We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petect”
Review of The Bunkroom

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bunkroom
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Petect”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed here one night. The guy who let me in was really friendly and helpful. The dorms very clean, showers were hot and my bed was so, so comfy. The mattress and pillow were amazing for a hostel. I highly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
11
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was in Chester for a conference and needed somewhere nearby that I can afford on a student budget. I'm so glad i chose here. Everything was great, particularly the customer service. From my first phone call I was treated as a guest. The kind receptionist understood my anxiety about travelling as a woman alone and said that she would try to out me in a room with other women. This was the case when I got there, and i shared with three other lovely quiet ladies. Facilities were fab and made me feel at home. If you are ok about sharing a room and making your own food, I urge you to go here and save at least half the price of a hotel or b&b!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiefree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I absolutely loved our stay at The Bunkhouse. It was easy to find from the train station and a nice walk into the centre of Chester. Our room was really clean, the staff were friendly and helpful, plus the whole place was well kept up. We were able to keep our backpacks there after check-out, which is so nice when you have a little extra time to explore before catching the train.

Loved it. Recommend it. If we are ever back in Chester, this would be our top choice!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We wanted to visit Chester because of it's long history dating to before the Romans arrived and because we could day trip to Liverpool. The Bunkroom was a perfect location for this plan. It's located within easy walking distance from both the walled centre of Chester and the train station. Our room was a double with comfy bed, sink, and enough space to put bags and stuff. The shared bathroom was downstairs, a bit of a trek in the night. Perhaps the best feature was the shared kitchen. It was well equipped and clean with refrig and shelf space to keep our food. Our week in Chester passed quickly and we'd consider returning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wow!!! I was a little dubious when booking The Bunkroom as it is a hostel but I would not hesitate to stay here again. We had a 6 bed dorm with an en suite. The room was a little small but considering it had three bunk beds in it, it wasn't too bad at all. The lady on reception who checked us in was lovely, polite and helpful. The lady shown us around and said if we need anything to just ask. There is a kitchen that you can use with free tea and coffee also cupboards and a fridge to store your items, there's a dining/eating area where you have your continental breakfast and off there is a TV, sofa area. There is also an outside seating, which is kind of hippy ish and it is so cosy with cushions and throws.(Fab idea)
We paid £126 for 6 people for bed and breakfast. It is in a perfect location just minutes from the town and train station. You have to pay£5 deposit for the key which you get back when you return the key. Overall fab!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KellyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

my son stayed here ,to see his girlfreind in unniversty he found the staff very freindly and helpfull and the accomadation very clean and freindly ,he arrived late at night but there was a member of staff waiting for him to show him his room.

Room Tip: choose a room sleeps four
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dpreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I really enjoy staying at this hostel. The staff are friendly and kind! The breakfast is quite delicious! The living condition is comfort and clean. More importantly, the location is wonderful. It is both close to the city centre and the train station. I really would like to recommend this hostel to the other travellers!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
0.2 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#12 of 44 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Inn Chester
Hallmark Inn Chester
#38 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belgrave
Belgrave
#39 of 44 in Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bunkroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bunkroom

Property: The Bunkroom
Address: 106 Brook Street, Chester CH1 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bunkroom 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 mins walk from the train station and 3 mins walk from city centre, The Bunkroom is beautifully presented with en-suite bunkrooms for 4, as well as doubles. Self catering facilities, free WiFi, lounge and dinning areas, washing and drying machines, fully cooked breakfasts (£4.00) and evening meals (£7.00) available. Spotlessly clean and exceptional value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Bunkroom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing