We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chatwins

Chatwins
Ranked #1 of 3 Bakeries in Chester
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Estblished in 1913, this family Bakers have been serving the people of South Cheshire with award winning Bakery products for over 100 years.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Friendly and enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

On a recent visit to Chester I popped into Chatwins with the family. The service was quick and efficient,the menu is standard of most tea rooms with helpful staff. The quality and value was good. Definitely worth popping in if in Chester.

Helpful?
Thank CarolCorless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    43
    34
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

We call in here when shopping in Chester.The staff are always friendly and the doorstep slices of hot buttered toast are ideal to fill a gap mid-morning.The only gripe I have is the stairs to the tearoom,if you have mobility problems you will struggle.Having said that it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rono53354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“fantastic customer service !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited Chatwins Tea Rooms this morning 29-09-2013 and we had a very warm welcome from Paula. We always come here when we're in Chester .Paula makes us feel liked valued customers,as she is so friendly and nothing is too ever much trouble .We look forward to returning soon .Thanks again Paula well done!!!! X

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 83juditha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovley wee place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited the tearooms for a cup of coffee in the first instance but after seeing all the lovely cakes we had to give in and have one with our coffee, we had a Danish Pastry each - they were big! and yummy! on way out we had to pass the bakers shelves and bought even more to take home. Staff were very friendly and we will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 784didi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“How Tearooms should be...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I visited these tearooms mid-morning with friends, on a cool, damp day. The greeting was however warm and friendly. The service was prompt and the food excellent. Try the toasted fruit loaf. The only problem is that the tearooms are above a bakery. Therefore getting out without succumbing to the massed ranks of cakes on display is difficult!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xraydiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatwins also viewed

Ruthin, Denbighshire
Llangollen, Denbighshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Chatwins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing