We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Barton Rouge

Barton Rouge
Ranked #119 of 553 Restaurants in Chester
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Busy”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Good food large portions ..Very noisy tho.. Advisable to book ...lovely position on the river front Would defo go back in the Summer

Helpful?
Thank 804LESLEYANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    167
    96
    54
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A long wait!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We visitd on a Saturday evening, there were six in our party abd booked a table for 8pm, we arrive at 8 and were seated immidiately. The food was brilliant, i can not fault it but........ It didnt arrive at our table until 10 o'clock! Not happy!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simong1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In my bottom 3 curry experiences ever”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Visited this place with my partner on 15/3/14 during our weekend away in Chester (special birthday treat). Was recommended by a colleague who lives in the area who suggested their service reputation was not the best, but the food made up for it - and in any case there was a cracking bar opposite (right on that score!).

We booked a table and left the car 3 miles away at our hotel - so arriving by taxi, we were looking forward to a tasty curry and a great evening. It looked a nice place from the exterior.

It was Saturday night and by 7:30 the place was already heaving - we were given a pager and told to wait in the adjoining bar section. We ordered a bottle of wine and were asked to pay there & then - we couldn't include it on the table tab?! Table came ready about 15 minutes after we arrived which was OK and we made our way into the main restaurant.

It was from that moment that the evening began to turn into dread. The din from the mass of diners became louder as we approached and we found ourselves shouting our conversation, feeling as if were landed in the middle of a school dinner hall.

We were 'pounced on' immediately by one of the dozens of waiters asking for our starter order - we ordered poppadoms - those and the pickle tray were fine. Different waiter than arrived for our mains order - I asked him to leave us but he returned just a few minutes after. We noticed trolleys of meals being served to the tables on white plates - not authentic balti dishes, giving the impression that this was not going to be a 'proper' curry - we were right.

We ordered Chicken Biryani and Lamb Jalfrezi along with Keema nan. We waited, and waited...and kept waiting for almost an hour for the main, being constantly told it was on its way.
Having finally arrived, instead of layers of tasty subtle Biryani flavours, it was in my view nothing more than Pillau with chicken and spiced oil thrown in. The vegetable side sauce looked, smelt, and tasted of tinned veg soup. The Jalfrezi was no better in taste than a cheap pub curry. To add insult - the keema nan was no larger than the side plate it was served on and the 'keema' filling was I suspect 'drawn' on with a brown marker pen - tasteless and awful.

We were asked if all was OK by a third waiter - I let him know how we felt and he slapped his forehead in disbelief and walked off without reply. We then decided enough was enough, left most of the food and headed straight to the till to pay.

Don't be fooled - this is not authentic BIR - it's fast food, delivered very slowly in a bums-on-seat environment - prices are high too!

Busy beyond belief and of course supply & demand is key to all businesses - but if you're looking to chill out and chat over a tasty, authentic curry without feeling rushed and leaving with tinnitus... choose somewhere else!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It looked ok from the bar...”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Booked a table here for 8.30. We arrived shortly before and just after a group arriving without a booking who were told it was a 40 minute wait.. We were sent to the bar to have a drink and it was clear the whole place was very full.. After 20 minutes we asked how long it would be and were told the table would be ready shortly.

10 minutes later I went back to ask again and it was clear they had no idea we were waiting and our table had just been given to someone who arrived after us but complained just before. At this point I was given the buzzer that should have been given on arrival to tell us that the table was ready.

After a further 10 minutes (40 after we arrived) the Group without a booking were taken through and we left. The staff could not have been less interested or concerned about ensuring that their mistake was resolved.

The food looked nice as it was taken passed, but the service was shambolic. It is clear that the restaurant is just too busy, under staffed and poorly organised.

The Gate of India over the road was far more welcoming!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chesterboy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“what a wonderful Indian restaurant”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

From the greeting at the door by the gent in full silk traditional dress to the giant naan breads everything was exceptional. The Himalayan starters and main courses are a must if you have never tried this food really tasty but not too hot. We have visited numerous times and each time has been as good as the last. Recommend that you book as it has always been busy which is always a good sign

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barton Rouge also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Barton Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing