrived, breakfast on the hot plate very good. Room small but fine very clean no noise at night. We had a very relaxing stay at he hotel and would go back as its only an hour from home. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
2,534 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 45 in Chester
1,747 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
6.3 mi away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
4,213 reviews
4.8 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $100 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing