We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
$100
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$75
$63
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$94
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ABode Chester(Chester)
$94
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Chester House Guest House(Chester)(Great Value!)
$86
$76
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$91
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,672)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveler rating
404
569
395
194
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
404
569
395
194
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridehealth clubleisure facilitiesevening mealbar pricesbreakfast was buffet stylecity centresteam roomcheshire oaksboth nightstea and coffeetwo night stayenjoyable staystayed here for one nightweekend breakyogurtcanal
Filter
Updating list...
996 - 1,001 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

There are many positives with this hotel, proximity to Chester, transport links, the leisure centre.
However, the downsides are, don't expect much of a view from your room. The room we had (Room 127) was average in size, and and was reasonably well equipped. Had expected more of a view, which was a 30ft high grey wall. Also repeated problems with key cards failing. Overall, a good hotel, but could be better.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part of a hen weekend. Hotel great location to city centre and free parking is plentiful. Room very nice with lots of good freebies (face mask, hand cream, mini deodorant etc) breakfast was £10 extra and we opted out of that!

I had a swim the morning after, and though the spa was free for guests it was very tired looking. The pool though was lovely and warm!

We paid £100 a room which i thought was a little pricey!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfiethetortoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel and hopefully look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice. Could do with a clean in some places and the corridors were rather creaky. But overall we stayed for 1 night and was enjoyed. My issue with this hotel is that after a week I am still waiting on my deposit to be returned. After contacting the hotel on several occasions I am still waiting on a call back. Lets see if this happens today. I would not stay again because of this. There are plenty of hotels that are willing to return MY money when I come to leave. Not a happy customer.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. At the Mercure Chester (and in most hotels) we always offer to take a pre authorisation of a payment card to guarantee any extras you wish to charge to your room and upon checking out we then release the monies back to your bank, this can then take between 3-7 working days to clear. If you are still having problems with this please don’t hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed here the night before a race meeting as a last minute change to our plans. It's nothing flash and to be honest the rooms and corridors are a little tired BUT for the price you pay it's spotless. We ate there that night and the food was very nice. Staff are friendly and very helpful. I've rated it very good because I thought average was a bit harsh. Can't complain for the price we paid at all.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DonnaSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at the hotel.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel was very clean, great food and very helpful staff. Location was great, just a few yards from the park and ride, yes it would be better to be based in Chester but at more expense! A pub just 10 mins walk was good for food/drinks. Bed was very comfortable although we did find the room was very hot! And as mentioned in other reviews the floor did creak a bit but overall we had a great time and would stay again if an offer came at the right price.

Room Tip: Ground floor room may be better due to creaky floor boards
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
2  Thank Philb363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at the hotel. As a hotel, we will always strive to give value for money. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews