We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Belgrave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belgrave Hotel
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The belgrave may be a bit old fashioned, but it is clean the bedding and towels all clean,very friendly, good value I had a good stay their.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 355josie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were four ladies going to the races and staying for the Boodles Ladies Day in May! we have also stayed here before in January for a birthday bash! It's basic but clean! the staff are so nice and we had such a laugh with them, not only in the hotel but joined up with them in the cellar bar at the end of the night just a few doors away and had a fine good time! I am absolutely fed up with moan, moan, moan issues of people who expect 5 star for what they pay for knowing full well the hotel displays just 2 star, Go get a life and pay for it than expect it you twopenny snobs, for if money is no worry you wouldn't be complaining and staying in 2 star! We had a basic room, two singles beds and an ensuite! There was not a lot of room, however the room was clean and the bedding spotless, our friends ended up with a much larger room with a double bed plus single and a really large ensuite. I don't go around trying to find cheap and expecting royalty treatment I live in the real world and understand basic means basic! what we paid for was to put our heads down after fun filled day in Chester and that is what we got. However we got up in the morning to be met by the same staff we had ended our evening with and their sense of humour was still the same! Everyone may not be like us, 4 women in our 40's enjoying a night away from our husbands in the most enjoyable company, but then we don't live or present ourselves above our means and go out with the attitude of life is worth enjoying and living to rather than complaining for the sake of pence! so go on enjoy and take the moans on here from people who expect something for nothing, we will be back Belgrave, your staff gave us the most enjoyable time and nothing goes further than thank you and please! xxx

Room Tip: All basic but very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BowlerClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you very kind review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

One of the many things I liked about this hotel is the location. It is a 3 minute walk from the railway station and a 10 minute lovely walk into the town. And just minutes away is walk along the canal. Secondly, everyone I met at the hotel was friendly. From the receptionist, to the owner, to the bar staff¨: that is so crucial to enjoying a stay, I so hate these big hotels where you never meet anyone authentic. Yes the decor is old fashioned, I am sure the Hotel Inspector would have a long list of grievances about that. But my room was quite, at the side of the hotel, with plenty of hot water for a shower, tv working, the bed comfortable and the room spotlessly clean. I honestly couldn't have asked for more for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minarety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel and staff. We are all glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again if you are ever in Chester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Nice, clean, comfortable room at a very reasonable price. Friendly staff, no problems at all

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy85Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Its great. The staff always do their best and I admire their ability to get the job done. The rooms are always very clean and neat and I enjoy the breakfasts.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indumeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

On arrival into Chester I attempted to book into this hotel, big mistake! Although the hotel smelt very dirty, it was quite late in the evening and I had been travelling most of the day, and the price was reasonable. On trying to make a payment, the manager very abruptly told me my card had declined, and turned me away. Knowing I had more than enough cash, I walked further into the town and checked into another hotel which wasn't a problem. I realised a few days later that this hotel (The Belgrave) had taken the money which apparently declined. I challenged them about this, with a statement printed from the bank, only to be told that it wasn't their problem - and are still refusing to refund this money for two nights stay which never took place.

With my work, I travel all over the country and stay in a number of hotels. Never have I come across such an unprofessional and arrogant service as this.

There are a a few hotels on the same road as this. Same price range, and worth their weight in gold when compared to this sham of a place. Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Rooms in any hotel apart from this are better. Avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

You entered the hotel and came to the reception to book in and pay for your booking, unfortunately your card you gave (which was different to the card details give when you made the booking originally) was declined twice, on both occassions we gave you the customers copy from the PDQ machine for your file. You were not turned away, you asked where the nearest cash machine was so that you could withdraw the money out, which you were told was in the train staion, you said that you would go and get the money out of the machine so we kept the room for you for your returned. As you did not return we debited the card details which we had.

When you did return to the hotel, a few days later, I asked you why you didn't return, and you replied that you booking in somewhere else, I asked why you didn't inform us, and you said didn't think, but you wanted to know why we had charged you. I informed you that as you made your booking through a online booking agent, and they have a cancellation policy, which you should have been aware of and I told you that the company charges commission on all bookings and that if you call that agents you booked with and asked them to waver there commission then I would refund the money back to you, you said that did not want to do this, but eventually you did so, the company did tell you and also rang me and told me that you were NOT entitled to a refund, but as a good will gesture we would refund the money to you, which was done for you.

As for the hotel and rooms being dirty and smelly, how you can say this as you where only in the reception area and did not go in any of the rooms. We are a very bizzy hotel, all are rooms are cleaned daily and are inspected on a regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Was booked here for a friends do could only manage one night from the tv sells taped to the wall to the bathroom that Tom Thumb would have described as pokey! It's dark and dingy inside and has a strange smell that you just can't place. The bedrooms and decor are from 1963 and the who'd pace is badly in need of renovation. The manager who was very friendly clearly attempts to run the hotel on a shoestring budget, it's only plus is that it is across the road from the railway station.

Room Tip: Don't stay here we had a view of barbed wire and an air con unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karobski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancastle, Manager at Belgrave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Our rooms have LCD television in them, which we have had for approximately 6 months, which we rent from a company. The hotel is a very old building, and unfortunately not all rooms are the same size. All rooms are cleaned daily an are inspected on a regular basis.

The barbed wire is ontop of a flat roof and is for security.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#37 of 45 in Chester
582 reviews
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Chester Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#33 of 45 in Chester
530 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
0.8 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#2 of 45 in Chester
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belgrave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgrave Hotel

Address: 61 City Road, Chester CH1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Price Range: $57 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belgrave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belgrave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing