We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal”
Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Greyhound Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #339 of 555 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fabulous pub food produced in a great British, traditional, friendly and inviting surroundings. The award winning kitchen is a hive of creativity where the venue's passionate, talented, and creative Head Chef, along with the rest of the dedicated team, work their magic as they cook freshly prepared, and locally sourced meat, fish, veg and dairy products, as well as freshly baked artisan breads. The seasonally changing, modern Great British-Style menu's, are the epiphany of today's "gastro-style" pub restaurants, but along with a sense of the "home-comforts", often contain that "twist" on tradition, as well as flavours and variants on recipes from all over the World.
Frodsham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Two huge and delicious courses for 6.95, from an extensive menu in a lovely setting!
My starter (nachos piled up with chilli, cheese and sour cream) was like a meal in itself. It was followed by a tasty chicken and pesto pasta with plenty of fresh salad garnish.
Good service too. Recommended- we will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulineFrodsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    77
    32
    21
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We popped in on a Saturday evening die to having no kitchen due to a refit. We used to visit quite a bit under the previous management and although it was always very nice, it was a bit pricey. Well the standard of food and the prices have changed but it was very enjoyable. £6.95 gets you a very nice main course with a choice of either a starter or a main to go with it. The choices are vast and there is something for everyone from steaks to curries as well as vegetarian. The atmosphere was buzzing as you would hope in a village pub on a saturday evening, all very friendly. The staff were friendly and attentive whilst running around looking after everyone. We will certainly be going back, decent grub at realistic prices, GREAT!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gone down hill, you get what you pay for ”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a large family meal, cheap and cheerful but cafe standards now. The potato skins were like powder, ie cheap frozen ones, main was a roast as it was a Sunday and very average. Pud was rhubarb heated up sprinkled with the packet topping. Yes was cheap but I would rather pay a few pounds more for quality. Won't rush back sorry, was better on previous visits before it was taken over.

Helpful?
Thank allaboutevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Gone down hill rapidly”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This pub/restaurant was really nice when it first opened, however we had not been there for a while don't know what's happened to it though.
We were shocked at the food it was disgusting the chicken was like lumps of processed rubber the curry was a sloppy mess. The fish and chips were awful the fish was burnt on the outside and uncooked in the centre. I had a Caesar salad which consisted of a bowl of limp lettuce and rubbery hot chicken ! Sorry but it was a waste of money and ruined our afternoon. Out

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsc2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value & tasty Sunday roast.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Last visited for Sunday lunch back in March when there was more extensive gourmet menu. Now under New Management the menu is traditional Sunday roast, with a few alternate choices from the Specials board.
Sunday roast choice of pork, beef & ham or all three at no extra cost. All served with good selection of seasonal veg etc. Good sized portions & very tasty. Non of our party of four had a starter but we all had dessert.
Each of us had different one. All looked & tasted delicious. Service friendly.
Plus point - good value for money.
£7.95 for 2 courses & £9.95 for 3 courses.
Pub section seemed busy but restaurant area very quiet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janandbrian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing