We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!”
Review of Slow Boat

Slow Boat
Ranked #85 of 558 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Thai, Malaysian as well as Chinese - the local "Onionring" restaurant website gives it really good reviews seehttp://www.onionring.co.uk/restaurants/restaurant_info.asp?RID=2541
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

A friend and I went to this restaurant for lunch today. The staff were really attentive and helpful but in a way that wasn't intrusive. We had two steamed sea bass dishes which were truly stunningly beautiful. Gorgeous spicing, yet quite different for the two dishes that we chose. The fish was wonderfully tender. The dishes came to the table actually sizzling!! The kitchens close at 2pm but we were allowed to sit and chat undisturbed in the restaurant until 3.45 when we decided to make a move homeward. A fantastic experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    108
    52
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Tasty Chinese”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Excellent starters...... Main meal was okay, service fine, thought £42 was a bit pricey as we only had a lager each. Have eaten here on a couple of occasions before (few years ago) I think the next time we visit Chester we will find somewhere else to go. Have to say though service was good, restaurant clean, maybe our dining experience was spoilt by someone complaining about their food being too hot & spicy.... question - why order a curry when you are in a chinese resaurant - if you want something mild get a sweet & sour!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ZebraCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We ate here and it was lovely , to quote what I said to my wife " nicest Chinese I've ever had " . Would definitely go back if in Chester .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andylal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“birthday”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

nnonononononononono not anymore nononononon they moan about you ordering on the buffet, they dont want waste, no one wants waste, but feel if your paying the going rate give it to them!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Sunday banquet”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have eaten at the slow Boat many times over the years And enjoyed the food how ever we ate there tonight and was disappointed even though the restaurant was extremely busy the service was good
The starters on the banquet menu have reduced in choice and quality
The main coarse's were very disappointing the egg fried rice tasted of disinfectant the main dishes where cold served on cold plates and the "noodles and bean sprouts" we're just noodles with the odd bean sprout I complained to the waitress who replaced the noodles and they were returned just as cold and as bean sprout less as the first
We decided we didn't want to eat cold food so explained our situation and asked for the bill which arrived with just the charge for our drinks
We were extremely disappointed as we loved going there on a Sunday but unfortunately it will be a very long time if we ever return again

  • Visited September 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathrynj572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slow Boat also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Slow Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing