We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never going here again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Greyhound Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #339 of 548 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fabulous pub food produced in a great British, traditional, friendly and inviting surroundings. The award winning kitchen is a hive of creativity where the venue's passionate, talented, and creative Head Chef, along with the rest of the dedicated team, work their magic as they cook freshly prepared, and locally sourced meat, fish, veg and dairy products, as well as freshly baked artisan breads. The seasonally changing, modern Great British-Style menu's, are the epiphany of today's "gastro-style" pub restaurants, but along with a sense of the "home-comforts", often contain that "twist" on tradition, as well as flavours and variants on recipes from all over the World.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never going here again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Went here today for the first time having reads the reviews on trip advisor, bitterly disappointed some staff were abrupt, the starter (Garlic mushroom) was just a dry piece of ciabatta bread with fried greasy mushrooms thrown on with a two bit salad not what I'd call Garlic Mushrooms very plain, very bland no sauce. The beef roast was minimal teaspoon of gravy, meat looked processed portion size was naff. Went in hungry came out hungry not agood experience at all !!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank shaunwfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreyhoundSaughall, Owner at The Greyhound Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Hi.

Sorry to see you had a previous bad experience at The Greyhound Inn, Saughall.

We are the new owners, and after a small refurbishment programme, re-opened just last week.

We have a great new range of cask beers and lagers, comprehensive new wine list, and most importantly, new menu's created by our new and innovative young acclaimed chef, Dan, and his kitchen team.

Our new management team, promise to do their very best in ensuring you enjoy your relaxed visit with us, and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    76
    30
    20
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

After a recommendation myself and three friends visited the busy pub, on a Saturday evening, for a birthday meal. We all had a main course and pudding and what fantastic value it is. Two of us had the chicken tikka masala which went down really well, another the ham, eggs and chips and the other pork with black pudding. These were also deemed yummy. Rhubarb crumble was chosen by 3 of us and we were glad that two of us opted for a smaller portion because the normal portion was huge! Delicious! Lemon drizzle cake was enjoyed by the other friend. We had a good evening and will definitely be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysmallworld
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great quality meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Went there after reading other reviews and was not disappointed. Drinks were served to us while we decided what to eat. £6.95 for a starter or desert and you get the main meal free. The food was fantastic freshly cooked and piping hot . Will be going back for more.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mysmallworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“a girlie afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

From the moment we walked in I noticed the place was well patronised,and for a Thursday afternoon that's good.The waitress came for our order,all 4 of us chose different starters and mains,When the starters arrived we tucked in,and all made that mmmm sound.The mains where wonderful and the service outstanding.The menu extensive,gave us a wide choice.and for the price of £6.95 for starter or dessert,with main,we were well fed and really pleased with the atmosphere

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jbritishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Much improved!! Recommended ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Well 2 months ago I wasn't impressed, so glad we decided to go back and I have to say its improved fantastically on my last visit, maybe new chef? Either way it's now much better quality, fab menu choice, great portion sizes, and improved service. Much so that I've rated now at 5 stars. £6.95 for 2 courses can't be beaten ! See you again soon for sure.

Helpful?
2 Thank allaboutevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Ellesmere Port, Cheshire
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing