We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch”
Review of Bouchon - CLOSED

Bouchon
Price range: $28 - $46
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

went to this restaurant with some family members who were visiting chester, the food was great and for the price we paid we were not disappointed in the slightest and great service to match the food! will certainly be back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    31
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We usually visit different cities for our wedding anniversary and we always search out a French restaurant as there isn't one near where we live and it's our favourite food. This restaurant did not disappoint. The food was excellent, well presented and the service was great. We did not feel rushed (although the restaurant was quiet) and would certainly return if we visit Chester again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val777EastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rustic French fare”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Good on balance. Service seemed a bit rushed on Saturday night. The waiter bumped into the table and splashed water on me all through too much haste. The waiter also served us a different wine to that which we had ordered with no discussion. When queried he said that the other one was sold out - you would expect to be told before it was opened and poured!

The French onion soup was tasty and my lamb rump was ok. My husband had an excellent beetroot risotto best item on the menu I suspect. Chocolate fondant was a little overdone. Meal + wine just under £100. A little pricey for what it was.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M3motor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited Bouchon for lunch when we were spending a few hours in Chester. We had seen it recommended on Tripadvisor and we were certainly not disappointed.
Our starters were the goat cheese salad - gorgeous beetroot purée!- and trout quenelle. Both had delicious flavours and interesting ingredients.
Our main courses were a steak - cooked to perfection- and rolled cod fillet with a puréed mussel sauce and parsley.
Desserts were also lovely, a rum baba and apple tart.
We thought at £17.95 a head this was superb value. Would recommend Bouchon to anyone looking for a delicious meal with friendly, unobtrusive service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hutchy68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I wouldn't really have thought of Chester as a foodie destination, but this restaurant was a real find. Classic French food done very well. Service was impeccable, the wine list comprehensive without being overpriced, and the surroundings lively and bustling but still intimate. Between two of us we had affair crack at the menu and everything was superb.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchon also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing