We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Chester
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will never stay here again.”
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

we arrived here for a 2 night stay. We were given a room on the 2nd floor (222). As soon as i walked in i nearly fainted with the heat. i had to walk out whilst my husband put the fan on and opened the door to let some air in. The windows were wide open but no air in the room. It was like a sauna for the whole of our stay and we heard lots of guests complaining. There was dust all over the furniture and a chair in the room that looked like it had been picked up from a skip! The toilet would not flush properly either. There wasn't much light coming into the room so we had to keep the lights on even during the day! The bathroom was also really really dark and there were cracks in the ceiling. Good luck if you plan on staying here in the summer, you certainly won't need to use the sauna, just sit in the room! This hotel needs air conditioning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay due primarily to the heat in the hotel and I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for this. To counter this we are in the process of installing air conditioning in some of our bedrooms, which will agree will be a great benefit to future guests.

Once the air conditioning is installed I would hope that we could have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    508
    339
    157
    94
See reviews for
241
755
35
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice hotel, good value for money. Very friendly and helpful lady on reception. Rooms nice. Walking distance to Chester Bus and Ride which is a handy way of getting to Chester as parking is the city centre is expensive and difficult. Breakfast a help yourself buffet which was good. Swimming pool very good. Didn't have dinner. Wifi worked fine in lounge area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The whole weekend was superb! Staff, rooms, food ambience could not be faulted in any way.
It was a special occasion, & the staff could not have done more to make this a weekend to remember.
They accommodated our every need, & we will definitely be using this hotel for future events

Room Tip: Several rooms were booked & they were all as good as each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonnesquance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your summer ball with us. Please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed for two nights on a Mercure break offer which worked out to be pretty good value for money, two nights room & breakfast with dinner on first night. The restaurent and dinner was fairly good, nothing gourmet but quite reasonable quality and service. Better than The Ring O Bells up the road, see separate review.
Staff helpful and friendly. Room comfy with all amenities but small bathroom and hot as no aircon. Room looked out over car park and the local busy road network so could not have window open to get some fresh air. Great location for exploring Chester as just up the road from the Park and Ride which makes life so very easy to get in and out of town centre. Great walk around the city walls, highly recommended. Breakfast ok but little fresh fruit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed for two nights in room 135 on possibly one of the hotels busiest weekends with the Chester races on as well as a dinner and dance on the Saturday evening, we used the lovely jacuzzi, pool and sauna and had a very nice meal in the Arts restaurant which I would definitely recommend but....and the big but is unfortunately I cannot recommend this hotel for the quality of sleep I suffered from. Noise pollution in the room was high, we could hear people walking up and down the corridors and bedroom doors slamming as the soft closing mechanisms seemed to be non existent, we could hear a tv on all Friday night and somebody in a room near to us snoring very loudly. I also found the mattresses extremely hard and very noisy which on a romantic tryst is not exactly condusive to marital relations.... However the response from reception was very good and when I mentioned on the Saturday morning how uncomfortable my sleep was they did try to remedy the situation with a mattress topper and neither is it it is the fault of the hotel that they had either a heavy snorer or somebody that required a telly on all night. My gripe was with the constantly banging bedroom doors, the quality of the six month old matresses( I found this out on check out) and the general tiredness of the room itself - bathroom was very nice in comparison and the rooms themselves were spacious and airy - also I tend to sleep on the edge of the bed facing outwards and the duvet only hangs about four inches over the side which meant a constant tussle with the other half to gain some covers. Plus points are the food, especially the £20.12 meal deal, the breakfasts ( very tasty), the way our complaints were dealt with- very professional and genuine, the pool and it's location, But I would recommend taking ear plugs to block excess noises and if you like a softer better quality matress try Premier Inns.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

Please accept my sincere apologies about the condition of your mattress and the noise you experienced during the night. We are in discussions with representatives of the owners regarding long term capital investment and I hope that we will soon be able to start addressing some of the issues that you have highlighted in terms of noise and bed comfort.

I was however delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and service from the team in the restaurant and also the way in which your concerns were dealt with by reception. Please be assured that I will pass your comments onto the team, I know that they will all be delighted to hear your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on 24th May for my girlfriends 21st, could not have asked for anything more. The rooms were very clean, good set out and really comfy beds. Great location with a nice walk down the canal to Chester City Centre. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful. Two in particular that stood out was Gary behind reception and Laura behind the bar. 100% recommend this hotel.
Christian

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iconis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto Gary, Laura and the rest of the team, I know that they will all be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We have just stayed for 2 nights in the Mercure and was very impressed with the friendliness of all the staff, the manager should be very proud of his team. It is the first time we have stayed in Chester and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful city. Our short break was very enjoyable and staying at the Mercure made it even better. The food is very good, the atmosphere is brilliant and the location is perfect. If I did want to critise anything the rooms are slightly dated but clean so that it the main thing. Will look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMercureChesterEast, General Manager at Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor

Thank you for your recent review of the Mercure Chester East Hotel on Tripadvisor.com

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be assured that I will pass your kind comments onto the team, I know that they will be delighted to read your feedback.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely

James Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
5.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel

Property: Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel
Address: Whitchurch Road | Christleton, Chester CH3 5QL, England (Formerly Ramada Jarvis Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chester
#12 Business Hotel in Chester
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel in spacious grounds located in quiet suburb overlooking famous Abbots Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Chester
Chester Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing