We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best curry in Chester”

Hoole Indian Takeaway and Restaurant
Ranked #168 of 554 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best curry in Chester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Normally get a take out from here and it's always great, fast delivery and really good food. Once they forgot part of the order, but brought it straight out as soon as we called them. Tasty, friendly and great prices

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SophBendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    38
    15
    20
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Where has the love and passion of cooking gone? If you are showcasing "Hoole Indian Takeaway and Restaurant is one of Chester's premier Indian food establishment" and you advertise it's "Authentic Indian cuisine" it is disappointing it's neither premier nor authentic. The curries came out looking almost the same although we ordered a korrai lamb and a chicken jalfrezi, they were both too sweet with poor cuts of meat and chicken. And the thing that let us down the most is the lack of customer service, especially once we had eaten, we felt we were given our marching orders, they just wanted us to pay and leave. Not a very nice experience at all.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rubyleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very flavourful food, nice ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our second visit to this local restaurant, and we were not disappointed. The food is spicy but more importantly full of flavour. I started with the fish tikka, which is absolutely delicious, and then the Jeera chicken, which as promised was loaded with cumin. Billed as medium, it was indeed medium and just right for me, whilst my husband went for the Rezala chicken, which was as promised nice and hot!

The ambience is modern and pleasant, and the service is friendly and efficient. With a trendy new bar opened nearly opposite, this restaurant very much contributes to Hoole's new atmosphere, labelled "Notting Hoole"!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
231 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very tastefull Indian restaurant, great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Travelled for business trip to Chester and had dinner here with colleague. We had papadams for starter and they had a lot of choice for mains courses. Together with two soda waters for almost 30 pounds. Staff was very friendly and helpful! Restaurant is cosy and very small but nice, on Monday evening they didn't had any other customers but their takeaway was going well!

It's always good to have great Indian meal after work and they absolutely didn't disappoint us. Great, keep up the job!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjors80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited at around 9pm on a Friday night without a reservation. Restaurant was fairly busy with a pleasant atmosphere. The menu has all of the usual favourites but with some interesting specials. We both had lamb; a biriyani and a special, methi gosht with a couple of chapatis. The food was delicious with subtle spices and fragrances. With 2 pints of Cobra the bill came to £34. There are cheaper places but I'd be surprised if you found match the quality. Good local Indian restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank GotToGetOutThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoole Indian Takeaway and Restaurant also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Hoole Indian Takeaway and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing