We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than some hotels!”
Review of The Bunkroom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bunkroom
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Better than some hotels!”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Can't fault this place!

We only stayed for one night and we all loved it. The rooms are clean, the beds are very comfortable (although squeaky, but didn't bother me) and there is free tea and coffee making facilites (in real sized mugs!) and free wifi. There was also shower gel, moisturiser and face wipes provided. You don't get this in hotels!!

I would definitely stay here again when visiting Chester. The people that run it and the other guests are very friendly, and it was nice to have a living area to sit in when seven of us returned from a night out at 3am with pizza and kebabs!

Thank you :)

Room Tip: We had rooms 6 and 7 which both had en-suite bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank MNM789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
11
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were looking for a decently priced place to stay for a weekend in Chester and this totally topped the bill. The guy at reception was one of the friendliest people I've ever had the pleasure of meeting, and you felt really safe as there were two door codes to get in to the hostel.

The room was lovely and airy, seriously clean (even my mum commented on the cleanliness of it) and with lovely soft and freshly washed duvets and pillows. The beds were super comfy, and it was the perfect distance from the train station and the centre of Chester. There is a really nice bar opposite the hostel too, but there was zero noise there - just good beer.

The hostel has a gorgeous outside space with homely hippy decor and a painting of the classic surf film poster for 'The Endless Summer'.... free tea in the garden in the lovely summer weather, what more could you need?

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucidaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We only stayed for one night in the Bunkhouse and were very pleased with our stay. We had to share a room but there is enough space for everyone and the bunk beds were sturdy and comfortable and did not creak and groan every time someone moved. The kitchen was well equipped but a bit cosy and the living/dining area was clean and functional, but what really worked was the back courtyard where you can enjoy the evening sunshine or the early morning silence. The staff were helpful and friendly and as we arrived later than planned they were very accommodating and their communication was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalandDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

From the host, to the price, to the rooms, I have nothing but praise for this place. The hostel is in great location in relations to the centre and the rooms are comfortable to stay in. I would definitely come back and highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed in a dorm with a group of friends recently and found this an excellent place to stay - central, good value and very friendly. I managed to leave behind some belongings in the room and the staff promptly helped with sending it all back to me with no complaint. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_M_B_B2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

we were met by lee who could not do enough for us through out the whole visit. very clean accommodation. lovely area out the back. a brillant pub accross the road. lots of restaurants and shops near by. we will come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Bunkroom provided a fantastic, budget stay with easily accessible facilities and a cozy atmosphere. Decked out with 'cute' rugs, tables and portraits around the place you feel right at home. The outside area also adds a lovely touch and would be great for use especially in Summer. Staff were very smiley and helpful and we got everything we accepted, and more in terms of comfort!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#14 of 44 in Chester
1,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
6.0 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bunkroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bunkroom

Property: The Bunkroom
Address: 106 Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bunkroom 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 mins walk from the train station and 3 mins walk from city centre, The Bunkroom is beautifully presented with en-suite bunkrooms for 4, as well as doubles. Self catering facilities, free WiFi, lounge and dinning areas, washing and drying machines, fully cooked breakfasts (£4.00) and evening meals (£7.00) available. Spotlessly clean and exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your The Bunkroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing