We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Overnighter”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good Overnighter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Spent one night only at this Holiday Inn booking two rooms for one night. Stayed with elderly relatives on a very stormy UK night. Made very welcome by Reception staff and received a quick check in. Rooms good, normal standard, comfy, clean plenty of room and a much needed welcome tray of tea and coffee. Situation of hotel is very good as easy access to city centre and the motorway system. Pleasant evening spent in the bar. Breakfast exceptionally good, nothing too much trouble for all the staff. Loads of choices of fresh food. Overall a very good stay and if needing a resting place in Chester again with definitely choose this one.

Room Tip: Ground floor room was very good, quiet with easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Cutts,

Thank you for your five star review and the positive comments following your stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    413
    221
    75
    59
See reviews for
272
333
35
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a shopping weekend with my mum. Good hotel, nice rooms and good location out of town for easy access to Cheshire Oaks and Chester Central. Great breakfast and reasonably priced overall. TV channels in the room were limited as some were missing and no +1's which was abit disappointing as was no free wifi but didn't affect our stay and would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank carrie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Carrie 303,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South. Your comments regarding the Breakfast and our Helpful team are much appreciated.

Chester is a gem for shopping trips, and we delighted you enjoy the hotels location in relation to both Cheshire Oaks and Chester Central.

For your future reference, Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards members do currently receive Free Internet in Holiday Inn and from the 1st July 2014, all IHG Rewards Club members will receive Free Internet in all of IHG properties in Europe.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We booked a two-night break away to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The cost included full English breakfast both days and dinner on the first night. When we arrived, the hotel looked a little tired on the outside but once we got inside, the hotel was bright, spacious and the staff very welcoming. We had requested a quiet room and we found our room at the back of the hotel overlooking a green area. The room was large, spotlessly clean with a large bed, which turned out to be very comfortable, and a choice of pillows. I specifically liked the sliding wooden panels across the windows instead of curtains, which made the room nice and dark for sleep.

The bus stop to catch the bus into Chester City was just across the road from the hotel, with buses running every ten minutes, late into the night. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent with a good choice so we decided to eat in the hotel on the second night too instead of going out for our anniversary meal. However, the restaurant was fully booked until 9 pm but when the manager discovered that it was our anniversary, we were presented with a greetings card and a complimentary bottle of wine in our room. They also waived the room service charge so that we could eat our meal in our room instead of waiting for a place in the restaurant.

I cannot fault the hotel or its staff in any way as they went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. One slight problem was that the room was a little warm during the night as the temperature was fixed and we had to resort to opening the window which slightly defeated the object of having a quiet room as it let in a little noise from road traffic. However, I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend to anyone visiting Chester.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room as they are at the back of the hotel away from the busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Eileen K,

Thank you for your five star review and the positive comments following your Wedding Anniversary stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and we got a good price, if you get a promotion its ok.
The rooms are spacious with good beds and the hotel is easy to find. Also the room was also clean, cozy, comfortable and quiet and the staff at the reception was nice.
There are many places to diner nearby, is Ideal for shopping in the city.
Its a good option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Anthony L,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

First, I shall start with a tip: the hotel is a good few miles out of town; definitely a lengthy walk unless you are up for it. Get a taxi, they a numerous and reasonably priced. Approx £5.00 from hotel to town, one way. The reception will call one for you while you have a drink in the comfortable bar in the hotel. Note: get a phone number or a find the taxi office (ours was on bridge street) to order a return taxi as you can't just hail one.

The hotel itself although from the outside looks dated, the interior is modern. The rooms are clean and comfortable.

We stayed for dinner in the hotel which was ok, perhaps a little on the pricey side, but the food again was freshly cooked and very pleasant, and service was very friendly and quick.

I have only one problem about this hotel and that is the floor and walls are made from cardboard. I was on a ground floor room, and was aware that a coach party arrived late in the evening. The people occupying the room above must have been running laps around the room as incessant footsteps dragged long into the night, and began early in the morning! They must have been training for a marathon!

However, the stay was still pleasant. Staff were friendly. And the positives outweighed the negatives.

Room Tip: See if you can get an upstairs room as downstairs can be noisy. This is the reason for marking sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenosapien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Xenosapien,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South. Your comments regarding the our food quality and attentive service team members are much appreciated.

I sincerely apologise for the noise challenges you encountered during your visit. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed here on work business & after hearing that our colleagues were in a better hotel in the city centre we expecting to be disappointed! However we couldn't have been more wrong! The staff were all very polite, attentive & nothing was ever too much trouble! The rooms were clean, shower facilities were good and although very close to the motorway & dual carriage way, it was surprisingly quiet! The food was lovely, namely the rainbow trout & angus beef burger!
Only gripe was that all four of us were without mobile phone signal for 3 nights & internet was very expensive!
Overall a very pleasurable stay & well worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne-Mawle1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Leanne-Mawle

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South. Your comments regarding the quality of our food and our attentive team are much appreciated.

Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards members do currently receive Free Internet in Holiday Inn and from the 1st July 2014, all IHG Rewards Club members will receive Free Internet in all of IHG properties in Europe.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Had a very good stay at the holiday inn. Breakfast. Vas very good value. I think what let it down was the cost of the Internet. I did not pay . Would be nice to have Internet for free . Overall a very nice stay . Would recommend to any one . Staff very helpful

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul_J_Ferguson, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Steve T,

Thank you for your positive comments following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Chester South. Your comments regarding the Breakfast and our Helpful team are much appreciated.

Gold and Platinum IHG Rewards members do currently receive Free Internet in Holiday Inn and from the 1st July 2014, all IHG Rewards Club members will receive Free Internet in all of IHG properties in Europe.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Chester South in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing