We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bunkroom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bunkroom
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“amazing hospitality”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

we were met by lee who could not do enough for us through out the whole visit. very clean accommodation. lovely area out the back. a brillant pub accross the road. lots of restaurants and shops near by. we will come back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinaCara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
11
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Bunkroom provided a fantastic, budget stay with easily accessible facilities and a cozy atmosphere. Decked out with 'cute' rugs, tables and portraits around the place you feel right at home. The outside area also adds a lovely touch and would be great for use especially in Summer. Staff were very smiley and helpful and we got everything we accepted, and more in terms of comfort!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

An excellent place to stay - close to the town centre, walkable neighbourhood, terrific amenities - very well-equipped kitchen and super clean. Chris was a tremendous host with lots of help and suggestions for enjoying Chester. Additionally the cost is really reasonable for what is provided.
We appreciated the "cosy-ness" of the Bunkroom and Chris' efforts to create a home away from home. We definitely recommend it, and would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Very cheap, clean, there is also a nice patio, books and TV in the living room... You can also cook. The owners are here if you need anything.
Excellent value for money.

If I have a few more days to Chester, I know I will come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Môsieur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Uist, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Never used a bunkhouse in a city before but this was brilliant.
6 family members shared a room for an overnight stay for a wedding in Chester. Much cheaper way of doing it than Travel Lodge etc and it was great. Was amazed that the price included breakfast and the staff were really friendly. Would definitely do it again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here one night. The guy who let me in was really friendly and helpful. The dorms very clean, showers were hot and my bed was so, so comfy. The mattress and pillow were amazing for a hostel. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was in Chester for a conference and needed somewhere nearby that I can afford on a student budget. I'm so glad i chose here. Everything was great, particularly the customer service. From my first phone call I was treated as a guest. The kind receptionist understood my anxiety about travelling as a woman alone and said that she would try to out me in a room with other women. This was the case when I got there, and i shared with three other lovely quiet ladies. Facilities were fab and made me feel at home. If you are ok about sharing a room and making your own food, I urge you to go here and save at least half the price of a hotel or b&b!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#41 of 44 in Chester
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#39 of 44 in Chester
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bunkroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bunkroom

Property: The Bunkroom
Address: 106 Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bunkroom 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 mins walk from the train station and 3 mins walk from city centre, The Bunkroom is beautifully presented with en-suite bunkrooms for 4, as well as doubles. Self catering facilities, free WiFi, lounge and dinning areas, washing and drying machines, fully cooked breakfasts (£4.00) and evening meals (£7.00) available. Spotlessly clean and exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Bunkroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing