We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by minor aspects.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Let down by minor aspects.”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Reception staff were welcoming and efficient. The room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was buffet style but the food was replenished regularly and the waiting staff were friendly and helpful. The dining room however cannot cope with the numbers of diners and queuing for a table takes the edge off the eating experience. We did have an evening meal which was overpriced. Fish and chips at £12+ (small portion) and fish pie at £13+ which was cooked in a dessert dish and was 70% potato and 30% fish. Just not acceptable. The waiting staff provided efficient service. Last gripe was that the shower mechanism was broken in the bathroom and the shower would not function. The switching knob on the top of the tap fitting was missing and surely the cleaning staff must have been aware of this?

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FinesseFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    418
    222
    75
    59
See reviews for
274
336
35
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in Oct 12 and overall the hotel was very satisfactory. Staff friendly and welcoming and helpful when we asked about getting around locally. Breakfasts were good but we ate other meals out so can't comment on any other aspects of the restaurant. Rooms are good sized, beds comfortable and things worked ok. Only downside was that we reckoned they need to be a bit more vigilant on the cleaning - we'd a chip and some sweet papers lying on the floor adjacent to the bedside cabinets. Hotel is well placed for Chester and there's easy access via the local bus which runs every 10 mins in peak times. Also within very easy motorway access.Overall - an enjoyable stay and we'd return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMY71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice friendly staff, room was clean and comfortable. Couldn't believe the size of the bed, massive. Yes some parts of the hotel arelooking a bit dated but generally speaking this hotel is fine. One little gripe, the plastic flowers outside are very tacky.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The saying "Don't judge a book by it's cover" is very apt for this Hotel, because once you enter it is a very welcoming sight. Hotel Staff are Excellent, nothing is too much trouble, and the food is piping hot and very good. The Restaurant staff, and Bar staff were excellent,Levi the barman is a future Manager, nothing flinched him he was polite and curteous in all dilemma's.We had rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden, which was lovely. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor overlooking the garden is much quieter than the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montydo559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here as a couple over the weekend of the Chester races.

The place is very dated on the outside, however if you can look past this you will not be unhappy. The staff were really nice and very friendly. At £90 a room good value for money on this weekend of the year.

The food is very standard but acceptable for the money you will pay. Rooms again a little dated but clean and tidy and lots of room. We were in an executive room, and nice and quiet with easy check in and check out.

Its a big hotel and our room seemed like miles from the reception but all in all a really very reasonable hotel, 5 minutes in a taxi from Chester City Centre (you could not walk it, too far). I would certainly stay again if after reasonably priced standard accomodation in Chester.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFirrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here with a coach trip to the local area. I never expect the hotels on such trips to be amazing, but I'd describe most of them as at least good.
This hotel, however, wasn't.
I'll start with the good points...
- The rooms are spacious and airy, with big comfy beds.
- It's in an excellent location for visiting Chester and accessing the motorway for the surrounding area.
- There's a good selection of foods at breakfast.
- We were given a complimentary drink on arrival.
- Big TV with a good selection of channels.
Now unfortunately for the bad...
- The bath was very dirty and the worktops in the bathroom were all stained.
- The showers are so low down that anyone over 5'3" won't fit under them.
- The toilet seat in our room was broken - kind of dangerous, it was difficult not to slide off whenever you sat down!
- Noise carries exceedingly well from room to room.
- Our evening meal was abysmal. The soup was tasteless, the buffet main course consisted of tasteless, plastic meat and hard vegetables. The desserts were just as bad. This is honestly the worst meal I've ever had.
- Although a good selection of food at breakfast, we arrived only 10 minutes after it started and the food was already cold.
- The hotel is situated where there's no phone signal and the wifi is really expensive - not even an hour for free!

It's a shame there were so many bad points as the hotel is in a really good location. I wouldn't stay here again unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandelionMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear DandelionMind,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and some of the features provided. However, I would like to apologize that you had some items that were not working in the room.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service. I assure you that every comment is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Mia R.
IHGCare
Case Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed with 6 friends at the hotel. For a trip to the races. the location is convenient for the races and the town only a short taxi drive away. Only just off the A55, Wouldnt advise parking in Chester its as very expensive, the park and ride is available 1 minutes walk but it was cheaper by taxi £5. On arrival,Friday morning check in was friendly and very efficient. Its nice to see staff smiling. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were polite and always happy to say hello.
The dinners and breakfast is very good. We had room 219 it was big and spotless, we had a great sleep. Over dinner we had the Gothenburg Police Choir sing in back ground taking to them, they had a great time at the hotel to. It made losing my money at the races bearable ....but my wife save the day with a good win.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
8.9 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#35 of 44 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing