We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chester South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chester South
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Chester
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here as a couple over the weekend of the Chester races.

The place is very dated on the outside, however if you can look past this you will not be unhappy. The staff were really nice and very friendly. At £90 a room good value for money on this weekend of the year.

The food is very standard but acceptable for the money you will pay. Rooms again a little dated but clean and tidy and lots of room. We were in an executive room, and nice and quiet with easy check in and check out.

Its a big hotel and our room seemed like miles from the reception but all in all a really very reasonable hotel, 5 minutes in a taxi from Chester City Centre (you could not walk it, too far). I would certainly stay again if after reasonably priced standard accomodation in Chester.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFirrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    410
    219
    74
    59
See reviews for
268
327
35
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here with a coach trip to the local area. I never expect the hotels on such trips to be amazing, but I'd describe most of them as at least good.
This hotel, however, wasn't.
I'll start with the good points...
- The rooms are spacious and airy, with big comfy beds.
- It's in an excellent location for visiting Chester and accessing the motorway for the surrounding area.
- There's a good selection of foods at breakfast.
- We were given a complimentary drink on arrival.
- Big TV with a good selection of channels.
Now unfortunately for the bad...
- The bath was very dirty and the worktops in the bathroom were all stained.
- The showers are so low down that anyone over 5'3" won't fit under them.
- The toilet seat in our room was broken - kind of dangerous, it was difficult not to slide off whenever you sat down!
- Noise carries exceedingly well from room to room.
- Our evening meal was abysmal. The soup was tasteless, the buffet main course consisted of tasteless, plastic meat and hard vegetables. The desserts were just as bad. This is honestly the worst meal I've ever had.
- Although a good selection of food at breakfast, we arrived only 10 minutes after it started and the food was already cold.
- The hotel is situated where there's no phone signal and the wifi is really expensive - not even an hour for free!

It's a shame there were so many bad points as the hotel is in a really good location. I wouldn't stay here again unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandelionMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear DandelionMind,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and some of the features provided. However, I would like to apologize that you had some items that were not working in the room.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service. I assure you that every comment is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Mia R.
IHGCare
Case Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed with 6 friends at the hotel. For a trip to the races. the location is convenient for the races and the town only a short taxi drive away. Only just off the A55, Wouldnt advise parking in Chester its as very expensive, the park and ride is available 1 minutes walk but it was cheaper by taxi £5. On arrival,Friday morning check in was friendly and very efficient. Its nice to see staff smiling. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were polite and always happy to say hello.
The dinners and breakfast is very good. We had room 219 it was big and spotless, we had a great sleep. Over dinner we had the Gothenburg Police Choir sing in back ground taking to them, they had a great time at the hotel to. It made losing my money at the races bearable ....but my wife save the day with a good win.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tinman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had orginally been booked into a different hotel in Chester but at 1.30pm that day we received a phone call to say the hotel was hosting a big wedding, some bedrooms were not in use and we were being transferred to the Holiday Inn Chester South. This break had been a belated birthday treat for myself so we were not happy about this.
However, when we arrived at the Holiday Inn we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who informed us she had upgraded us to an executive room at no extra cost. She was very informative, booked us into the restaurant for later that evening and explained where everything was situated in the hotel.
Our room was situated down a few corriders but we had no trouble finding it and it wasn't that far! The room was spacious and very clean and I loved the wooden window shutters. There was also air con in the room which was easy to operate.
We went down to the bar area and sat outside. Bar staff were great, checking later if you would like another drink and I noticed they kept the area clear of empty glasses etc.
Our meal in the restaurant was very nice -it was hot and I liked the fact that you could eat your meal without being rushed and your next course wasn't brought out too soon. My only negative was some adults were letting their children run round and climb seating areas by the window whilst diners were trying to eat - I'm not against children in restaurants I have taken mine to plenty! Also I know this isn't the hotel's fault either if children are not being watched by their family.
We didn't use the pool but did go down to have a look at the pool area, which looked clean.
Breakfast: Plenty of choice and cooked breakfast was hot.
Have to say we enjoyed our stay and we would book again in the future. Don't judge the hotel from the outside when you go in its very nice and the staff are all friendly.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are spacious and located in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella2008Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Last minute decision to stop in Chester and ended up at Holiday Inn Chester South. Hmm staff very obliging, a little pushy the moment you check in, trying to sell you dinners and breakfast. Being platium members of Priority Club we were upgraded to executive room for which we were grateful. BUT we had approx 20 corridors we had to walk down to get there. Room was next to exit door where all these not so nice people stood there and smoked. Needless to say room smelt like an ashtray.
Will not return, rather keep driving past.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willtravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chester South, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Willtravel12,

Thank you for being a Platinum Priority Club Member and for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am glad that you were upgraded to an executive room. Most importantly, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the smoke smell may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

I hope to have the opportunity in welcoming you back to stay with us and hope that this occasion did not deter you from staying with us again.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was my first time at this establishment located on the southern outskirts of the historic City of Chester in a real no man's land by the A55. The exterior of this hotel projects a dated atmosphere which sadly influences your first impressions.

Check in was swift and friendly but on reaching my ground floor room there was, on entry, a faint damp odour although not enough to be noticeable after a short time.

Rooms are not overly large and the décor is dated however the bed was clean and comfortable. Rooms have a TV (with free view channels or expensive pay to view), desk and chair, several armchairs, wardrobe and basic tea making facilities. My room was on the inner courtyard and was quiet but overlooked.

The bathroom was large but in need of refresh/deep clean but benefits from a full sized bath with stand in shower which unfortunately was hit and miss in terms of temperature output. Lots of clean towels and mini toiletries available.

Breakfast is standard Holiday Inn offering with a good selection of hot and cold fare. Table service was swift and efficient.

The hotel has a pool, restaurant and bar however I did not use these amenities.

Positives
> Plenty of free parking.
> Friendly staff.

Negatives
> Tired dated rooms
> Poor location if without car.
> Expensive WiFi.

In summary - set your expectations low and you may not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank See-no-evil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked to stay at this hotel on the bank holiday weekend for a trip to chester zoo. We got a reasonable deal which included 2 nights and zoo tickets for myself, husband & little girl.
We checked into our room (309) and upon opening the door the smell of foist greated us, awful.
The beds were very uncomfortable and the size of the bed for my child was a joke.
Breakfast the next day was like something of faulty towers and although I fully understand that it was bank hol and would be very busy with families the organaisation left something to be desired. We decided to complain on our way out that morning to the zoo but the queues were 10 deep at reception so we waited till we came back. It was the comments from my 5 year old that made my decision to check out when she stated do we have to go back to that smelly room.
We came back to the hotel, packed and checked out, although at that point we were asked if we would like to change rooms we really had enough of this shabby tired and in need of a refurbishment hotel. If I were to reccomend stay at Travel Lodge at least you know what you get and they are clean!

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay make sure you ask for a 400 room as these are part of the Exec rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaJayne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chester hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Chester North - Gateway to Wales
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
8.8 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 45 in Chester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chester South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chester South

Property: Holiday Inn Chester South
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DL, England (Formerly Posthouse Chester)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chester South 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chester South has 145 newly refurbished bedrooms, decorated to a high standard with new bathrooms. Standard twin and double rooms have walk in showers provided and family rooms and executive rooms have bathrooms with a bath and shower over. The modern Open Lobby Concept is a bright and vibrant place to catch with with colleagues, friends and families. Serving Starbucks Coffee with a grab and go sandwich selection, serving food all day. The hotel is all non smoking and is ideally situated on the edge of the Roman City of Chester, located just off the A55 adjacent to Chester Business Park. All public areas and bedrooms have full air-conditioning and Wi-Fi access has been installed. In an excellent location for both business and leisure visitors alike. Benefiting from immediate proximity to Chester and its attractions including Chester Races, Grosvenor Museum, Cathedral, Chester Zoo and Islands, Cheshire Oaks Outlet Village and Blue Planet Aquarium. The Holiday Inn Chester South provides an ideal visitor base, with a choice of accommodation including standard, executive and accessible bedrooms. We have excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including kids stay & eat free*. The hotel has a fully air conditioned gym, 15m heated swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, with trained staff to assist in your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Chester South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chester South Hotel Chester
Chester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing