We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$149
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chester Court(Chester)
$114
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Oddfellows(Chester)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$54
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,657)
Filter reviews
1,657 results
Traveler rating
403
563
391
191
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
563
391
191
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridehealth clubleisure facilitiesevening mealbar pricesbreakfast was buffet stylecity centresteam roomcheshire oaksboth nightstea and coffeetwo night stayenjoyable staystayed here for one nightweekend breakyogurtcanal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
985 - 990 of 1,657 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel was very clean, great food and very helpful staff. Location was great, just a few yards from the park and ride, yes it would be better to be based in Chester but at more expense! A pub just 10 mins walk was good for food/drinks. Bed was very comfortable although we did find the room was very hot! And as mentioned in other reviews the floor did creak a bit but overall we had a great time and would stay again if an offer came at the right price.

Room Tip: Ground floor room may be better due to creaky floor boards
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
2  Thank Philb363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at the hotel. As a hotel, we will always strive to give value for money. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here for one night before moving onto Scotland. The hotel was adequate and met our needs. The hotel is laid out in such a way that depending on where your room is located, you may have some walking to do. Our room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at the hotel. We do hope that you stay again soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good for what we wanted - location near Chester Zoo where we were attending a wedding.
Given the location (not city centre), I was a little surprised rooms weren't a bit larger. Nevertheless they were well furnished and more than adequate.

Staff could do with a bit of cheering up, reception were not very welcoming, likewise for breakfast which seemed a bit mad-cap and dis-organised. Nobody came to offer us a hot drink and a lot of the food was taken as soon as it was put on the buffet. Maybe more service stations needed at the weekend.

On check-out the receptionist presented me with a full bill, when the room had already been pre-paid, including a charge for 2 newspapers, which we hadn't ordered. Whilst this was relatively quickly dealt with it again wasn't 'service with a smile' that you'd expect in a 4 star hotel.

Would stay again if we needed to be in the area, but would consider other options as well for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank JenD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review regarding your stay at the hotel. I do apologise for the discrepancies with your bill although we quickly rectified the situation.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have just returned from a three night break and have nothing but excellent things to say. Friendly staff to great you. Lovely clean room with the biggest bed I ever slept in, bathroom nice size, with very hot water all the time. Bathrobes and slippers as an extra touch. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was beautiful and again excellent service. Breakfast was self service with plenty of choice of cereals and cooked items. The leisure facilities are very good, pool a nice warm temperature. Two minute walk from hotel is the park and ride and £2 return it takes you in to Chester, cheaper and less hassle than driving. We are looking forward to returning here later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay at the hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I recently organised a works dinner and dance with live band and characaturist at the Mercure. I cannot fault the help and support the staff offered on the run up to and at the event itself. The evening was great, the room looked lovely and everyone had a thoroughly good time, the feedback I've received from staff is extremely positive.

I also got married here 3 years ago and that was faultless too with so much of the stress and strain taken off the marital shoulders - would recommend to anyone. Very reasonable price too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChester, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review regarding your recent function and stay at the hotel, we are so pleased it went so well and look forward to holding more events at the hotel soon.

Regards

Chris Hull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews