We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Met Our Expectations”
Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #348 of 558 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fabulous pub food produced in a great British, traditional, friendly and inviting surroundings. The award winning kitchen is a hive of creativity where the venue's passionate, talented, and creative Head Chef, along with the rest of the dedicated team, work their magic as they cook freshly prepared, and locally sourced meat, fish, veg and dairy products, as well as freshly baked artisan breads. The seasonally changing, modern Great British-Style menu's, are the epiphany of today's "gastro-style" pub restaurants, but along with a sense of the "home-comforts", often contain that "twist" on tradition, as well as flavours and variants on recipes from all over the World.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overall Met Our Expectations”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice evening here in comfortable surrounds.The good points were the food was generally very good with just about enough choice for vegetarians. Portion size was not particularly generous, except for the pudding 'Greyhound Tea Party' which was massive and delicious!

Service was a bit slow, but it was Satuirday night.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LewisHawarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    77
    32
    21
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly staff and a creative menu”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely evening at The Greyhound, Saughall. The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the menu is ma refreshing change from the usual pub grub. Well worth a visit and only 10 minutes out of Chester. We will be back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayN74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Died and gone to heaven!”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just got back from experiencing a wonderful meal at The Greyhound. Service was fantastic, very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Shared several 'tapas' to start.......lots of fun sampling each others starters instead of the normal 'Id wish I'd ordered theirs instead'. Main course was delicious, the home made thick cut chips, well they just finished me off......no room for a pud! Wonderful meal, spend with wonderful people in a restaurant worthy of a review!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Lunch Ever”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have eaten here many times and I keep forgetting to write a review. My Husband, Son and I have just Ben for Sunday Lunch and it was amazing, the staff are attentive and friendly and this is well worth a visit.

I had beautiful roast chicken juicy, tasty and plenty of it, most importantly proper crispy roast potatoes. My hubby had the roast beef, rare (his preference) and my son had a mini cheese burger - kids ate free on a Sunday.

Desert was apple and rhubarb crumble for me and chocolate bread and butter for hubby, gorgeous. We usually have British tapas here so the roast was new to us, can't wait to go again

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KATRAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Great meal as usual”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Just had a great Easter Sunday dinner at the greyhound, as usual the service is great and the food is excellent. My son really enjoys it here also they have great food for kids

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing