We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and pittoresque getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Higher Huxley Hall

Higher Huxley Hall
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Higher Huxley Hall
Ranked #45 of 81 Chester B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and pittoresque getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for one night as a nice valentines weekend away! We thought the service was immacaulate and the building was very well presented!! We were made to feel very welcome and on entry my bag was carried and we were shown to our room and we were made to feel very at home! We would reccomend this place as the scenery is beautiful, the rooms are
Homely and comfortable and the breakfast is also very nice!!
Just make sure you watch your head on the beams haha!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hbygrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Myself and my Husband stayed for 2 nights, could not fault it, we were greeted on arrival and shown to our room which was lovely. There was a fantastic roaring fire in the sitting area, so very cosy. Lovely countryside surrounds it. The breakfast was very good. The owners are very helpful and friendly. If you are in the area it is worth staying hear, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennyWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

After two failed bookings with other hotels, we booked into this hotel. I called to confirm my online booking was successful, and spoke at length with the lady who answered, about the reason for our booking, and whether she could provide any information, or book any restaurants on our behalf.

The hotel was quiet, the room very clean with the aforementioned shortbread awaiting us.

Great full English breakfast, with no request too much trouble.

Would definitely return, and recommend others to stay here too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband had booked a suprise week-end in Chester for my Birthday.We arrived at HHH on lovely sunny Friday evening and were met by the charming lady owner, who was very helpful in ordering taxis and offering hints and tips for the days ahead. She then showed us to our room which was soptlessly clean, spacious & light with a super big bed and modern well-fitted bathroom.
The home made biscuits also have to get a special mention as my husband, a veteran hill walker and patron of B&B's UK-wide was in raptures over these.
The breakfast was excellent on both mornings, we had the full English on one day and an omlette on the other for me as I was still too full from supper the night before (see seperate review for Upstairs At The Grill). The setting is just lovely in beautiful gardens, and very peacful as its set well back off the roaad down a short drive.
The HHH is well placed for Chester, less than a ten pound taxi ride away. And no doubt many of the attractions that we were not there long enough to try.
The friendly and helpful nature of the owners really deserve special mention as we must have SORELY tested them,. My husband on returning to our room on day one during brekafst managed to go to the wrong room and get our key jammed in the wrong lock. thus, locking him out of our room and the owners of the rooms next door out of theirs! Despite massive tussles by all, the key wouldn't budge and we were supplied with a spare set of keys so we could go forth to enjoy the day, and next morning an emergency locksmith was on site to undo the damage. Our hosts were exreely good humoured about the whole episode, and the week-end was possilby only marred by me teaing the poor husband all day Saturday that he'd probably locked some unsuspecting visitor into thier rooms for the day (he hadn't!). All in all an excellent B&B experieince, which we'd reccomend 100%

Room Tip: Try the bbiscuits & make sure you know which room is yours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieparos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Higher Huxley Hall for the weekend and was a real gem! Very friendly, the rooms were spotlessly clean and for us, in a great location!
We would highly recommend Higher Huxley Hall!
And the home made shortbread is absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickFarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

we stayed here over the weekend during a visit to chester races .The owners were extreemly friendly and accomodating the breakfast was first class , the rooms were perfect.the views were stunning and the gardens were peaceful .All in all a perfect base to discover chester and all it has to offer

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartcheryl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

I would recommend this establishment based on its cleaniliness, quality of the food and friendliness of the owners.ten out of ten.

Room Tip: Views are wonderful to the front of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rayj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester
3.6 mi away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 5 in Tarporley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rowton Hall Hotel
Rowton Hall Hotel
#5 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
1.8 mi away
Fernlea Cottage Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
New Hall Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Higher Huxley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Higher Huxley Hall

Property: Higher Huxley Hall
Address: Higher Huxley Hall Red Lane, Chester CH3 9BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Chester
Hotel Class:3 star — Higher Huxley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing