We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,361)
Filter reviews
1,360 results
Traveler rating
343
544
295
97
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
544
295
97
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspark and ridebusiness parkswimming poolexecutive roomchanging roomshealth clubbar areasofa bedfamily roomreception staffbar priceswould stay againcity centreevening mealleisure facilitiesminute drivebuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 1,360 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017

Very expensive, hotel not clean and dated both inside and out, bad location. Restaurant was also not clean (3 dead spiders on window sill behind us!) and food was disgusting. Couldn't eat most of meal, meat was tasteless, probably defrosted cheap stuff, but cost £45 for two.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ek75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear ek75
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I would be most grateful if you could contact me directly at our hotel so that I may discuss the issues you raised further with you.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Chester South for our wedding anniversary weekend and Chester Races.
On arrival we did not have the wow factor. The outside looked like an old holiday camp.
Pleasantly surprised at how modern the inside was.
Greeted by a lovely lady who reminded us about registering our car (£100 fine if you don't).
Our room was lovely, clean and modern. The staff had left us a bottle of wine and card. Really nice touch.
Evening meal was three courses.
Generous portions and presented lovely.
Staff in restaurant really nice. Couldn't do enough for us.
Man who looks after bar very helpful too.
Breakfast was huge. Everyone catered for.
Would really recommend this hotel to couples and friends going to the races, but not wanting to stay in centre.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Donna H
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary bottle of wine from us to celebrate your anniversary and that our team delivered excellent service to you and your husband.
We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a we were visiting the zoo and wanted to put our head down before heading back to Scotland. The room was clean but basic, the bathroom looked newly refurbished, it was only about 10 minutes from the zoo and £6 in a taxi to Chester centre, so it was perfect for us!
What I would say is the door to the room wasn't very secure and you could hear a lot of noise from the hall and the room above us.
If you're looking for luxury and are offended with slightly overlapping wallpaper etc then it's not for you.. If you are looking for somewhere cheap to put your head down for a night, go for it.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lsa06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Dear Lsa06
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your candid feedback, we appreciate all comments from our valued guests.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

10+
Great staff, excellent location.
It looks a bit dated from outside. What a surprise when entering.
Very nice.
Absolutely 100% of the staff are brilliant. They actually go out of their way to help, a very refreshing change from the norm.
Breakfast is good and worth the £10.
As for the location, for our visit it was perfect, close enough to town for a taxi, or just as easy to drive as parking in Chester is abundant and easy.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank roberteC4611HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear roberteC4611HG
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and it was lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and that our team did their utmost to ensure your stay met your expectations.
We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile

Our room was very spacious nice view out the window. However very noisy place you can here people above walking about doors banging all the time. Shower nice but can't see a thing after for steam, everything soaking in bathroom. Cleaners left our door open when finished, not really surprised because you have to really bang the door for it to close proper. In did complain and was discounted for it, but sadly won't be back as we didn't sleep very well.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank alexpatience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneMarieHICS, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2017

Dear alexpatience44
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations but was glad to hear that you did mention this prior to your departure, thus giving our team the opportunity to compensate you for the inconvenience caused.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews