We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around, just as good”
Review of The Greyhound Inn

The Greyhound Inn
Ranked #340 of 561 Restaurants in Chester
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fabulous pub food produced in a great British, traditional, friendly and inviting surroundings. The award winning kitchen is a hive of creativity where the venue's passionate, talented, and creative Head Chef, along with the rest of the dedicated team, work their magic as they cook freshly prepared, and locally sourced meat, fish, veg and dairy products, as well as freshly baked artisan breads. The seasonally changing, modern Great British-Style menu's, are the epiphany of today's "gastro-style" pub restaurants, but along with a sense of the "home-comforts", often contain that "twist" on tradition, as well as flavours and variants on recipes from all over the World.
Pentre Halkyn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Second time around, just as good”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We revisited this gastro pub for a second time on 14/01/13 ( the first time was back early last year). The attraction this time was a 40% reduction on all the food on the menu. The British tapas had changed since our last visit as had the main menu. The quality of our meals was nothing short of first class( we both had duck). The service again did not disappoint. As our visit took place on a Monday evening the pub was not full which probably goes for most premises on a freezing night but despite this there were not many tables empty. Great food, great service, great value. Well done to the chefs and staff at the Greyhound

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTaffyKevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    77
    32
    21
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Best meal we have had for along time.Service was excellent despite being jam packed which lead to a good atmosphere.Food was up there despite being a local pub.Thanks for a great night

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dancasjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deeside, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just great local food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The greyhound is a good village pub not far from Chester which serves food with a twist and is a cut above normal pub grub and most local restaurants. The staff are helpful with a good knowledge of the menu.
The food is well presented, enjoyable and of a high standard also I think sourced local

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank glen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Took advantage of a 'Living Social' offer and dined here last night. Everything was spot-on - warm and welcoming atmosphere, quality food, good wine and very friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff.

Quirky touch - an alarm clock on each table set for the time of diner's arrival!

Will certainly visit again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmunro28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Practically fine dinning”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a late review as I actually ate here in November.
I was taken here by a friend who knows I've a high standard of food and I was over joyed with the outcome. Great food, choice, service and value. I've eaten Michelin Star a couple of times and to me, this was half of the way there. The yogurt panna cotta and butternut squash and rosemary soup were delicious! Will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soloshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greyhound Inn also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to The Greyhound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing