We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

nice hotel ,restaurant food good but slow service,one girl working very hard while higher members of staff talked at the till,good breakfast,room fair hotel overall needs updating, staff nice,location of hotel good for the motorways ,good car park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear ndstewart,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I sincerely apologise for speed of service you experienced during your evening meal, and we will ensure that adequate staffing levels are maintained in the restaurant..

Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    425
    223
    75
    60
See reviews for
276
340
35
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Not the best looking hotel inside and out but rooms are fairly large and spotless. staff are excellent and always really helpful. Restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was spot on and not bad value. hotel is ideal if you are visiting the business park but a bit far out for city center

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear briff,

Thank you for your five star review and the positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I know that there's always a 'premium' on New Year's Eve meals out, but £55 per person is too much to pay for (what turned out to be) a fairly ordinary 3 course meal without drinks (other than water). The worst part was having to wait for the main course and then having to queue up to serve yourself. For that sort of price, you should be served by a waiter. Of course, the management may well defend themselves by saying that the price included 'entertainment', but in fact that amounted to little more than a cracker, a party hat and a 'disco' which was apparently to be set up after everyone had finished eating (but we didn't bother to wait to find out, having been disappointed by the quality of the food). The waiters and waitresses did do their cheerful best, but overall, I didn't think the event was good value. I didn't think the breakfasts (at over £10 per person) were particularly good value, either. The room we stayed in was fine; very well furnished and decorated (apart from a few relatively minor problems). However, there was an absence of free Wi-Fi, the mobile phone signal was virtually non-existent and the TV seemed to be frequently 'on the blink'. I think the management needs to take a good hard look at the services they are offering and ask themselves whether they are really providing good value for money. I wouldn't want to go to the next New Year's Eve party/meal (unless the management radically change what was on offer this last time round).

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, away from busy roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 85Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear 85Dave,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I sincerely apologise for the challenges you have encountered during your visit. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you.

Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organisation, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is not one of the newest additions, by which I mean the decor is somewhat aging. Notwithstanding this, the hotel was clean, the bathroom was spotless. The grouting had seen better days and the shower leaked, but there were plenty of towels provided, so it wasn't too much of an issue.

This was a good deal, so you have to look at this place as value for money. You get what you pay for - a decent 3 star hotel. The breakfast was standard of all Holiday Inns. Not a bad stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Solekka,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and we delighted your enjoyed the Holiday Inn selection.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this through late rooms only a few weeks before our stay so it was good value!!! The staff were very family friendly!! Mark who worked in the lounge bar deserves a mention - nothing was too much trouble and he spent time chatting to us and the children. Some parts of the hotel are looking a bit dated including the pool and our hotel room but everywhere was spotlessly clean so you can look past an old fashioned dressing table for cleanliness and comfort. We ate in the bar for our evening meal and the food was very nice- just a couple of things to note the children's menu is small portions, so when our 8 year old son ordered pizza he was quite disappointed with what came!!! Also just beware that they automatically add a service charge to your bill and although the "kids ate free" the service charge was for the full price of what the bill would have been. I am more than happy to tip if the food and service has been good but I would like tiO choose what I give not have it automatically added on (my only grumble) other than that I would recommend and would stay again!!!

.

Room Tip: The family rooms were very spacious and even though it said 2 sofa beds they had very good wooden si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Kelly R,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

Kids eat Free menu items are available in both our Bar and Restaurant, and we will work on the portion size.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

It was good to be away from the city centre, but a lot of traffic noise from nearby A 55. It was ideally placed for visiting relatives beyond Wrexham, being on the Wrexham road. All staff were very pleasant and helpful. It was rather a long way to my room, carrying a case, but I had asked for a room with a view and I was put in one which looked out on lawn, trees, hedges and field. Also it was good to be away from any noise in the bar. The breakfast was excellent, but the menu for evening food was not to my liking and quite expensive. A glass of wine was extremely expensive.

Room Tip: Try to keep away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Helen J,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

Our hotel is perfectly located for both Wrexham, Chester and the north of Wales.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Just come back from a 1 night stay and I have to say i'm glad i'm home.
Welcome and check in was good, hotel looks like something from the seventies, similar to Crossroads ! Locaton is ok for Chester but at the side of a busy road, so you do get some road noise but nothing too much.

Our room (110) was a standard room on the ground floor, the rooms are very typical chain hotel, basic but functional. They are somewhat tired around the edges but clean.

Within 5 minutes of taking off our coats we clearly had a "loving couple" next door ! after various screams and shouts things settled down....oh well....queue a 2nd round about 1 hour later.....jeez...well lets hope they are worn out be the time we get back from dinner...(whoever stayed in room 108, 29/12/13 I applaud your performance !)

2 hours later back in the room, things are quiet next door (thankfully) but we seem to have no inherited a herd of elephants above us !!....we stuck it out for an hour but it was truly dreadful, no way on earth you could sleep through it.

Thankfully a quick visit to reception saw us allocated a new room on the 2nd floor and very pleasingly an upgrade to an executive room. The second room was somewhat improved better décor and had fridge etc etc. unfortunately although much quieter still not quiet.

Breakfast was ok, reasonable selection but not the best spread ever encountered, usual chain hotel fare with the bonus of a pancake maker ! But at £5 a head added to room rate when booking it was good value..be warned to buy on site its £14.95...

There is no free Wi-Fi at this hotel.

After breakfast we thought we spend an hour or so just reading in our room but once again the noise, banging doors, running ?, deliveries etc......by 9am we packed up and left !!

Overall the staff are nice, exec rooms are good, standard ones tired but functional. However the overall noise levels we're dreadful and ruined the whole stay.

Never again Holiday inn South.

Room Tip: Choose an exec room on the upper floor to have any hope of a quiet time
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear wazza99,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for the noise challenges you have encountered during your visit. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,613 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
2.7 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,334 reviews
2.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing