We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended and now I know why!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chester Fields

The Chester Fields
Ranked #44 of 547 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly recommended and now I know why!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We booked in for a meal on Valentines Day based on recommendations from a couple of friends and had a really great time. The food was excellent and the service (from bar and restaurant staff) was fantastic so we will certainly be planning to go back soon!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DC411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for posting this review for us and very pleased that we romanced you on Valentines! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    207
    123
    58
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Lovely setting, complimented by great, knowledgeable service and regular good offers. Steak night is great value with stunning steaks and the 2013 offer is also one not to miss!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank slickt0ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for your review. We strongly believe that well thought out Offers that give our customers genuine value are incredibly important and we have to say, Steak Night is one of our favorites! Glad you enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could be excellent....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have eaten here a number of times since it opened and find that it can vary between each visit. These have been just 2 person visits to group visits. Generally the food is of a good standard but on the last few visits the restaurant has been noticeably under staffed to the point where plates were left on the table and I had to go and find a waiter to order the next course.That said it has been generally ok and it is a great venue with a great atmosphere and the staff are friendly and helpful. If they could sort out some very minor issues I think it would be excellent and would look forward to returning. Lets hope....

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank abvlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello there and thank you for writing this thorough review for us. We find the negatives as helpful and constructive as the positives and agree that we didn’t always get our staffing levels quite right due to the dreaded nuro virus (!) throughout January… very pleased that everyone is now back to work and in fine form!
We will continue to work on this and very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Chester Fields very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“One of Chester's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Had a superb lunch special with my partner & for an absolute steal at £20.13 for the 2 of us! Every dish was fresh, well presented, hot & very tasty. The place itself is tastefully furnished , clean & staff most welcoming. I've heard reviews saying the wine is expensive, large glass of extremely quoffable sauv blanc was £5.50 which i think is a bargain. Paid more for cheap plonk in a seedy pub.

Well done Chester fields, a very good well oiled machine & can't wait to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelobsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
A well oiled machine! That is a compliment indeed Sir and thank you very much for writing such a nice review of your experience. We really enjoy serving our guests with the special £20.13 menu. Its great value as you say and we can keep it seasonal by working closely with our fabulous local producers and suppliers. And glad that you enjoyed a nice glass of sauv blanc to wash it down with!
Thanks again Mr Lobster!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here for an unplanned night out with a friend. Place is lovely, nicely decorated with a good atmosphere. Food was lovely - was tempted by a pudding - sticky toffee pudding with cream - gorgeous!!!! Came away very full indeed! Will definitely go again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello Sarah and thanks for writing this review and we have to agree with you, the sticky toffee pudding is a firm favorite with everyone!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back… thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chester Fields also viewed

 
Frodsham, Cheshire
 

Been to The Chester Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing