We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“kids holidays perfect break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
chesterfield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“kids holidays perfect break”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Went in October half term stayed two nights. Family room had a double, a bed setter and a camp bed and we had enough space. We ate at hotel both nights in bar and food was excellent and kids eat free with adult meal. Staff friendly but busy busy weekend so they were full to bursting with families, couples and a fun hen do. We got the deal on superbreak site with zoo tickets thrown in which was a brilliant price. Breakfast buffet style and plentiful. Pool and Jacuzzi a lovely bonus for worn out mum - me!!! If I had to be picky, location is too far from Chester to walk, but we did find the park and ride bus stop within five min walk anyway. Bar prices high as you are trapped there. We jumped over the wall to the petrol station/shop next door for some cheaper wine but they don't sell it. However we weren't there to get drunk so it wasn't a great problem and the park and ride in Chester back to the hotel is outside a Tesco express so you could buy booze and drink in your room if you so desired. Would we go back? YEAH YEAH YEAH , plus the zoo was great but we picked the wettest day in October to visit with two tired kids so no matter how much my partner did johnny Morris voices., the kids could barely raise a smile. But don't let the negative reviews put you off a fantastic family weekend. Enjoy x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jelly2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    418
    222
    75
    59
See reviews for
274
336
35
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ideally situated for the motorway network and adjacent to the park and ride into Chester.
rooms small but well appointed and clean.
Bar meal was excellent and the service first class.
Price was very reasonable thanks to website offer. Would not have liked to pay full price of room at £140.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoldsWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights when we traveled to the area for a family wedding. The outside looks a little dated but inside looks nice enough. We had a nice room at the end of a corridor that was spacious. A good double bed with sofa bed which made for enough seats when other family came to say hi and talk about the weekends plans. A few points, freeview TV could have done with a few more channels on offer, lamp over bed needed new bulb, shower controls were not clear and heated towel rail was not connected. Buffet breakfast was good on both mornings and the meal we had there on one of the nights was very nice indeed. I took the opportunity to use the Spirit health club on both mornings and i enjoyed this, gym looked like a good size but I did not use as i only had swimming shorts. Nice size pool for the hotel and sauna was also very nice. A hen party checked in at the same time as us but have to say hotel was very quiet and staff helpful. Would stay here again as we enjoyed this stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stay here while on business in Chester, it is pretty tricky to get to if you don't drive but there's a large free car park available if you do, a taxi to here costs around £7 from Chester train station, it's a no frills holiday inn, situated next to chester business park so ideal if you are there on business, unfortunately internet is not included in the price but is a must if you need internet connection as neither of my 3 or vodafone dongles have ever managed to pick up a signal for more than a couple of minutes, it's a couple of miles from the centre of Chester so not the best location if your a tourist, though as it's one of the cheapest hotels in Chester the extra effort to get into the city may be worth it if your on a budget. The rooms are spacious I have been upgraded the last 2 times I've been there, a little dated but have everything required, early check in is available if you phone in advance usually at no extra cost. The staff are hit and miss the one lady behind the bar is always very chatty but overall the rest of the staff just answer any questions you ask them and that's it, there is a nice restaurant on the second floor for an evening meal if you don't want to head out for dinner, pretty reasonable prices to. Overall decent business hotel that caters to everything you'll need.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettysweetgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Roxanne E,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry, we fell below your expectation regarding the internet connection and poor customer service. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretty village, north yokshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Fab breakfast as ever at Holiday Inns - when the offers are right we always take the B&B option. We have a Tastecard (50% off) so took advantage of the restaurant - like the current menu, glad it hadn't changed yet. Spotless room which we toasted in very nicely as we forgot to turn the radiator down one teatime. Beds OK - but normally have much better in Holiday Inns. Travelled with a 5 year old - but left a 15 year old with Granma. Glad we did as the family rooms not as spacious as other Holiday Inns. Pool/Sauna/Spa very clean - although it is dated. Shame there's not a poolside sauna or steam room to share with my male family - but the ladies sauna is one of the best and apparently so is the mens. Reception & restaurant staff always pleasant day & night. Chain hotel - know what you're getting and it's good. Would return on the right deal! This is the first Holiday Inn that had childrens times for the pool - but there was not advert to check the times. Spa staff allowed us in after their 8pm deadline as it was quiet. We usually swim at Holiday inns at 9pm as they close at 10pm. Went earlier on the second day & changed our tourist plans ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mad-anna69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wonderful in every way. Great value for money, friendly staff throughout, clean, quiet and comfortable room and well equipped health centre/pool. We found the room warm and inviting even though the weather was freezing (Unexpected considering previous reviews). The breakfast was regularly replenished ensuring it was always fresh, hot and plentiful. Reception, housekeeping, health centre and breakfast staff were all very pleasant, informative and helpful. We didn't use the restaurant for our evening meal in an effort to keep costs to a minimum and as always with hotels it was quite pricey.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here on 14th February and this was our third stay. My wife is disabled so we were allocated a ground floor room - I requested this by e-mail a few days before, however since our last stay a lift had been installed which takes you directly to the restaurant. Booking in was really pleasant again and everything explained with a nice warm smile. The room and bathroom were spacious, really clean and well kept. We always purchase the internet and movies at a cost of £28.00, which is very reasonable for 24hrs. We took food in our room and it was delicious with excellent service. The breakfast was also really nice despite us turning up in the last 15mins. I made use of the swimming pool and enjoyed a good 30min swim. I visited the bar for a 'couple' and the duty staff could not have been more helpful. All in all a really nice stay and the staff excellent.

Room Tip: If you or your wife/partner are disabled then you are really well catered for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildbillw766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing