We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice experience,will return.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Wem, United Kingdom
1 review
“very nice experience,will return.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

we came to one of the cooking events at this hotel,And had a very nice experience. As other people have stated,rooms are very nice but other areas in the hotel are looking a little on the tired side, looking out onto big holes full of steel work wasn't overly nice,but there were nice views if you looked past them.......we will come again as all the staff we encountered were helpfull and very friendly....would like more info about up and comming events as we have many friend who would like to join us....chef myers was exceptional in all aspects food superb and also his one on one contact after the event...all in all a very nice evening.x

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    410
    133
    45
    28
See reviews for
265
818
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

Stayed at this hotel early march the hotel is clean comfortable and has a good spa/gym attached. Food was average breakfast was buffet style no frills but adequate we ate in Nelson's bar in the evenings good but not outstanding and not cheap..
Room was cleaned daily but let down by the fact bath robes were removed and complimentary water not replaced daily in an executive room?
Now the disappointing bit we paid extra for an executive room and were placed in the nosiest place we have ever stayed do not accepted a room in the conservatory area No's 42-46 there is a tiled floor and every high heel echoes along with the early morning laundry carts. Smokers gather here also and chat again echoing around the room and you will hear it all. We had to wear earplugs to sleep at night. Reception said they couldn't move us as they were fully booked.
In our opinion not a bad hotel not 4 star more a 3 star but the noise disappointed us and its not cheap to stay cheap. Would stay here again but would insist on a quiet room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NelsonNW, Manager at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced a few issues during your recent stay with us. We would like to apologise for the noise disturbance which you could hear from your bedroom. I can inform you that the laundry carts are no longer wheeled through the conservatory, this was only a temporary measure and an alternative route has been in place since mid March in order to eliminate disruption to our guests. We are very shocked to learn that you could hear smokers chatting in the conservatory as it is illegal to smoke indoors. We have never before had this issue brought to our attention and are sure that most people would not break the law by smoking indoors. Of course if we were made aware of this situation at the time we would have put an immediate stop to it.
We are sorry if you were not impressed with the food served in Nelson's Bar, it is our aim to serve good wholesome bar food in a cosy and informal atmosphere and we normally receive very positive feedback. With lite bites from £5.95 and main courses from £7.50 we believe our menu in Nelson's Bar to be good value for money. We do also offer an alternative, Ciro's Brasserie, where we serve a full a la carte menu featuring a selection of modern European cuisine. All of our food, in both the restaurant and the bar, is homemade using fresh, seasonal and local produce.
We would like to apologise that your bathrobes were removed and water not replaced in your bedroom, I can only assume that this was a mistake on our behalf as this is not standard procedure.
We are disappointed that you do not believe our hotel to be of a four star standard, I am proud to inform you however that we have been officially rated by both the AA and Visit Britain, who visited recently, as a four star hotel.
We are pleased to hear that the issues you experienced would not deter you from staying with us again and we hope that we are able to impress you with our usual high standards on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
235 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and found it to be excellent for a relaxing break. From check-in the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We had upgraded to an executive room which was in the attic which was comfortable and quiet, away from the function room which was good as there was a wedding on. The bathroom was lovely although some of the decor in the room was a little tired.
The hotel is in a good location for public transport into Chester, the bus runs from just outside the hotel and takes 15 minutes in to the city centre and they run about every 12 minutes.
We ate both nights in Nelsons bar, on the Saturday it was necessary to book a table but it was much quieter on the Sunday. Both nights we found the food and serve to be good, with the bar having a nice relaxed feel to it. The brassiere restaurant looked lovely at the night all lit up but we will happy with something a bit more informal. Drinks prices in the bar were a little pricey but what you would expect with a hotel bar.
The pool area of the hotel is lovely and didn’t get too busy. We had a spa day on the Sunday which we found to be excellent, the spa is gorgeous with lovely facilities and the lunch provided was excellent.
Breakfast both mornings was good, buffet style but the food especially the hot food was topped up continuously.
We wanted a quiet relaxing break and that is just what we got. An excellent hotel to get away from it all and we will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SamM2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed at the Grosvenor Pulford as a 2 day mid week break, we had an excellent time, staff really nice and helpful, fantastic pool and leisure facilities. We used the bus service to get to Chester, very good service under £7.00 return, excellent if like us you wanted a meal/ drink outside the hotel. We had dinner in cairo's on Friday evening , food excellent and good value for money. Breakfast was equally as good but the staff are quite slow or unable to cope? we waited more than 10 minutes before we had to ask for coffee. We asked for poached eggs, i managed to get one but my husbands never arrived, breakfast on the hot plate very good. Room small but fine very clean no noise at night. We had a very relaxing stay at he hotel and would go back as its only an hour from home. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonathan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

On first impressions, the hotel looks stunning from the road. Entering reception, you are greeted with an impressive but small foyer. Check in was smooth and quick. We were on the ground floor and our room was nice but small. It was clean though and well stocked with tea/coffee and toiletries. We looked out to the courtyard, which was nice with the waterfall but would be nicer if we didnt have to look and listen to the smokers out there. Only other complaint was you could hear the people upstairs walking about. Gym/pool were good, only problem was walking back through the Brasserie to get back to room, carrying wet swimwear when people are sitting down to afternoon tea. We ate in the Brasserie on Friday night and the food was excellent. Breakfast on both days was good as well, plenty of choice and food made to order if you wanted. Overall, it was a lovely stay but I dont think its 4 star anymore, little tired in areas and could do with some TLC.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fisher2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2011

Stayed in this hotel with business colleagues for a week. What a lovely hotel in a lovely setting,with lovely staff. The Maitre D' is exceptional and made our meals in the Grosvenor Suite a delight.
The breakfast offered a good choice. Restaurant meals we had were on set menus and after a week a bit repetitive but nothing wrong with quality. Bedrooms were of varied sizes, shapes and layouts, and were well stocked with toiletries and coffee/tea . Spa/Pool area was fabulous. Bar areas were friendly and lots of comfy seats. No complaints, and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abuela32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Booked for a romantic valentine weekend with Sunday carvery and valentine's dinner on Monday evening.
Arrived an hour early but told room wasn't available due to late checkouts, which was fair enough.
So had a bite to eat in Nelson's bar which was good.
Went back to reception at 2pm and we were given room 46.......on first impressions the room was clean and comfortable. No view as such , only a grass bank at rear and neighbouring houses, still it was acceptable.
Having spent an hour in room 46 we soon became aware of noise levels from the occupants in the rooms above and even more so from the large conservatory which fronts rooms 42 - 46.
At 6 a.m each morning the laundry trolley was pushed over the tiled conservatory floor...what a wake up call !!
Food - evening meals were good. Breakfast was a let down due staff not keeping up with demand.
Checkout - told staff about noise levels only to be told they had heard it all before! To top that they tried to charge us over £100 extra on our bill, most of which appears to have come from another customer using our room number, so always check your bill closely.

After staying in some great hotels recently we got the feeling from this hotel it is unsure about its true identity....is it a sports bar?.... a country pub serving meals? ..a fitness club?.... or a hotel?......all too mixed up and abit of a let down.

The Kasia spa treatments and staff were excellent though, well done to them!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
5.2 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
4.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#8 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
4.8 mi away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing