We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK but needs improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chester Fields

The Chester Fields
Ranked #45 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“OK but needs improvement”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have eaten here several times now.This is a decent restaurant but slightly overrated by some of the other reviews in my opinion. Some of the food is good but the menu needs more variety and the prices have risen signifcantly recently. Also the service has been a bit variable on several occassions. Still a decent place to eat but needs a bit more attention to detail in my view.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hi there Peter and thank you for your honesty here… as you will have noticed from other reviews, we value the positive as well as the negative and it is important to us that you feel the service has been variable recently. This is something that we are addressing with additional training sessions and more briefings, so thank you for highlighting this.

The menu we have at the moment is very much a base menu from when we opened 6 months ago. We’ve now received enough feedback to re address its entirety and plan a significant menu change very shortly where we intend to have a bit more selection.

With regard to the prices rising, there’s been a couple of dishes where we’ve had to increase the price very slightly due to supplier increases. However, in order to counteract this increase we also reduced the prices of our highest selling dishes by the same amount. Its understandable that only the increases are picked up on but either way its our policy to provide value for money across the board.

We will endeavour to address all issues and very much hope that you come and give us another try very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    210
    126
    60
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I visited on the 28th May, we had been meaning to go for a while and chose our wedding anniversary as the date. We were'nt dissapointed, the staff were friendly but not overbearing, beutiful surroundings and food that was the best I've tasted in a long while.

Keep up the good work, cos we'll be back

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dannyv02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hi there Danny and thank you so much for writing this review for us, and very pleased that you chose to visit us on such a special occasion.

I am so glad that you felt that the staff had done a good job, they will be very pleased that you have given them a special mention and of course what a wonderful comment about the food.

Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Chester Fields.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

I found this place on Trip Advisor as we were passing through on our way to North Wales...an amazing find. It's a lovely setting, and the atmosphere was great too. The food was delicious and the staff were very nice. Brilliant value for money, and a great selection of dishes on the menu. My only complaint is that it is 250 miles away from my house!! Any possibility of a relocation to Hampshire?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EJBadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Public Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Well, we will certainly look at that for you - But seriously (!), what a lovely review and thank you very much for writing it for us. So glad that you did find us and we have had quite a few lovely comments about the staff recently which is really encouraging for everyone. We must continue to work hard with their training and development.

And yes – Chef Gareth Jones does serve some really great food, using only the best and most consistent locally produced ingredients. We are sincerely delighted that you enjoyed it.
See you on your next visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very, very nice!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We visited on a Saturday evening as a group of four and all really enjoyed the experience. The restaurant was busy but not crowded and after a drink at the bar we were shown to our table by the efficient and friendly staff.
We skipped the starters although several looked very tempting. The steak, fish & chips, lamb & haggis, and bass with risotto were excellent quality and thoroughly enjoyed by all.
My only criticism would be that the desserts were not of the same standard as the mains and a little pricey overall in comparison.
Having said that, as a top class dining experience, the Chester Fields did not disappoint overall, and we would visit again for a special occasion without hesitation.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bertiet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Public Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi there and thank you for this review. Very pleased that enjoyed your main courses so much, but a shame that you were a little underwhelmed by your desserts, and you raise a good point. We haven't changed our desserts menu since we opened, and we are working on a brand new summer menu presently with lovely seasonal desserts to be enjoyed as much in our brand new garden .. So thank you for mentioning it and hopefully this will be much improved when you return.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Chester Fields very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farndon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chester in the Country”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We have been here several times and never failed to enjoy ourselves. The staff, food and drink are all well presented and priced fairly for the surroundings and quality you enjoy as the owners have clearly spent a lot of money getting it right.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyB0yB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izzy G, Public Relations Manager at The Chester Fields, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you very much for this review, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of The Chester Fields. The owners are very pleased to have had the opportunity to invest in the local community and surrounding areas, and have many more plans to be unveiled - so please watch this space!

Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chester Fields also viewed

 

Been to The Chester Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing